Databases List By Subject: Music

The 19th-Century American Sheet Music Collection contains descriptions and of approximately 3,500 popular and instrumental works from the latter 70 years of the 19th century. Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's music library.

19th-Century California Sheet Music is a virtual library of approximately 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California in the latter half of the 19th century, along with related materials. Created by the University of California, Berkeley.

The Aaron Copland Collection, ca. 1900-1990, by the Library of Congress, presents a selection of digitized materials from the full Aaron Copland Collection. Materials include music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.

<em>AVON</em> is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

Contains all of the Audio Engineering Society papers from the journal, conventions, and conferences, providing access to over 16,000 <span class="st">fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day.</span>,<br /> <br /> Includes AES Publications Convention Preprints Timely technical papers, reproduced directly from the manuscripts of presentations given at recent AES conventions. Anthologies Renowned series of collected papers of archival quality reprinted from the AES Journal including: loudspeakers, disk recording, microphones, sound reinforcement, and time delay spectrometry. Collected papers from the highly regarded AES international conferences, each devoted to a specific topic. AES Standards, Drafts, and Information Documents Internationally approved documents developed under the auspices of the AES Standards Committee and its working groups. Directory of Educational Programs A comprehensive international guide to educational programs in audio.

The African-American Band Music & Recordings, 1883-1923 collection at the Library of Congress contains stock ensemble arrangements of popular songs written by African Americans, as well as a small selection of historic sound recordings featuring these and similar songs.

African American Sheet Music is a growing digital collection of materials selected from the Sheet Music Collection at Brown University's John Hale Library. Pieces in the collection date from the 1820s to the present.

American Choral Music, a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Choral Directors Association, presents a selection of significant choral music in the public domain by leading American composers from the 1860s to 1922.

The American Memory project of the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program digitizes distinctive, historical Americana holdings at the Library of Congress, including photographs, full-text manuscripts and rare books, maps, recorded sound and moving pictures. To achieve its goal, this unique public-private program, also works in cooperation with members of the Digital Library Federation and other libraries and archives throughout the United States. For example, digital collections from the LC/Ameritech Digital Library Competition are included.

International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.

Audio, video, photographs and other digitized material from the Association for Cultural Equity's Alan Lomax Archive.

The Bach Cantatas Website focuses on Johann Sebastian Bach's cantatas and other vocal works. The site provides online access to scores, texts, and translations, as well as other relevant resources. Full scores from the Gesamtausgabe der Bach-Gesellschaft (published in the late 1800s) and piano/ vocal reductions are available, both presented as PDFs.

Band Music from the Civil War Era, by the Library of Congress, presents examples of brass band music popular in the United States through the latter half of the 19th century. The collection includes printed and manuscript music and sound recordings.

The Library of Congress's collection of Baseball Sheet Music consists of over 140 published songs written about "America's Pastime."

The Digital Archives of the Beethoven-Haus provides online access to the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus, including music first edition scores, correspondence, and pictures. The collection consists of more than 37,000 scanned 16,00 audio files, and 7,600 text files.

Ludwig van Beethovens Werke is the 1860s edition of Beethoven's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it in the left sidebar.

Orchestral and instrumental works by Hector Berlioz, made available online by the Hector Berlioz Website. Works were transcribed with Sibelius, and visitors to the site may listen to MIDI playbacks of the works while viewing the scores. Download of the free Sibelius Scorch plugin is required.

The digitized collections at the Biblioteca de Catalunya currently include more that 50,000 printed and manuscript music works, as well as personal papers of noted composers, scholars, and performers such as Isaac Albeniz and Enric Granados.

From the Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano, this collection of over 20,000 historical recordings highlights the rich musical heritage of Latin America.

The Broadside Ballads project is a digitized collection of the University of Oxford Bodleian Library's 30,000 broadside ballads, popular songs sold in the streets of Britain from the 16th to the early 20th centuries. Where music notation is available, MIDI sound files have been added to play the notation.

Bononcini.org provides online access to a catalog of the complete works of Giovanni Bononcini. Also available are a bibliography and discography of some of his and a selection of works available for free download.

California Gold, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection documenting the ethnic and cultural diversity of Northern California made by the WPA California Folk Music Project in the 1930s and 1940s. The collection includes audio recordings and related materials.

Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.

Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal, by the Library of Congress, documents the culture and music of the people who worked and lived along the Ohio and Erie Canal. The collection consists of 75 songs perfomed by Captain Nye and recorded between 1937-1938, as well as transcriptions, lyrics, and related documentation.

The Hoagy Carmichael Collection is a digital collection of Indiana University's extensive materials related to the composer Hoagy Carmichael. Sound recordings, scores and photos, correspondence, and other items are available online.

Mississippi State University Libraries' Charles H. Templeton Digital Sheet Music Collection provides access to public domain pieces from a large collection amassed by Charles Templeton, Sr. The 22,000-piece collection dates from 1865 and includes blues, ragtime, musical theater, and more.

The University of Chicago's Chopin Early Editions collection provides online access to over 400 first and early printed editions of works by Frederic Chopin.

Chopin's First Editions Online presents a virtual collection of the original impressions of Chopin's first editions. The collection, which currently stands at around 5,500 was compiled from the holdings of more than 20 institutions, including the Bibliotheque National de France, the Bodleian Library, the British Library, the Narodowy Instytut Fryderyka Chopina, and the University of Chicago Library.

The Choral Public Domain Library hosts a large collection of vocal and choral sheet music available for free. The CPDL includes public domain works and scores that are not otherwise commerically viable. In addition to scores for approximately 10,000 works, the library contains texts, translations, and some sound files.

The Classical String Quartets collection from Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library provides access to collections of string quartets in parts, many of which are by composers whose works are not readily available in modern editions.

With support from the German Research Foundation, the Codices Electronici Ecclesiae Coloniensis (CEEC) is working to digitize the full medieval manuscript holdings of the Episcopal and Cathedral Library Cologne, which includes manuscripts of medieval music. (Note: to view the site in English, click on the "Optionen" tab, then select "English.")

The purpose of the "Codices Electronici Sangallenses" (Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen) is to create a virtual library of the manuscripts in the Abbey Library of St. Gall. The collection of 2100 manuscripts (650+ of which have been digitized) includes many examples of early music.

The CMME project is a collaborative initiative to provide access to high-quality digital editions of early music scores. Users can view scores and listen to audio playback.

Coptic Orthodox Liturgical Chant & Hymnody presents a selection of digitized materials from the Library of Congress's Ragheb Moftah Collection. Materials include transcriptions, audio recordings, photographs, and other items from Moftah's research into Coptic Christian chant.

The Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project provides online access to over 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the University of Santa Barbara's Donald C. Davidson Library. These recordings feature musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive is a collection of selected works from the Music and Theatre Collection of Denmark's Royal Library. Included are music scores of selected works by Carl Nielsen.

The Digital Scores and Libretti Collection at Harvard University's Loeb Music Library is an ongoing project to digitize rare and unique scores and libretti from their holdings. The collection includes first and early editions and manuscript copies from the 1700s through the early 20th century.

DRAM is a scholarly resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. The collection contains over 4,000 album's worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives. In addition, it contains a diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World Records and CRI labels.

Antonin Dvorak: Souborne vydani dila provides online access to the complete works of Dvorak, digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include multiple digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.

The purpose of E-Codices is to create a virtual library of all of the medieval and selected early modern manuscripts (including music manuscripts) of Switzerland. The virtual library currently contains over 800 manuscripts.

The Elliott Carter Collection in the Library of Congress presents a brief biography of the composer as well as links to digitized music manuscripts from the Library of Congress's collections.

Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry, by the Library of Congress, presents a selection of printed materials and sound recordings related to Emile Berliner, who was responsible for many innovations in the development of recording technology. The collection includes correspondence, lectures, scrapbooks, photos, as well as rare sound recordings.

This site features nineteen early manuscript compositions by composer Ernest Bloch (1880-1959), spanning the period from 1896 to 1916, and comprising a portion of the Ernest Bloch Collection at the Library of Congress. 

Ethnographic Video Online provides over 2000 hours of film, including documentaries, primary source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.

Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed and recorded in 1966-67. The collection includes audio recordings, field notes, and music transcriptions.

<em>Films On Demand </em>is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

Florida Folklife from the WPA Collections, 1937-1942, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection that documents Florida's cultural and ethnic diversity through audio recordings made under the auspices of the Work Projects Administration in the 1930s and 1940s. The collection includes folk songs, dance music, religious music, and interviews.

The Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Sheet Music comprises approximately 30,000 titles published from the late 18th-early 20th centuries. The collection is arranged in over 200 subject categories.

The Glenn Gould Archive by Library and Archives Canada provides online access to materials related to the concert pianist Glenn Gould. Items include searchable databases of published and archival materials, full-text writings by or about the pianist, and digitized images, archival material, and audio tapes.

The complete works of Handel, originally published by the Deutsche Handel Gesellschaft from 1858-1902 and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.

UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.

Joseph Haydns Werke is the early 20th-century edition of Joseph Haydn's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.

The Hill Museum & Manuscript Library (HMML) is an archive of more than 115,000 complete digitized totaling more than 40,000,000 manuscript pages, and including of music and liturgical manuscripts. (Note: to search manuscript click "Research/Search HMML Resources," then select from the options given.)

Hispano Music & Culture from the Northern Rio Grande, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection that documents the music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural northern New Mexico and southern Colorado in 1940. The collection consists of sound recordings of hymns, folk drama, wedding songs, and dance tunes, as well as related materials.

The Historic American Sheet Music Project at Duke University provides access to over 3,000 pieces of sheet music published between 1850 and 1920. The collection is selected from the holdings of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

The University of Oregon Libraries' Historic Sheet Music Collection presents a selection of sheet music held in the Libraries' collections. Included are the Oregon Music Collection, which contains 55 pieces of music about Oregon or by Oregonians, and the Women Composers Collection, which will ultimately contain over 1,000 pieces of music by notable women composers.

The Library of Congress's Historic Sheet Music Collection consists of approximately 9,000 pieces of sheet music published from 1800 to 1922.

Hit Songs Deconstructed provides unparalleled insight into the inner-workings of a current chart-topping hit. Each song report includes a combination of commentary, charts, graphs, and notation. Among the many areas covered are song structure, energy, genres and influences, instruments and accompaniment, harmony, vocal production and melody, lyrics, rhymes, narrative, Top 10 benchmarking and more. These reports also feature a companion downloadable Logic PRO X Project with the correct meter, tempo and song arrangement displayed as empty MIDI regions for each instrument.

The Petrucci Music Library was begun in 2006 by IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project) in order to gathering all public domain music scores and the music scores of any contemporary composers who wish to release them to the public free of charge. IMSLP is governed primarily by Canadian copyright law and, therefore, some works may not be public domain in other countries.

The IN Harmony Project provides access to digitized sheet music from the Indian University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.

Inventing Entertainment, by the Library of Congress, provides access to motion pictures and sound recordings, as well as photographs and articles, related to Thomas Edisons inventions and innovations in recording technology.

Inventions of Note is a collection of popular songs and piano compositions that reflect American reactions to new and changing technologies such as the automobile, airplane, and telephone. The collection includes approximately 50 pieces as well as links to from other libraries that address new technologies.

IPA Source is a collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature.

The University of Missouri Digital Library's Kansas City Sheet Music Collection contains over 660 pieces of music published in Kansas City from the late 19th to the mid 20th century. The collection contains notable works such as Scott Joplin's "Original Rags," as well as compositions about Kansas City itself.

The Johns Hopkins University's Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music contains over 29,000 pieces of American popular music from 1780 to 1980.

The complete works of Franz Liszt, originally published in Leipzig from 1870-1923 and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.

Franz Liszt: Klavierwerke is a collection of Franz Liszt's piano works, published by Edition Peters in 1913-1917 and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

Franz Liszt: Musikalische Werke is the early 20th-century edition of Franz Liszt's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

The Lousiana State Museum Digital Library Jazz Collection provides online access to photographs and audio recordings related to New Orleans Jazz.

The Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection is a digital collection of rare 17th and 18th-century scores of operas, ballets, and other works by Jean-Baptiste Lully and his sons, from the holdings of the University of North Texas Music Library. The collection also includes some manuscript copies, as well as libretti prints and collections of stage works by Lully's collaborators.

Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.

The Maine Music Box, a project of the University of Maine's Raymond H. Fogler Library provides access to approximately 22,600 digitized works (manuscript scores and sheet music) held at the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library. The Maine Music Box includes items such as vocal and popular sheet music, music for two pianos, and music by Maine composers or about Maine.

The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv broadcasts more than 150 live events are each year, in partnership with the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. medici.tv's library features over 4,000 programs, including: concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist portraits, educational programs, and master classes.

The complete works of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, originally published in the late 1800s by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdys Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Mendelssohn's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

A publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format.

The Moldenhauer Archives: The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial presents a selection of digitized items from the full Moldenhauer Archives, which document the history of Western music from the medieval period through the modern era. The online collection includes scores and manuscripts as well as an electronic version of the guidebook for the archive.

The European Mozart Ways presents a new approach to studying Mozart by focusing on his travels. The site includes a full text biography of the composer, descriptions of his travels with maps and itineraries, and digitized, translated, and annotated versions of the letters of Mozart and his family.

NMA Online is the digitized version of the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart originally published by Barenreiter-Verlag and digitized in a cooperative effort of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and the Packard Humanities Institute. The site includes both music and critical commentaries.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Werke is the 1877-1910 edition of Mozart's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).<br /> <br /> Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.

The Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) digitizes the special collections of the Bavarian State Library and other German institutions, including fine arts and music, and currently comprises over 900,000 titles.

Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.

Music for the Nation, by the Library of Congress, contains thousands of pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright from 1820-1860. The collection includes popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, solo instrumental music, and orchestral and band music.

Music for the Nation, by the Library of Congress, contains thousands of pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright from 1870-1885. The collection includes popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, solo instrumental music, and orchestral and band music.

This website presents fieldwork and publication materials from Mark Slobin's research in Afghanistan.... Still photography, moving picture clips, and sound clips accompany the written text.

The Music Index provides citations for 882 international scholarly, popular, and trade journals and magazines. It indexes articles, book reviews, recording reviews, and live performance reviews. 

A collection of music recordings from Americans of diverse origins, from Americas past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

An interdisciplinary collection of streaming audiovisual recordings organized into the following categories: American music, classical, dance, jazz, popular music, contemporary world music, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Music Online includes the Classical Scores Library, a five-volume set of online scores ranging from the Medieval period through the twenty-first century. Thousands of pages of composer biographies and program notes are also available. As of August of 2024, Music Online includes more than 14 million individual tracks of music and nearly 11,000 videos.

Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.

Contains the sounds of all regions from every continent, and genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries and includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings.

Part of the larger Music Online: Listening database, the Jazz Music Library features nearly one million jazz tracks from hundreds of labels, including Audiophile, Circle Records, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, GHB Records, Good Time Jazz, GRP Records, Impulse, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, Peak, Prestige, Riverside, Solo Art Records, Stretch Records, and Verve.

A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

Collection of popular music that contains a wide range of music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The collection includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Controlled vocabularies will enable users to browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

The Music Periodicals Database indexes journal literature in all areas of music. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals. Coverage includes recording and performance reviews of both popular and classical music.

The Library of Congress's Music Treasures Consortium provides access to highly valued music manuscripts and print materials held in some of the world's most renowned music archives, including the British Library, Harvard University, and the Morgan Library & Museum.

Musical America is an international directory for the performing arts, used by concert facilities, classical performers, artists, managers and music festivals.<br /> <br /> Entries include narrative reviews of the past year in music and dance, along with over 700 pages of listings and tables. Also offers a prestigious annual awards program for Musician of the Year, as well as awards for the year's top composer, conductor, instrumentalist and vocalist.

<p>MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to help you find the right songs quickly and easily. Its  easy-to-use interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to <em>your</em> needs from an ever-growing database. As an added feature, once you get your list of titles, we link you to various sites to make it simple to buy, rent, trade or download the sheet music and recordings (subject to availability).</p>

The Mutopia Project provides access to classical music for free download through digital sheet music editions based on editions in the public domain. The Project also hosts modern editions from composers, editors, and arrangers who have chosen to make their works freely available to the public. MIDI files of some works are also available.

The National Library of Australia has digitized over 12,200 Australian printed music items from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection includes original scores of "Waltzing Matilda" and the offical Australian national anthem "Advance Australia Fair."

The Naxos Music Library has nearly three million tracks of classical music from hundreds of record labels, including Bridge Records, Cedille, Chandos, Deutsche Grammophon, Naxos, Sony Classical, Vox, and Warner Classical.

The Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a mix of hundreds of jazz and blues labels from around the world, including ACT, Blue Engine Records, Cool & Blue, Manhaton Records, Strut, TCB (the Montreux Jazz Label), and Warner Jazz. NML Jazz currently hosts nearly 300,000 individual tracks (approximately 32,000 albums).

The Nazareth Project presents an official catalog of the works of Ernesto Nazareth. It includes digital transcriptions of the scores and audio files.

The New York Public Library's Digital Gallery provides free access to over 700,000. The Digital Gallery includes nearly 12,000 of scores and manuscripts from the Music Division of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.

Now What a Time, by the Library of Congress, is a collection consisting of sound recordings of primarly blues and gospel songs made from 1938-1943 in Georgia, Tennessee, and Alabama.

Omaha Indian Music, by the Library of Congress, documents traditional Omaha music from the 1890s and 1980s. The collection includes sound recordings, photographs, and related materials.

Oscar Peterson: A Jazz Sensation, created by Library and Archives Canada, is devoted to the Canadian jazz artist Oscar Peterson. The site includes a biography and discography, photo gallery, links to digitized memorabilia, the full text of selected articles and essays written by Peterson, and an audio tour of selected recordings. Note: This is an archived site and is no longer being updated.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) Music is an authoritative research guide designed to help find reliable sources of information within books, websites, archives, or data sets. Each entry receives multiple peer-reviews as well as editorial board approval. It is best used at the beginning of the research process to determine the breadth of scholarship available on your topic.

The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by Richard Taruskin. The online version includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with search and browse functionality.

Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music. These are key music reference sources used by performers and scholars around the world. This resource is used for answering basic questions (e.g., the definitions of music terminology), to research repertoire (Grove Music Online contains complete works lists for composers), or at the beginning of the research process.

A collection of over 1,000 pieces of public domain sheet music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest, selected from the University of Washington Music Library's Ashford Sheet Music Collection.

Patriotic Melodies, by the Library of Congress, tells the stories behind many of the most well known patriotic songs of the United States. The site includes descriptions of each song along with selected sheet music and audio recordings.

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The Encyclopedia provides access to digitized scores, sheet music, audio reordings, films, photographs, and other materials.

Auburn University's Piano Bench Digital Collection is comprised of sheet music published prior to 1923, much of it found in the benches of second-hand pianos purchased by the family of former Auburn University librarian Fred Edminston.

The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.

The Library of Congress's collection of Presidential Campaign Songs presents a selection of sheet music composed for presidential candidates from the 1870s to the 1920s.

Ragtime, by the Library of Congress, presents a selection of sheet music, audio and video recordings, and other materials related to this uniquely American musical phenomenon.

Recent Researches in Music Online is a collection of critical performing editions of music in seven series. The series fall into two basic categories: editions that span the history of Western music, and editions with ties to specific cultural milieus. Most editions in Recent Researches in Music are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre.

Princeton University's Renaissance Masses, 1440-1520 is an online catalog of polyphonic masses composed in Europe in the 15th-16th centuries. The catalog can be browsed by title, composer, manuscript, or print. The catalog is continuously being updated with the addition of audio recordings for each mass.

International index of visual sources of music, dance, theatre and opera, with a main objective being the development of methods, means and research centres for the classification, cataloguing and study of iconographical sources related to music, dance, theatre and opera.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive, global bibliography of writings about music. RILM Abstracts currently indexes and abstracts scholarly music publications from 184 different countries, featuring content in 140 languages. RILM supports interdisciplinary scholarship by tracking music focused writings in anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, dance studies, dramatic arts, librarianship, literature, pedagogy, philosophy, physics, psychology, sociology, and therapy. Coverage dates from the early 20th century to the present, and includes journal articles, book chapters, books, reviews, editorials, obituaries, advertising, and news.

A full-text database of 138  jazz journals and magazines published in the United States between 1914 and 2006. Articles in RIPM Jazz Periodicals are primary sources for research on jazz. RIPM Jazz is projected to grow to include 350 to 400 additional titles.

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, annotated database with content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950 provided by scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, and press reviews. In addition, RIPM offers English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.

RISM (Repertoire International des Sources Musicales), the International Inventory of Musical Sources, is an international effort to comprehensively document surviving music sources (including manuscripts, prints, libretty, and writings about music) around the world.<br /> <br /> The online catalog contains around 700,000 references to music manuscripts, many of which were first cataloged in RISM's Series A/II, Music Manuscripts after 1600. The catalog also includes ongoing indexing completed since the publication of Series A/II. Each catalog entry includes thematic catalog numbers, description of the musical work, location of the manuscript, provenance, and musical incipits.

The largest online archive of music journalism, Rock's Backpages (RBP) features 50,000 articles on thousands of popular music artists. RBP covers many different genres of music, including alternative, country, hip-hop, jazz, R&B, rock, and more. The interviews and feature articles are primary source material for popular music studies.

Franz Peter Schuberts Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Schubert's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

The complete works of Robert Schumann, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel in the late 1800s and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library

A selections of digitized sheet music from York University Libraries' Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections.

The Sheet Music Consortium, hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program, is a cooperative project to build an open collection of digitized sheet music through harvesting metadata from collections around the world.

Sheet Music from Canada's Past, a project by Library and Archives Canada and published via Aurora, provides digital access to a selection of sheet music published in Canada before 1921. Selected titles also include audio examples.

The University of Mississippi Libraries' Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection provides digital access to popular sheet music of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including jazz, blues, and minstrel songs. Note: please read collection disclaimer.

The digitized collection of music scores from Eastman School of Music's Sibley Music Library includes over 14,000 digitized manuscripts and scores in the public domain, many of which are unique to Sibley's collection.

The March King: John Philip Sousa presents selected music manuscripts, photographs, printed music, sound recordings, and more from the Sousa Collection at the Library of Congress

Southern Mosaic, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection containing nearly 700 sound recordings and other materials documenting a 1939 trip through the southern United States. Recordings include ballas, blues, folk songs, spirituals, and work songs.

A project of Temple University, Temple Sheet Music Collections contains approximately 840 pieces of sheet music published from the early 19th to early 20th centuries.

Themefinder allows for the searching of musical works by theme or incipit. Currently, Themefinder searches three databases: Classical Instrumental Music, European Folksongs, and 16th-century Latin Motets. Users may search by pitch, interval, scale degree, or contour of the musical line. Results are displayed as a list of works that match the search, along with the theme or incipit of each work.

The US RISM/Themefinder website features data for musical manuscripts from the United States. Users may search by composer, title, genre, or other keywords, or by using the Themefinder musical incipit/theme search, which allows for searching pitch, interval, scale degree, or contour of the musical line. Results are displayed as a list of works that match the search, along with the theme or incipit of each work.

MP3s of early wax cylinders recorded by Thomas Edison's recording engineer Theo Wangemann during a trip to Europe in 1889-1890.

The Digital Archive of Popular American Music consists of a selection of materials from UCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music. The Digital Archive includes sheet music and performances of the songs now in the public domain.

The University of Colorado Digital Sheet Music Collection provides digital access to sheet music published between 1890 and 1922. The collection is divided into four separate sub-collections: the Colorado Collection (music about the state of Colorado), the Ingram Collection (music published by the Tolbert R. Ingram Music Company from 1900-1915), the Ragtime Collection (ragtime songs and piano rags), and the Western Trails Collection (music inspired by westward migration).

A collection of manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries, digitized from the University of Washington Music Library's Rare Book Collection.

Library and Archives Canada's Virtual Gramophone contains information for more than 15,000 78-rmp and cylinder recordings released in Canada or featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions. The database contains images, biographical and historical information, and digital audio reproductions of selected recordings.

The University of North Texas Music Library's Virtual Music Rare Book Room presents digitized materials from the Edna mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room, as well as items that were borrowed from private collectors and scanned with permission. A primary focus of the collection is 18th-century French opera, including scores and libretti.

Voices from the Dust Bowl, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection documenting the everyday life of residents of central Californian migrant work camps in 1940-41. The collection includes audio recordings, photographs, manuscript materials, and related documentation.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary source materials from countries and cultures around the world.