Databases List By Format: Government Documents

Landmark collections of primary sources, including magazines, newspapers, videos, letters, diaries, images, and ephemera. Also listed under "Coherent Digital History Commons" and "History Commons".

The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.

This collection consists of previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists; biographies and first-hand accounts of events that give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa's apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation. This resource is in three sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975 and 1976-1980.

US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.

Landmark collections of primary sources, including magazines, newspapers, videos, letters, diaries, images, and ephemera. Also listed under "Accessible Archives History Commons" and "History Commons".

<em>Colonial America</em> makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period

The documents in<em> Confidential Print: Africa</em> begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. Together they cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent from the British Government’s perspective.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.

An authoritative reference on congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies.

Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the U.S. Congress since 1945.

The Dominican Republic has experienced many setbacks on the road to democracy. Dominican political history has been defined by traditions of personalism, militarism, and social and economic elitism which has undermined its efforts to establish liberal constitutional rule. This collection includes State Department, U.S. Embassy, and Dominican republic governmental dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.

Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

The 7th Edition (2020) update to the Florida Building Code: Building is a fully integrated publication that updates the 6th Edition 2017 Florida Building Code: Building using the latest changes to the 2018 International Building Code® with customized amendments adopted statewide, effective December 31st, 2020.

The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Due to the long-unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history.

This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

This digital collection contains historical documents relating to the foreign relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States within the years, 1930-1944. During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.

Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

HeinOnline's Foreign and International Law Resources Database (FILRD) is a collection of international law research resources. Presented in five parts, FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

Landmark collections of primary sources, including magazines, newspapers, videos, letters, diaries, images, and ephemera. Also listed under "Coherent Digital History Commons" and "Accessible Archives History Commons".

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists. Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments; International governments and institutions; Nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; Think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.

The 2021 International Building Code applies to all buildings except detached one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses up to three stories.

This collection contains FBI documentation on Meredith's battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134). This collection also includes 165 files from the Prime Minister's Private Office (PREM 11). These provide an important supplement to the Cabinet records and cover all aspects of policymaking.

This collection comprises materials on Santo Trafficante, Jr., Meyer Lansky, and Lucky Luciano, including FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, New York City, New Orleans, Atlanta, New Haven, New York City, Philadelphia, and Chicago; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Domestic Intelligence Section reports; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Memoranda of conversations.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978, features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages, consisting of a century and a half of Supreme Court history in a comprehensive full-text collection.

Marcive Web Docs provides access to the Catalog of Government Printing Office Documents.The catalog provides information on all types documents issued by the federal government.

This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.

The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua.

This collection provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon’s presidency. In addition, there is strong coverage of US policy decisions by the FCO and the British embassy in Washington; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F-111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon’s battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by Harold Wilson and Edward Heath; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform. There are also detailed assessments of all the changes brought about by the presidential election of 1972, in which Nixon beat George McGovern by a record-breaking margin and in every state but one, only to resign two years later in the face of almost certain impeachment.

Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 182 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time. They parse each document, finding references, people and key concepts, and then link them to the relevant news stories, academic research, think tank output and other policy. It allow you to search these documents and see where your ideas, papers, reports and staff are being cited or mentioned.

Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.

This collection sheds detail to both the political and financial machinations of the fruit companies, but also the graft and corruption of the national government, the American banking communitys loans, the U.S. governments response and the various aborted popular/revolutionary uprisings.

This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath -1910-1924. These unique and insightful records provide an unprecedented look at the Mexican Revolution, which began in 1910 and continued sporadically until the new Constitution was adopted in 1917, through to and including the election of Calles.

SHELDUS is a county-level hazard data set for the U.S. and covers natural hazards such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornados as well as perils such as flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. The database contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities) from 1960 to present.

The Census Bureau is the most authoritative service providing current and historical data about the people and economy of the United States. The site also contains international country data, and links to other quality data sites and statistical gateways.

The U.S. Serial Set is an ongoing collection of United States Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. The contents include Congressional reports and documents and executive and departmental reports.

United Nations Treaty Collection contains the text of international agreements registered with the United Nations since 1946 and information on the status of the registered treaties.

The database provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to U.S. Geological Survey reports and maps published from 1880 to date.

The US Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) provides Web access to (1) the full-text of US patents (1976 to present); (2) a bibliographic patent database, and (3) the full-text of selected AIDS patents (US, Japan, Europe).