Databases List: N

Earthquake engineering e-library access to searchable databases, archives, images and reports resources.

The National Academy Press is a searchable multidisciplinary digital library of full-text book length research studies and policy reports by leading experts in their fields. Hundreds of titles are available in PDF or HTML format. Readers are able to search the full-text of one or all publications; search all titles; browse by subject category.

Results of decades of assessment of students' academic performance, as well as information about factors that may be related to their learning. Main NAEP provides national and state results in 8 subject areas, including mathematics, reading, writing, and science. Results have been produced for the nation and participating states and other jurisdictions since 1990, and for selected urban districts (on a trial basis) since 2002. High School Transcript Study provides national NAEP grade 12 assessment results from the 2005 mathematics and science assessments for students who graduated high school in 2005. Results are available for transcript data such as course-taking and grade point average.

The NCES, U.S. Department of Education, is the primary federal government source of statistics and data studies describing the condition of American education, and education activities internationally.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency. The service provides information based on collection systems such as vital statistics, health care, hospital, and health insurance data.

The NCJRS, a federally sponsored information clearinghouse, provides access to the world's largest law enforcement and criminal justice database.

This web portal provides access to NISEE online textual and image resources.

Research literature covering all aspects of the alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

The National Library of Australia has digitized over 12,200 Australian printed music items from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection includes original scores of "Waltzing Matilda" and the offical Australian national anthem "Advance Australia Fair."

Provides high-quality renewable energy resource data for U.S. and international locations.

Searchable multidisciplinary database of NSF awards made from 1989 to present. Contains descriptions of both completed and in-process research. Information includes an abstract that describes the research, the names of principal investigators, their institutions, the amount of award, the start and expiration date, and the type of award.

Now complete and consisting of 30 videos, National Theatre Collection 1 pulls from 10 years of NT Live broadcasts as well as high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT's Archive to make this rich body of work available to the widest possible audience. National Theatre Collection 2 has added a further 20 videos.

Natural Medicines provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. Formally known as Natural Standard.

Natural Medicines provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. Formally known as Natural Standard.

The Naxos Music Library has nearly three million tracks of classical music from hundreds of record labels, including Bridge Records, Cedille, Chandos, Deutsche Grammophon, Naxos, Sony Classical, Vox, and Warner Classical.

The Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a mix of hundreds of jazz and blues labels from around the world, including ACT, Blue Engine Records, Cool & Blue, Manhaton Records, Strut, TCB (the Montreux Jazz Label), and Warner Jazz. NML Jazz currently hosts nearly 300,000 individual tracks (approximately 32,000 albums).

The Nazareth Project presents an official catalog of the works of Ernesto Nazareth. It includes digital transcriptions of the scores and audio files.

This collections consist of memorandums, letters, cables, balance sheets, reports, exhibits, newspaper clippings, and civil censorship intercepts on: the financing of the German war effort and German financial institutions; reports on Nazi gold, the use of Swiss banks, and links between German and Swiss banks, inclusive of Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Golddiskontbank, Dresdner Bank, and Reichs-Kredit-Gesellschaft; information regarding Aryanization, bank operations outside of Germany, industrial ties, liquidation proposals, and the restitution of Hungarian property; records concerning agricultural cooperatives; denazification of German finance personnel; an interrogation report of Hjalmar Schacht, the former Reichsminister of Economics and Plenipotentiary for the War Economy; a report on the operations of I.G. Farben AG; plans for the seizure of Reich ministerial records called "Operation Goldcup"; information relating to fiscal conditions in former German-occupied countries; report of banking in the Soviet Zone; documentation on investigations of Bernhard Berghaus, Alois Alzheimer, August von Finck, Eduard Hilgard, Kurt Schmitt, and Franz Schwede-Coburg; and, files relating to Carlowitz & Company and Japanese firms operating in Germany.

This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945. The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary.

International collection of computer science technical reports from CS departments and industrial and government research laboratories.

Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided.

A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.

Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies.

The New Play Exchange is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. Designed and built with the needs of the entire new play sector in mind, serving writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and even fans of the theater.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The New York Public Library's Digital Gallery provides free access to over 700,000. The Digital Gallery includes nearly 12,000 of scores and manuscripts from the Music Division of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.

Digital edition of The New York Times.

Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.

Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Tribune is a full image archive. The database delivers every page of every available issue from cover to cover, with full page and article images in downloadable PDF from 1841 to 1922.

Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections. The following collections are currently available within Gale NewsVault: 19th Century UK Periodicals Parts I & II; 19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, 1600-1950; Daily Mail Historical Archive; Financial Times Historical Archive; Liberty Magazine Historical Archive; Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992; The Economist Historical Archive; The Illustrated London News Historical Archive; The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012; The Listener Historical Archive; The Picture Post Historical Archive; The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000; Sunday Times Digital Archive; Times Digital Archive; TLS Historical Archive.

Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua.

NIH RePORTER contains substantive descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services. Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.

Nikkei Asia provides news coverage and insights on Asia's most influential companies as well as thorough coverage of the region's politics, economy, markets, and trends.

The 19th-Century American Sheet Music Collection contains descriptions and of approximately 3,500 popular and instrumental works from the latter 70 years of the 19th century. Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's music library.

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers, taken directly from the holdings of the British Library. The content includes 48 titles, totaling approximately 2.2 million pages, selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.

19th-Century California Sheet Music is a virtual library of approximately 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California in the latter half of the 19th century, along with related materials. Created by the University of California, Berkeley.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with content being sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, including full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

19th Century UK Periodicals is a database using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of Australia, and many other sources, to make available digitized versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals.

This collection provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon’s presidency. In addition, there is strong coverage of US policy decisions by the FCO and the British embassy in Washington; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F-111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon’s battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by Harold Wilson and Edward Heath; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform. There are also detailed assessments of all the changes brought about by the presidential election of 1972, in which Nixon beat George McGovern by a record-breaking margin and in every state but one, only to resign two years later in the face of almost certain impeachment.

North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.

Novitates Caribaea is a peer-reviewed scientific journal, managed by the National Museum of Natural History, by Prof. Eugenio de Jesús Marcano. Its objective is to publish original articles in zoology, paleobiology and geology, covering areas such as: systematics, taxonomy, biogeography, evolution, genetics, molecular biology, embryology, behavior, ecology, among others.

Now What a Time, by the Library of Congress, is a collection consisting of sound recordings of primarly blues and gospel songs made from 1938-1943 in Georgia, Tennessee, and Alabama.

Covers cloning and sequencing strategies as well as gene regulatory sequences and proteins, RNA processing and transport, RNA editing, DNA biosynthesis, transcription factors and oncoproteins.

Spanish language newspaper published daily by the Miami Herald, Miami, Florida. Includes a Cuban section, news of interest to many Latin groups in the Miami area, as well as international, national, and regional news, cultural information, and services.

This collection consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia. The cards are generally in alphabetical order. Suffix names "Israel" for men and "Sara" for women were added by law in 1936 to readily identify persons of Jewish descent.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.