Databases List By Format: Images

Ad*Access presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

The American Memory project of the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program digitizes distinctive, historical Americana holdings at the Library of Congress, including photographs, full-text manuscripts and rare books, maps, recorded sound and moving pictures. To achieve its goal, this unique public-private program, also works in cooperation with members of the Digital Library Federation and other libraries and archives throughout the United States. For example, digital collections from the LC/Ameritech Digital Library Competition are included.

This collection makes available for research the records of the Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba (IPRC) and predecessor Presbyterian churches and missions in Cuba, including a complete run of Heraldo Cristiano, the churchs newsletter, 1919 2010, which provides a framework for the history of the church. Also included are the periodicals Juprecu and Su Voz, early mission records, originally maintained in English and then in Spanish as the congregations took over management of their churches and schools from the mission workers. These include session minutes and membership/baptism/marriage/death records, as well as minutes of mens, womens, and youth groups, including their mission work in their communities.

<em>Bloomsbury Cultural History </em>is an extraordinary, fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Thanks to its interdisciplinary nature and ever-expanding collections, this unique digital reference tool promises to be an essential resource on many courses from cultural studies and sociology to history and anthropology.

Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. Includes: "British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance" & "British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900"

This resource covers an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The Economist Historical Archive is a searchable database of The Economist archive. The archive includes full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week.

The<em> First World War</em> portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.

This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections.

This collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

<em>Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965</em> provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognized ‘father’ of Motivational Research.

This resource offers revolutionary access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.

This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with content being sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

<em>North American Indian Thought and Culture</em> brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.

Online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes.

The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.

International index of visual sources of music, dance, theatre and opera, with a main objective being the development of methods, means and research centres for the classification, cataloguing and study of iconographical sources related to music, dance, theatre and opera.

This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs.

This site features a growing collection of digital objects developed to preserve and support digital scholarship and the research, teaching, and learning mission of the University. Digital Collections feature materials from the collections at University of Miami Libraries, Calder Medical Library, University of Miami Archives and from distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.

This resource documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas and provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America.

VisualDx aids in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries. Engineered for use at the point of care, the VisualDx system allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication. The database covers more than 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions represented by nearly 30,000 images.

Published since 1889, the Wall Street Journal covers U.S. and world news, as well as politics, arts, culture, and more. The online version includes streaming news, interactive options, video features, blogs, and more traditional content.