Databases List By Subject: Art & Art History General

<em>AVON</em> is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This collection exists as a series of five databases that include 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content published between 1691 and 1876.

Art Index Retrospective, is a searchable bibliographic database that contains citations from the printed Art Index, volumes 1-32, published between 1929-1984. The service includes links and cross-searchability to the Library's subscription to the AMICO Library.

ARTstor consists of a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data including the tools to actively use those images and a restricted-usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

BHA is a bilingual bibliographical index covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA) from 1973 to 1989 and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) from 1975 to 1989.

Europeana.eu is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 50 million digital items from Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections. Europeana.eu includes images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects; Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers; Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts; Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.

Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Index to Nineteenth Century Art Periodicals includes over 26,000 records from 42 art journals published in the United States during the 19th century. The entire contents of each issue are indexed in the database. It offers essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture, design, decoration, exhibitions, sales, and collecting.

The Journal of Art Historiography exists to support and promote the study of the history and practice of art historical writing.

JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.

Scholarly art encyclopedia covering Western and non-Western visual art. The vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources are made available in one location.

The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.

ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Published since 1889, the Wall Street Journal covers U.S. and world news, as well as politics, arts, culture, and more. The online version includes streaming news, interactive options, video features, blogs, and more traditional content.