Databases List By Subject: Philosophy

International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.

The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.

Online version of the second edition of the Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Online version of the four volume print edition. This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This resource includes general reference information but also uses a historically and culturally inclusive approach to ethics, with entries on specific religions, linguistic and cultural perspectives, and philosophical positions.

Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection.

Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy covers topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, Religion and Philosophy supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.

UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.

JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) Philosophy is designed to help find reliable sources of information within books, websites, archives, or data sets. Each entry receives multiple peer-reviews as well as Editorial Board approval.

Unrivalled in scope for over sixty years, this established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation. The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.

The Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Complete text of more than 22,000 monographs in the core areas of History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Religion, Law, Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, Mathematics, Linguistics, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, and Public Health and Epidemiology.

Past Masters provides search, browse and read access to scholarly editions of the works of great Western philosophers, including Plato, Hegel, Peirce and others. The service offers both an original language edition and an English translation of every work in the collection. A searchable edition of the Oxford Duden German Dictionary is provided at the site.

The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary. In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version. Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference shelves or electronic syllabi.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (REP) Online encompasses the full content of the classic 10-volume print reference source, including 2000 original entries contributed by over 1300 respected scholars and philosophers.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Important Spanish language literary magazine. Revista Sur, founded and directed by Victoria Ocampo, became one of the most important journals in the international literary community during its 60 years of publication, 1931-1992, in Buenos Aires. It enjoyed the collaboration with and the publications from very influential authors in the Spanish and Hispanic literary worlds, including Jorge Luis Borges, Jos Ortega y Gasset, Alfonso Reyes, Adolfo Bioy Casares, Pedro Henrquez Urea, Octavio Paz, Jules Supervielle, Silvina Ocampo, Ramn Gmez de la Serna, Eduardo Mallea, among others.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has created a digital library which contains most literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8 BC) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era, with access to 3,800 authors and 12,000 works.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters AM, O, Ppomifer, portapulso). Additional content includes the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus.