Databases List: M

Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134). This collection also includes 165 files from the Prime Minister's Private Office (PREM 11). These provide an important supplement to the Cabinet records and cover all aspects of policymaking.

This collection comprises materials on Santo Trafficante, Jr., Meyer Lansky, and Lucky Luciano, including FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, New York City, New Orleans, Atlanta, New Haven, New York City, Philadelphia, and Chicago; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Domestic Intelligence Section reports; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Memoranda of conversations.

The Maine Music Box, a project of the University of Maine's Raymond H. Fogler Library provides access to approximately 22,600 digitized works (manuscript scores and sheet music) held at the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library. The Maine Music Box includes items such as vocal and popular sheet music, music for two pianos, and music by Maine composers or about Maine.

Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978, features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages, consisting of a century and a half of Supreme Court history in a comprehensive full-text collection.

Instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. The Making of the Modern World offers researchers new ways of understanding the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences. It's the most comprehensive collection in existence for researching the literature of economics from this period. This unrivalled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths; Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School, along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.

A comprehensive suite of courses covering the most popular languages in the world.

Includes 12,000 pages of source materials documenting the history of slavery in the United States, the Atlantic slave trade and the abolitionist movement.

Marcive Web Docs provides access to the Catalog of Government Printing Office Documents.The catalog provides information on all types documents issued by the federal government.

Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognized ‘father’ of Motivational Research.

MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information. Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.

Mary Ann Liebert Online has a portfolio of peer-reviewed journals, trade magazines, books, and newsletters that delivers critical, trusted information across the fields of science, technology, engineering, and medicine.

MAS Ultra - School Edition provides full text from over 490 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 554 magazines. This database also includes over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; full text of 149 Macmillan books; over 540 health and science-related pamphlets in full text; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History.

This resource offers revolutionary access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.

Access to the Mathematical Reviews Database and Current Mathematical Publications,including literature reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information.

MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media.

The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv broadcasts more than 150 live events are each year, in partnership with the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. medici.tv's library features over 4,000 programs, including: concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist portraits, educational programs, and master classes.

This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side.

Medieval Travel Writing presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more. In addition to medical research and practice, subject coverage includes allied health, the biological and physical sciences, psychology, sociology, the humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology. It includes more than 9.5 million records. More than 4,300 journals worldwide are indexed. About 52% of current cited articles are published in the U.S.; nearly 86% are published in English; about 76% have English abstracts written by authors of the articles. Abstracts are included for about 67% of the records.

Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.

The Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts. The collection spans the full range of Morse’s interests from his career as a natural historian to his life-changing experiences in Japan.

Mendeley is a reference and pdf manager with collaboration tools and an online social network that allows you to discover and share research. It has both online and desktop components.

The complete works of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, originally published in the late 1800s by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdys Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Mendelssohn's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

An online database providing access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Provides Mergent business and industry reports.

An online database providing access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.

The latest version of this leading dictionary is available for searching at the online Encyclopedia Britannica Web site.

Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.

Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Hospitals can use Micromedex evidence and real-time clinical surveillance to proactively find and administer preventative care to high-risk patients to help prevent or mitigate Avoidable Drug Events, Hospital-Acquired Infections, and more.

Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from The National Archives, London. Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.

The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection is comprised of a large amount of unique content from publications across the region, providing insights into the history of individual countries as well as a broader look at historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.

The Middle English Compendium contains prose, verse, and reference works. The service provides three an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organizational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids.

Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

A publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.

Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more. Emphasizing source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the crucial skills of information and digital literacy. 

The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

The Moldenhauer Archives: The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial presents a selection of digitized items from the full Moldenhauer Archives, which document the history of Western music from the medieval period through the modern era. The online collection includes scores and manuscripts as well as an electronic version of the guidebook for the archive.

Mometrix eLibrary system offers access to an entire database of study materials at an affordable rate through a user-friendly, online interface. This platform is fully customizable so you can choose anywhere from one title to our entire catalog of thousands of titles. It offers study guides, flashcards, and practice questions for over 1,400 different standardized exams including FTCE (teacher certification exams), GRE, ATI TEAS, NCLEX, HESI A2, medical technology certifications, computer technology certifications, K-12, LSAT, MCAT, GMAT, and many, many more.

Provides data on investment offerings, including stocks, mutual funds, and similar vehicles, along with real-time global market data on equities, indexes, futures, options, commodities, and precious metals, in addition to foreign exchange and Treasury markets.

This collection comprises in its entirety, the Primary Source media microfilm collection entitled First Three Centuries of Appalachian Travel. In addition, a small very number of selected titles were included from the microfilm collections entitled Travels in the Old South I, II, & III: 1607-1860; Travels in the New South I & II, 1865-1950; and, Kentucky Culture: A Basic Library of Kentuckiana.

The European Mozart Ways presents a new approach to studying Mozart by focusing on his travels. The site includes a full text biography of the composer, descriptions of his travels with maps and itineraries, and digitized, translated, and annotated versions of the letters of Mozart and his family.

NMA Online is the digitized version of the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart originally published by Barenreiter-Verlag and digitized in a cooperative effort of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and the Packard Humanities Institute. The site includes both music and critical commentaries.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Werke is the 1877-1910 edition of Mozart's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.

MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media.

The Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) digitizes the special collections of the Bavarian State Library and other German institutions, including fine arts and music, and currently comprises over 900,000 titles.

Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.

Music for the Nation, by the Library of Congress, contains thousands of pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright from 1820-1860. The collection includes popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, solo instrumental music, and orchestral and band music.

Music for the Nation, by the Library of Congress, contains thousands of pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright from 1870-1885. The collection includes popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, solo instrumental music, and orchestral and band music.

This website presents fieldwork and publication materials from Mark Slobin's research in Afghanistan.... Still photography, moving picture clips, and sound clips accompany the written text.

The Music Index provides citations for 882 international scholarly, popular, and trade journals and magazines. It indexes articles, book reviews, recording reviews, and live performance reviews.

A collection of music recordings from Americans of diverse origins, from Americas past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

An interdisciplinary collection of streaming audiovisual recordings organized into the following categories: American music, classical, dance, jazz, popular music, contemporary world music, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Music Online includes the Classical Scores Library, a five-volume set of online scores ranging from the Medieval period through the twenty-first century. Thousands of pages of composer biographies and program notes are also available. As of August of 2024, Music Online includes more than 14 million individual tracks of music and nearly 11,000 videos.

Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.

Contains the sounds of all regions from every continent, and genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries and includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings.

Part of the larger Music Online: Listening database, the Jazz Music Library features nearly one million jazz tracks from hundreds of labels, including Audiophile, Circle Records, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, GHB Records, Good Time Jazz, GRP Records, Impulse, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, Peak, Prestige, Riverside, Solo Art Records, Stretch Records, and Verve.

A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

Collection of popular music that contains a wide range of music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The collection includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Controlled vocabularies will enable users to browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

The Music Periodicals Database indexes journal literature in all areas of music. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals. Coverage includes recording and performance reviews of both popular and classical music.

The Library of Congress's Music Treasures Consortium provides access to highly valued music manuscripts and print materials held in some of the world's most renowned music archives, including the British Library, Harvard University, and the Morgan Library & Museum.

Musical America is an international directory for the performing arts, used by concert facilities, classical performers, artists, managers and music festivals. Entries include narrative reviews of the past year in music and dance, along with over 700 pages of listings and tables. Also offers a prestigious annual awards program for Musician of the Year, as well as awards for the year's top composer, conductor, instrumentalist and vocalist.

MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to help you find the right songs quickly and easily. Its  easy-to-use interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database. As an added feature, once you get your list of titles, we link you to various sites to make it simple to buy, rent, trade or download the sheet music and recordings (subject to availability).

The Mutopia Project provides access to classical music for free download through digital sheet music editions based on editions in the public domain. The Project also hosts modern editions from composers, editors, and arrangers who have chosen to make their works freely available to the public. MIDI files of some works are also available.