Databases List: P

A collection of over 1,000 pieces of public domain sheet music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest, selected from the University of Washington Music Library's Ashford Sheet Music Collection.

PapersFirst is a multidisciplinary index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.

Past Masters provides search, browse and read access to scholarly editions of the works of great Western philosophers, including Plato, Hegel, Peirce and others. The service offers both an original language edition and an English translation of every work in the collection. A searchable edition of the Oxford Duden German Dictionary is provided at the site.

Patriotic Melodies, by the Library of Congress, tells the stories behind many of the most well known patriotic songs of the United States. The site includes descriptions of each song along with selected sheet music and audio recordings.

Launched in 1997, this database covers all fields of philosophy in nearly 30 languages and is designed as a complement to other bibliographical tools, focusing on the history of philosophy and continental philosophy. It is updated four times a year and includes references to books, edited volumes, journal articles, contributions, and reviews.

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. These include: Folio I - (1728 - 1750) Benjamin Franklins Newspaper, Folio II - (1751 - 1765) The French & Indian War, Folio III - (1766 - 1783) The American Revolution, Folio IV - (1784 - 1800) The New Republic.

Compiled by the Perdita Project, Perdita Manuscripts is a collection of digital facsimilies of the manuscripts of early modern women authors.

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The Encyclopedia provides access to digitized scores, sheet music, audio reordings, films, photographs, and other materials.

The Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas Web site provides a well-organized collection of historical and current maps worldwide. All maps available on this server are in the public domain, and may be freely downloaded and copied.

This digital collection consists of testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals.

The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Auburn University's Piano Bench Digital Collection is comprised of sheet music published prior to 1923, much of it found in the benches of second-hand pianos purchased by the family of former Auburn University librarian Fred Edminston.

Online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes.

The PILOTS bibliographic database covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Pivot is a database of currently available grants, prizes, awards and other funding opportunities for researchers and scholars.

Plant Science provides citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.

Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.

Pollution Abstracts indexes scientific research and policy literature covering all areas of pollution and its effects on people and animals. This database is a subfile of the Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.

The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines includes the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.

This unique collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

The Library of Congress's collection of Presidential Campaign Songs presents a selection of sheet music composed for presidential candidates from the 1870s to the 1920s.

This collection provides a look into the creation and activities of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by judges from the district and appellate courts, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.

Full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Proceedings First is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia worldwide. Individual papers are indexed in the companion database: PapersFirst.

Professional Development Collection selectivity indexes full-text articles from nearly 250 journals covering education and related areas such as library science.

Project Euclid provides a platform for independent and small publishers of mathematics and statistics to continue contributing vital scholarship in these disciplines in a cost-effective way. It hosts over 100 publications from around the world, including some of the most distinguished in their fields.

A catalog of over 57,000 free eBooks that can be read online or downloaded in both EPUB and Kindle formats.

Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary. In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version. Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference shelves or electronic syllabi.

ProQuest Biology Journals provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.

Complete runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Set of primary sources, with documents original articles and page images from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War.

Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.

The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Users will be prompted to authenticate both on campus and off campus. Books may be viewed online using the EBook Central reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.

Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.

The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Tribune is a full image archive. The database delivers every page of every available issue from cover to cover, with full page and article images in downloadable PDF from 1841 to 1922.

The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).

Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.

ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Comprised of more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines, these publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math.

A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

Full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Includes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books from 1956 through 2017.

American Psychiatric Association Publishing is the world’s premier publisher of books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science. We offer authoritative, up-to-date and affordable information geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, medical students and the general public. Includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)-5

Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

PubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative and provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. The resource includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data that are organized into three linked databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 180 million records. PCCompound contains more than 63 million unique structures. PCBioAssay contains more than 1 million BioAssays. Each BioAssay contains a various number of data points. The Substance/Compound database, where possible, provides links to BioAssay description, literature, references, and assay data points. The BioAssay database also includes links back to the Substance/Compound database. Integrated with Entrez, NCBI's primary search engine. PubChem also provides a fast chemical similarity search tool and allows searching by other features such as compound neighboring, sub/superstructure, similarity structure, bioactivity data, and more.

Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.

Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.