Databases List By Subject: Classics

Art Index Retrospective, is a searchable bibliographic database that contains citations from the printed Art Index, volumes 1-32, published between 1929-1984. The service includes links and cross-searchability to the Library's subscription to the AMICO Library.

ARTstor consists of a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data including the tools to actively use those images and a restricted-usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.

The Atla Religion Database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

Brill's New Jacoby provides a revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby's Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker where relevant. It includes several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. It also gives commentaries in those cases where Jacoby failed to do so. Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, a new, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian's life and works, with a select bibliography.

Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. It is a modern reference work for the ancient world, presenting the current state of traditional and new areas of research and bringing together specialist knowledge from leading scholars from all over the world. Many entries from this resource are elucidated with maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references. There are two major sections included in this resource, the Antiquity and the Classical Tradition. The Antiquity section is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. The Classical Tradition section is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online. The collection comprises of 87375 titles from all areas of research, of which 17503 are available online only. In addition, it contains 54582 journals which are accessible free of charge to anyone. Please note that titles are published in their native languages, so not all of them will be available in English.

Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995.

JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.

This valuable resource indexes books, book reviews, articles, Festschriften, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE. The APh indexes more than 1500 scholarly journals, plus essay collections and conference proceedings. Please note that the resource covers worldwide scholarly publishing, in many languages, and the Richter Library will only have some of the items referenced. Please consult the UML catalog for local holdings.

The mission of the Loeb Classical Library has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) Classics is an authoritative research guide designed to help find reliable sources of information within books, websites, archives, or data sets. Each entry receives multiple peer-reviews as well as Editorial Board approval.

Unrivalled in scope for over sixty years, this established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation. The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.

The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.

Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary. In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version. Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference shelves or electronic syllabi.

ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

<em>Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape</em> offers unique access to rare and priceless literary sources that are indispensible for scholars and students studying William Wordsworth and the Romantic period. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries.

Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has created a digital library which contains most literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8 BC) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era, with access to 3,800 authors and 12,000 works.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters AM, O, Ppomifer, portapulso). Additional content includes the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus.