Databases List By Subject: Federal Government Information (U.S.)

US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.

An authoritative reference on congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies.

Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the U.S. Congress since 1945.

The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.

Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists.<br /> <br /> Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments; International governments and institutions; Nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; Think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.

Marcive Web Docs provides access to the Catalog of Government Printing Office Documents.The catalog provides information on all types documents issued by the federal government.

Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

The National Academy Press is a searchable multidisciplinary digital library of full-text book length research studies and policy reports by leading experts in their fields. Hundreds of titles are available in PDF or HTML format. Readers are able to search the full-text of one or all publications; search all titles; browse by subject category.

The NCJRS, a federally sponsored information clearinghouse, provides access to the world's largest law enforcement and criminal justice database.

<font face="Calibri">Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.</font>

Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.

The Census Bureau is the most authoritative service providing current and historical data about the people and economy of the United States. The site also contains international country data, and links to other quality data sites and statistical gateways.

The U.S. Serial Set is an ongoing collection of United States Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. The contents include Congressional reports and documents and executive and departmental reports.

United Nations Treaty Collection contains the text of international agreements registered with the United Nations since 1946 and information on the status of the registered treaties.

The database provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to U.S. Geological Survey reports and maps published from 1880 to date.

USA Trade Online contains business, economics and trade information. The database provides access to the U.S. Merchandise Trade data, offering current and cumulative export and import data on more than 18,000 commodities world wide.

The US Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) provides Web access to (1) the full-text of US patents (1976 to present); (2) a bibliographic patent database, and (3) the full-text of selected AIDS patents (US, Japan, Europe).