Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690273
visibleTabCount: 7
Guide Contents
Music Scores at Weeks
Weeks Music Library uses a modified version of the Library of Congress Classification System to organize its music scores. This guide lists broad categories of music along with the classification numbers for each category. The purpose of this guide is to help you browse the score collection.
Click a tab to view sub-headings under that category along with their classification numbers ("call numbers"). All lists are in classification number order.
To search for a particular score or a particular type of musical work, please use our library catalog.
Need help?
Call Number |
Classification |
| M1 | Miscellaneous Collections |
| M2 | Historical collections, editions, and monuments of music |
| M2.8 | Facsimiles of composers' manuscripts |
| M3 | Composers' collected works |
| M6-175 | Music for solo instrument |
| M6-39 | Music for solo keyboard |
| M6-15 | Organ music and methods |
| M19 | Piano methods |
| M20-39 | Piano music |
| M21 | Piano sonatas |
| M29 | Jazz methods and solo music for piano |
| M40-59 | Music for solo string instrument |
| M40-43 | Violin methods and music |
| M45-48 | Viola methods and music |
| M50-53 | Violoncello methods and music |
| M55-58 | Double bass methods and music |
| M59 | Viola d'amore and other string instruments music |
| M60-108 | Music for solo wind instrument |
| M60-63 | Flute and recorder methods and music |
| M65-68 | Oboe and English horn methods and music |
| M70-73 | Clarinet methods and music |
| M75-78 | Bassoon methods and music |
| M80-83 | Horn methods and music |
| M85-89 | Trumpet methods and music |
| M90-93 | Trombone methods and music |
| M95-98 | Tuba methods and music |
| M100-103 | Methods and music for miscellaneous brasses (euphonium, saxhorn, flugelhorn, etc.) |
| M105-108 | Saxophone methods and music |
| M110 | Methods and music for miscellaneous woodwinds (basset horn, English horn, piccolo, etc.) |
| M117-175.O5 | Music for other solo instruments (plectral, percussion, etc.) |
| M117-119 | Harp methods and music |
| M120 | Banjo music |
| M125-127 | Guitar methods and music |
| M130 | Sitar, mandolin, ukulele, etc. methods and music |
| M135 | Methods and music for zither-type instruments (zither, dulcimer, koto, cimbalom, etc.) |
| M139-140 | Lute and vihuela methods and music |
| M142-144 | Percussion methods (subdivided by instrument) and music |
| M154 | Accordion, concertina, etc. music |
| M175.O5 | Ondes martenot music |
| M177-999 | Chamber music for 2-20 performers |
| M177-178 | Collections of chamber music with miscellaneous combinations of instruments |
| M179 | Recorder ensembles |
| M180-299 | Duets |
| M180-285 | Duets with keyboard and any other instrument |
| M286-297 | Duets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M298 | Duets with percussion and any other instrument |
| M299 | Duets with 1 or 2 unspecified instruments |
| M301-399 | Trios |
| M301-340 | Trios with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M349-384 | Trios with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M386-395 | Trios with percussion and any other instruments |
| M399 | Trios with other combinations of instruments |
| M400-499 | Quartets |
| M400-445 | Quartets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M451-484 | Quartets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M485-496 | Quartets with percussion and any other instruments |
| M499 | Quartets with other combinations of instruments |
| M501-599 | Quintets |
| M501-530 | Quintets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M552-584 | Quintets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M585-596 | Quintets with percussion and any other instruments |
| M599 | Quintets with other combinations of instruments |
| M601-699 | Sextets |
| M601-630 | Sextets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M652-684 | Sextets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M685-697 | Sextets with percussion (including sextets with piano and percussion) |
| M699 | Sextets with other combinations of instruments |
| M701-799 | Septets |
| M701-730 | Septets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M752-784 | Septets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M785-797 | Septets with percussion and any other instruments |
| M799 | Septets with other combinations of instruments |
| M801-899 | Octets |
| M801-830 | Octets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M852-884 | Octets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M885-897 | Octets with percussion and any other instruments |
| M899 | Octets with other combinations of instruments |
| M901-999 | Chamber ensembles with 9-20 players |
| M901-930 | Ensembles with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) |
| M952-984 | Ensembles with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) |
| M985-997 | Ensembles with percussion and any other instruments |
| M999 | Ensembles with other combinations of instruments |
| M1000-1072 | Music for orchestra (full or chamber) |
| M1000 | Collections of orchestra music |
| M1001 | Symphonies |
| M1002 | Symphonic poems and other program music for orchestra |
| M1003 | Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works for orchestra |
| M1004 | Overtures for orchestra |
| M1005-1039 | Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra |
| M1040-1041 | 2 or more different instruments with orchestra |
| M1042-1070 | Other works for orchestra |
| M1072 | Arrangements for orchestra |
| M1100-1160 | Music for string orchestra |
| M1100 | Collections of string orchestra music |
| M1101 | Symphonies for string orchestra |
| M1102 | Symphonic poems and other program music for string orchestra |
| M1103 | Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works for string orchestra |
| M1104 | Overtures for string orchestra |
| M1105-1139 | Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra |
| M1140-1141 | 2 or more different instruments with string orchestra |
| M1142-1147 | Other works for string orchestra |
| M1160 | Arrangements for string orchestra |
| M1200-1268 | Music for band (wind ensemble) |
| M1200 | Collections of band music |
| M1201 | Single-movement pieces for band |
| M1202 | Symphonies for band |
| M1203 | Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works for band |
| M1204 | Overtures for band |
| M1205-1206 | Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with band |
| M1240-1241 | 2 or more different instruments with band |
| M1246-1247 | Marches and dances for band |
| M1250 | Band methods |
| M1254-1268 | Arrangements for band |
| M1270 | Drum and fife (bugle) music, field music |
| M1356 | Music for dance orchestras and ensembles |
| M1360 | Folk instrumental ensembles |
| M1361 | Folk dances |
| M1362 | Accordion ensembles |
| M1365 | Minstrel music |
| M1430 | Jazz methods and music for ensemble |
| M1440 | Jazz methods and music for solo instrument (other than piano) |
| M1470-1480 | Avant garde, electronic, and other experimental music |
| M1500-1998 | Secular vocal and choral music |
| M1500-1527.2 | Dramatic music, stage music, and film and television music with voice |
| M1500-1509 | Operas, Zarzuelas, Musicals, Operettas |
| M1510-1518 | Incidental music with voice |
| M1520-1526 | Pantomimes, ballets with voice, masques |
| M1527.2 | Film and television music with voice |
| M1528-1610 | Secular vocal music for 2 or more singers |
| M1528-1529 | Secular vocal duets, trios, and quartets with orchestra |
| M1530-1546.5 | Secular choral music with orchestra |
| M1547 | Collections of secular choral music (including both accompanied and unaccompanied works) |
| M1548-1574 | Secular duets, trios, quartets, and choruses with keyboard |
| M1575-1577 | Secular choral music with non-keyboard instrument |
| M1578-1610 | Secular duets, trios, quartets, and choruses without accompaniment |
| M1611-1626 | Secular vocal music for 1 singer |
| M1611-1614 | Secular solo songs with orchestra |
| M1617-1618 | Secular solo songs with chamber ensemble |
| M1619-1621 | Secular solo songs with keyboard |
| M1621.2 | Secular solo songs without accompaniment |
| M1621.3 | Secular solo songs with keyboard and 1 other instrument |
| M1622 | Vocal methods, ear training, and studies |
| M1623-1624 | Secular solo songs with non-keyboard instrument |
| M1625-1626 | Recitations with accompaniment |
| M1627-1998 | Folk, national, and popular songs, and other secular vocal music |
| M1627 | International collections of national songs |
| M1628-1629 | National songs - United States (subdivided by occasion and/or state) |
| M1630.1-1630.2 | Popular songs |
| M1631-1659 | United States history, government, politics - songs |
| M1668.35 | Folk songs - Jewish-American |
| M1668.4 | Folk songs - Latin-American and Spanish-American |
| M1669 | Folk songs - Native American |
| M1670-1671 | Folk songs - African-American |
| M1678-1679 | Folk and national songs - Canadian |
| M1680 | Collections of folk songs of the Americas |
| M1681 | Folk and national songs - Caribbean islands (subdivided by nation) |
| M1682-1683 | Folk and national songs - Mexico |
| M1684 | Folk and national songs - Central America (subdivided by nation) |
| M1687-1694 | Folk and national songs - South America (subdivided by nation) |
| M1698-1789 | Folk and national songs - Europe |
| M1804-1825 | Folk and national songs - Asia |
| M1828 | Folk and national songs - Middle East |
| M1830-1834 | Folk and national songs - Africa |
| M1840 | Folk and national songs - Australia |
| M1841 | Folk and national songs - Pacific islands |
| M1842 | Folk and national songs - New Zealand |
| M1844 | Folk songs - Hawaii |
| M1850-1853 | Folk and national songs - Jewish, Yiddish, Israeli |
| M1945-1973 | College songs |
| M1977 | Topical songs (subdivided by topic) |
| M1990-1998 | Secular songs for children and youth, songbooks |
| M1999-2198 | Sacred vocal and choral music |
| M1999 | Collections of sacred vocal music |
| M2000-2007 | Oratorios |
| M2010-2014 | Masses and Roman Catholic services |
| M2016 | Anglican and Protestant Episcopal services |
| M2017.6-2017.7 | Jewish services |
| M2018-2019 | Sacred vocal duets, trios, and quartets with orchestra |
| M2020-2037 | Sacred choral music with orchestra or other ensemble |
| M2060-2079.5 | Sacred choral music with keyboard |
| M2080 | Sacred choral music with non-keyboard instrument |
| M2081-2101.5 | Sacred choral music without accompaniment |
| M2102-2107 | Sacred solo songs with orchestra or other ensemble |
| M2110-2114.9 | Sacred solo songs with keyboard or other instrument or unaccompanied |
| M2115-2146 | Hymnals |
| M2148-2153.2 | Roman Catholic liturgy and ritual |
| M2157-2160.87 | Orthodox liturgy and ritual |
| M2168-2171 | Protestant liturgy and ritual |
| M2186-2187 | Jewish liturgy and ritual |
| M2190 | Sacred music for children and youth |
| M2198 | Gospel and revival songs and hymns |
What's on this page?
Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra
Classification |
Call Number |
| Collections | M1000 |
| Symphonies | M1001 |
| Symphonic poems and other program music | M1002 |
| Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works | M1003 |
| Overtures | M1004 |
| Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1005-1039 |
| 2 or more different instruments with orchestra | M1040-1041 |
| Concertos for orchestra, pieces, ballet and dance music, and other works | M1042-1070 |
| Arrangements | M1072 |
String Orchestra
Classification |
Call Number |
| Collections | M1100 |
| Symphonies | M1101 |
| Symphonic poems and other program music | M1102 |
| Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works | M1103 |
| Overtures | M1104 |
| Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1105-1139 |
| 2 or more different instruments with string orchestra | M1140-1141 |
| Concertos for string orchestra, pieces, dances, and other works | M1142-1147 |
| Arrangements | M1160 |
Band (Wind Ensemble)
Classification |
Call Number |
| Collections | M1200 |
| Single-movement pieces (including symphonic poems and program music) | M1201 |
| Symphonies | M1202 |
| Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works (including concertos for band) | M1203 |
| Overtures | M1204 |
| Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with band | M1205-1206 |
| 2 or more different instruments with band | M1240-1241 |
| Marches and dances | M1246-1247 |
| Band methods | M1250 |
| Arrangements | M1254-1262 |
| Medleys, potpourris, etc. | M1268 |
Other Large Ensembles
Classification |
Call Number |
| Drum and fife (bugle) music, field music | M1270 |
| Music for dance orchestras and ensembles | M1356 |
| Folk instrumental ensembles | M1360 |
| Folk dances | M1361 |
| Accordion ensembles | M1362 |
| Minstrel music | M1365 |
Classification |
Call Number |
| Collections with miscellaneous combinations of instruments | M177-179 |
| Duets with keyboard and any other instrument | M180-285 |
| Duets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M286-297 |
| Duets with percussion and any other instrument | M298 |
| Duets with 1 or 2 unspecified instruments | M299 |
| Trios with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M301-340 |
| Trios with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M349-384 |
| Trios with percussion and any other instruments | M386-395 |
| Trios with other combinations of instruments | M399 |
| Quartets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M400-445 |
| Quartets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M451-484 |
| Quartets with percussion and any other instruments | M485-496 |
| Quartets with other combinations of instruments | M499 |
| Quintets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M501-530 |
| Quintets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M552-584 |
| Quintets with percussion and any other instruments | M585-596 |
| Quintets with other combinations of instruments | M599 |
| Sextets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M601-630 |
| Sextets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M652-684 |
| Sextets with percussion (including sextets with piano and percussion) | M685-697 |
| Sextets with other combinations of instruments | M699 |
| Septets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M701-730 |
| Septets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M752-784 |
| Septets with percussion and any other instruments | M785-797 |
| Septets with other combinations of instruments | M799 |
| Octets with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M801-830 |
| Octets with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M852-884 |
| Octets with percussion and any other instruments | M885-897 |
| Octets with other combinations of instruments | M899 |
| Ensembles (9-20 players) with keyboard and any other instruments (no percussion) | M901-930 |
| Ensembles (9-20 players) with non-keyboard instruments (no percussion) | M952-984 |
| Ensembles (9-20 players) with percussion and any other instruments | M985-997 |
| Ensembles (9-20 players) with other combinations of instruments | M999 |
What's on this page?
Secular Vocal Music
Classification |
Call Number |
| Jazz ensembles, Jazz vocals | M1430 |
| Avant garde, electronic, and other experimental music | M1470-1480 |
| Operas, Zarzuelas, Musicals, Operettas | M1500-1509 |
| Incidental music with voice | M1510-1518 |
| Pantomimes, ballets with voice, masques | M1520-1526 |
| Film and television music with voice | M1527.2 |
| Secular vocal duets, trios, and quartets with orchestra | M1528-1529 |
| Secular choral music with orchestra or other ensemble | M1530-1546.5 |
| Collections of secular choral music (including both accompanied and unaccompanied works) | M1547 |
| Secular duets, trios, quartets, and choruses with keyboard | M1548-1574 |
| Secular choral music with non-keyboard instrument | M1575-1577 |
| Secular duets, trios, quartets, and choruses without accompaniment | M1578-1610 |
| Secular solo songs with orchestra | M1611-1614 |
| Secular solo songs with chamber ensemble (2 or more instruments) | M1617-1618 |
| Secular solo songs with keyboard | M1619-1621 |
| Secular solo songs without accompaniment | M1621.2 |
| Secular solo songs with accompaniment of piano and 1 other instrument | M1621.3 |
| Vocal methods, ear training, and studies | M1622 |
| Secular solo songs with non-keyboard instrument | M1623-1624 |
| Recitations with accompaniment | M1625-1626 |
| Folk and national songs (subdivided by country/ region) | M1627-1629, 1668-1853 |
| Popular songs - United States | M1630.1-1630.2 |
| College songs | M1945-1973 |
| Topical songs (subdivided by topic) | M1977 |
| Secular songs for children and youth, songbooks | M1990-1998 |
Sacred Vocal Music
Classification |
Call Number |
| Collections of sacred vocal music | M1999 |
| Oratorios | M2000-2007 |
| Masses and Roman Catholic services | M2010-2014 |
| Anglican and Protestant Episcopal services | M2016 |
| Jewish services | M2017.6-2017.7 |
| Sacred vocal duets, trios, and quartets with orchestra | M2018-2019 |
| Sacred choral music with orchestra or other ensemble | M2020-2037 |
| Sacred choral music with keyboard | M2060-2079.5 |
| Sacred choral music with non-keyboard instrument | M2080 |
| Sacred choral music without accompaniment | M2081-2101.5 |
| Sacred solo songs with orchestra or other ensemble | M2102-2107 |
| Sacred solo songs with keyboard | M2110-2114.9 |
| Hymnals | M2115-2146 |
| Roman Catholic liturgy and ritual | M2148-2153.2 |
| Orthodox liturgy and ritual | M2157-2160.87 |
| Protestant liturgy and ritual | M2168-2171 |
| Jewish liturgy and ritual | M2186-2187 |
| Sacred music for children and youth | M2190 |
| Gospel and revival songs and hymns | M2198 |
Stage, Film, and Television Music
Classification |
Call Number |
| Overtures to operas and ballets for orchestra | M1004 |
| Ballets without voice | M1050 |
| Orchestral music for plays, films, television | M1060 |
| Arrangements of excerpts from operas and ballets | M1070 |
| Overtures to operas and ballets for string orchestra | M1104 |
| String orchestra music for plays, films, television | M1160 |
| Overtures to operas and ballets for band | M1255 |
| Medleys and arrangements from operas or ballets for band | M1268 |
| Operas, Zarzuelas, Musicals, Operettas | M1500-1509 |
| Incidental music with voice | M1510-1518 |
| Pantomimes, ballets with voice, masques | M1520-1526 |
| Film and television music with voice | M1527.2 |
What's on this page?
Jazz and Popular Music
Classification |
Call Number |
| Jazz for solo piano | M29 |
| Jazz for other solo instruments | M1430 |
| Jazz combos and jazz vocals | M1440 |
| Popular music (including Tin Pan Alley, rock, rap, country, etc.) | M1630.1 |
Avant-garde, Experimental, and Electronic Music
Classification |
Call Number |
| Aleatory music/indeterminate music | M1470 |
| Electronic music (including some music for live instruments and electronics) | M1473 |
| Mixed media (may include lights, projected images, spoken elements, dance, etc.) | M1480 |
Folk and National Music
Classification |
Call Number |
| Folk instrumental ensembles | M1360 |
| Folk dances | M1361 |
| International collections of national songs | M1627 |
| National songs - United States (subdivided by occasion and/or state) | M1628-1629 |
| Folk songs - Jewish-American | M1668.35 |
| Folk songs - Latin-American and Spanish-American | M1668.4 |
| Folk songs - Native American | M1669 |
| Folk songs - African-American | M1670-1671 |
| Folk and national songs - Canadian | M1678-1679 |
| Collections of folk songs of the Americas | M1680 |
| Folk and national songs - Caribbean islands (subdivided by nation) | M1681 |
| Folk and national songs - Mexico | M1682-1683 |
| Folk and national songs - Central America (subdivided by nation) | M1684 |
| Folk and national songs - South America (subdivided by nation) | M1687-1694 |
| Folk and national songs - Europe | M1698-1789 |
| Folk and national songs - Asia | M1804-1825 |
| Folk and national songs - Middle East | M1828 |
| Folk and national songs - Africa | M1830-1834 |
| Folk and national songs - Australia | M1840 |
| Folk and national songs - Pacific islands | M1841 |
| Folk and national songs - New Zealand | M1842 |
| Folk songs - Hawaii | M1844 |
| Folk and national songs - Jewish, Yiddish, Israeli | M1850-1853 |
What's on this page?
Keyboard Instruments
Classification |
Call Number |
| Organ methods and music | M6-15 |
| 1 or 2 organs with orchestra | M1005-1006 |
| 1 or 2 organs with string orchestra | M1105-1106 |
| Piano methods | M19 |
| Piano music | M20-39 |
| Piano sonatas | M23 |
| Jazz methods and solo music for piano | M29 |
| 1 or 2 pianos with orchestra | M1010-1011 |
| Other keyboard instrument (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1039 |
| 1 or 2 pianos with with string orchestra | M1110-1111 |
| Other keyboard instrument (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1139 |
| Jazz vocals with piano | M1430 |
Strings
Classification |
Call Number |
| Violin methods and music | M40-43 |
| Viola methods and music | M45-48 |
| Cello methods and music | M50-53 |
| Double bass methods and music | M55-58 |
| Music for viola d'amore and other bowed string instruments | M59 |
| 1 or 2 violins with orchestra | M1012-1013 |
| 1 or 2 violas with orchestra | M1014-1015 |
| 1 or 2 cellos with orchestra | M1016-1017 |
| 1 or 2 double basses with orchestra | M1018 |
| Other bowed string instrument (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1019 |
| 1 or 2 violins with string orchestra | M1112-1113 |
| 1 or 2 violas with string orchestra | M1114-1115 |
| 1 or 2 cellos with string orchestra | M1116-1117 |
| 1 or 2 double basses with string orchestra | M1118 |
| Other bowed string instrument (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1119 |
Woodwinds
Classification |
Call Number |
| Flute, recorder methods and music | M60-63 |
| Oboe methods and music | M65-68 |
| Clarinet methods and music | M70-73 |
| Bassoon methods and music | M75-78 |
| Saxophone methods and music | M105-108 |
| Basset horn methods and music | M110.B35 |
| English horn methods and music | M110.E5 |
| Piccolo methods and music | M110.P5 |
| 1 or 2 flutes, recorders, or piccolos with orchestra | M1020-1021 |
| 1 or 2 oboes or English horns with orchestra | M1022-1023 |
| 1 or 2 clarinets with orchestra | M1024-1025 |
| 1 or 2 bassoons with orchestra | M1026-1027 |
| 1 or 2 saxophones with orchestra | M1034 |
| Other woodwind instrument (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1039 |
| 1 or 2 flutes, recorders, or piccolos with string orchestra | M1120-1121 |
| 1 or 2 oboes or English horns with string orchestra | M1122-1123 |
| 1 or 2 clarinets with string orchestra | M1124-1125 |
| 1 or 2 bassoons with string orchestra | M1126-1127 |
| 1 or 2 saxophones with string orchestra | M1134 |
| Other woodwind instrument (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1139 |
| Drum and fife (bugle) music, field music | M1270 |
Brass
Classification |
Call Number |
| Horn methods and music | M80-83 |
| Trumpet, cornet methods and music | M85-88 |
| Trombone methods and music | M90-93 |
| Tuba methods and music | M95-98 |
| Methods and music for miscellaneous brasses (euphonium, saxhorn, flugelhorn, etc.) | M100-103 |
| 1 or 2 horns with orchestra | M1028-1029 |
| 1 or 2 trumpets, cornets, or flugelhorns with orchestra | M1030-1031 |
| 1 or 2 trombones, baritones, or euphoniums with orchestra | M1032-1033 |
| 1 or 2 tubas with orchestra | M1035 |
| Other brass instrument (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1039 |
| 1 or 2 horns with string orchestra | M1128-1129 |
| 1 or 2 trumpets, cornets, or flugelhorns with string orchestra | M1130-1131 |
| 1 or 2 trombones, baritones, or euphoniums with string orchestra | M1132-1133 |
| 1 or 2 tubas with string orchestra | M1135 |
| Other brass instrument (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1139 |
| Drum and fife (bugle) music, field music | M1270 |
Plectral (Plucked strings)
Classification |
Call Number |
| Harp methods and music | M117-119 |
| Banjo methods and music | M120 |
| Guitar methods and music | M125-127 |
| Sitar, mandolin, ukelele, etc. methods and music | M130 |
| Zither-type instrument methods and music (zither, dulcimer, koto, cimbalom, etc.) | M135 |
| Lute and vihuela methods and music | M139-140 |
| 1 or 2 harps with orchestra | M1036 |
| 1 or 2 guitars with orchestra | M1037 |
| Other plectral instrument (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1039 |
| 1 or 2 harps with string orchestra | M1136 |
| 1 or 2 guitars with string orchestra | M1137 |
| Other plectral instrument (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1139 |
Percussion and other instruments
Classification |
Call Number |
| Percussion methods (subdivided by instrument) | M142 |
| Percussion music | M143-144 |
| 1 or 2 percussionists with orchestra | M1038 |
| 1 or 2 percussionists with string orchestra | M1138 |
| 1 or 2 percussionists with band | M1205-1206 |
| Drum and fife (bugle) music, field music | M1270 |
| Miscellaneous solo instrument (or 2 like instruments) with orchestra | M1039 |
| 2 or more different instruments with orchestra | M1040-1041 |
| Miscellaneous solo instrument (or 2 like instruments) with string orchestra | M1139 |
| 2 or more different instruments with string orchestra | M1140-1141 |
| Individual instruments (or 2 like instruments) with band | M1205-1206 |
| 2 or more different instruments with band | M1240-1241 |
| Jazz methods and music for ensemble (including jazz vocals) | M1430 |
| Jazz methods and music for solo instrument (other than piano) | M1440 |
| Avant garde, electronic, and other experimental music | M1470-1480 |
A Librarian