Databases List By Subject: Islamic History and Studies

Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index: 1957-present & Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present

Provides access to the peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins of the AAA. Anthropology News is provided to individual members of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as part of their membership.  Online access to Anthropology News is restricted for non-AAA members, and this includes institutional subscribers to AnthroSource.  Issues for the latest ten years are only available free-of-charge to individual AAA members. Older issues are available online for institutions subscribing to AnthroSource. This limited access has been designated by AAA.  On the AnthroSource web site, this limited access is described as 10 year moving wall. The following journal titles have older content available via JSTOR: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Current content for the latest 7 years of these AAA journals is available in AnthroSource.  All issues from 1996 and earlier are archived in JSTOR.

ARTstor consists of a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data including the tools to actively use those images and a restricted-usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.

The Atla Religion Database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.

Online version of the 2006 print edition.

This is a full-text database with detailed descriptions and statistics on thousands of countries, cities, mountains, rivers, and every other kind of political area or geographic feature. It allows the user to look up a single place or to produce lists of features based on statistical criteria  i.e., a list of longest rivers or cities over 1000 feet above sea level.

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is a multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. It focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.

Online Edition. Articles on Muslims, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.

The goal of EWIC is to survey all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in Muslim societies. Online version of the 2006 print edition

The <em>Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers</em> collection is comprised of a large amount of unique content from publications across the region, providing insights into the history of individual countries as well as a broader look at historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.

Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection is fully indexed and cross-searchable. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian,and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.

The Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas Web site provides a well-organized collection of historical and current maps worldwide. All maps available on this server are in the public domain, and may be freely downloaded and copied.

ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications. Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.