Databases List By Subject: Modern Languages & Literatures

ARTFL provides access to databases containing the full-text of a broad range of significant books, texts, bibliographies and other works supporting the study of French language and literature. The site contains searchable databases (ARTFL Main Database of French Texts, ARTFL: French Women Writers Database, and the ARTFL: Provenal Poetry Database) and supports many public access databases including the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.

The ARTFL Reference page contains links to its Dictionnaires d'autrefois , a newly-developed French-English, English-French modern dictionary and other reference works for linguistics study.

The full-text of over 3500 French texts spanning the 12th through the 20th centuries.

This French language database contains the full-text of Provençal poetry. The selected works span 1130 to 1300.

Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. Includes: "British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance" & "British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900"

Eacute is the largest disseminator of French-language resources in North America. Through its research platform, offers a centralized access to the majority of francophone publications in the social sciences and humanities from North America, including scholarly and cultural journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, as well as various research documents and data. In all, more than 200,000 documents are made available from a single point of access.

Gale Literature: Book Review Index includes more than 5.6 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more. This unique product provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.

GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.

East View Global Press Archive (GPA) is a program that embraces an unprecedented variety of global news publications, presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use. GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 80 countries. GPA is the result of a landmark initiative of Stanford Libraries and the Hoover Institution Library & Archives to digitally preserve and make more accessible thousands of original print newspaper publications collected by the Hoover Institution and now housed by Stanford Libraries.

UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.

Iter features 2 scholarly bibliographic databases, one featuring journal articles, and the other, books. The Journals database contains over 225,000 records from more than 400 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The Books database is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). More than 60,000 new records are added annually.

The Guide is a reference to the intellectual traditions of literary theory, from Plato and Aristotle to the present, but with a concentration on modern literary criticism and theoretical research.

A comprehensive suite of courses covering the most popular languages in the world.

Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more. Emphasizing source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the crucial skills of information and digital literacy. 

The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Spanish language newspaper published daily by the Miami Herald, Miami, Florida. Includes a Cuban section, news of interest to many Latin groups in the Miami area, as well as international, national, and regional news, cultural information, and services.

This is the premier, authoritative German-English, English German dictionary. This dictionary is provided as a selection in the Past Masters service.

Complete text of more than 22,000 monographs in the core areas of History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Religion, Law, Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, Mathematics, Linguistics, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, and Public Health and Epidemiology.

A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection reflects the history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries. The collection includes historical stories, poems, good advice for both men and women about the proper behavior of ladies at any age, beautiful colored and engraved images with the latest news of Paris fashion, music sheets of polkas and other music specifically composed for the magazines, and patterns for needlework.

Important Spanish language literary magazine. Revista Sur, founded and directed by Victoria Ocampo, became one of the most important journals in the international literary community during its 60 years of publication, 1931-1992, in Buenos Aires. It enjoyed the collaboration with and the publications from very influential authors in the Spanish and Hispanic literary worlds, including Jorge Luis Borges, Jos Ortega y Gasset, Alfonso Reyes, Adolfo Bioy Casares, Pedro Henrquez Urea, Octavio Paz, Jules Supervielle, Silvina Ocampo, Ramn Gmez de la Serna, Eduardo Mallea, among others.

Contains the complete text of more than 800 plays by 16 dramatists of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain including Lope de Vega, Calderon de la Barca, and Agustin Moreto. Users can search using any word, phrase or title, or by restricting the terms to a single author, various authors, to a specific genre etc. The search fields are: keyword, title, speaker, playwright, genre. The service provides a Spanish language interface.