Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 8606
visibleTabCount: 9
Welcome!
Welcome to the Richter Library's Guide to Education!
Hello all, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries' Guide to Education Resources! The Richter Library offers you a wide variety of resources related to the field of Education, from educational statistics and curriculium mapping materials to popular children's novels that can be used in the classroom.
Chat with us!
USearch
Dictionaries
How to Find the Stacks
To get to the stacks, you must go to the 2nd floor of Richter Library. If you are getting off of the elevator, make a right. If you take the stairs, proceed straight toward the elevators and take a left. The stacks elevators will located down the hall; look for the hanging sign that reads "Stacks Elevators".
E-journals
If you have the title of a journal and wish to search its contents, check out UM's list of journals. Enter the name of the journal into the search box and let it take you directly to the journal you're looking for.
Additional Databases
Don't see what you need in the Core Education Databases section? Education topics can cross a wide variety of disciplines. Check out these databases for further help.
You can also use databases in other subject areas to help you find what you need. Going to be an art teacher? Check out our Art and Art History Databases. Biology teacher? Look at our Biology Databases. Just use the drop menu on the Databases page to navigate to the subject you prefer.
Databases
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This education database indexes English language articles in periodicals and books. Selected full-text coverage of articles begins in January 1996. Abstracts are provided beginning in January 1994. Books coverage begins in 1995.
ERIC(Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
Activity Books
To locate books on activity programs or activities for the classroom, go to the library catalog and perform a subject search using any of the following suggested terms:
- Activity programs in education
- Study and teaching
- Children's Libraries Activity Programs
- Education Primary Activity Programs
- Special Education Activity Programs
Other terms can be used to help narrow down searches to specific subject area programs, such as "Study and Teaching Science" or "Study and Teaching English".
More Resources for Teaching and Learning
The American Association of School Librarians has compiled a Best Websites for Teaching and Learning list. Check out the variety of resources, which assist teachers in incorporating digital storytelling, social networking, curriculum collaboration and more into lessons.
AASL's Best Websites for Teaching and Learning
Lesson Plans
- American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Standards for the 21st Century Learner Lesson Plan Database
The American Association of School Librarians has created this database of lesson plans as "a tool to support school librarians and other educators in teaching the essential learning skills." Lesson plans are vetted by the AASL and are in alignment with both AASL standards and Common Core standards. - Annenberg Learners Teachers Lab
Along with lesson plans for different subject areas in K-12 schools, the Annenberg Learners Teachers Lab provides video and other interactive plans for teachers to use in the classroom. - BBC Learning
Who doesn't love the BBC? Get activity ideas, games, video clips and more from across the pond. - ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized site for searching the ERIC bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of more than 1.6 million items indexed since 1966. - Information Literacy and Fake News Activities and Resources
- NC Civic Education Consortium - Database of K-12 Resources
This searchable database currently includes lesson plans aligned to the NC Essential Standards, as well as activities for use in school, after school and extra-curricular settings. - PBS Learning Media
"PBS LearningMediaâ„¢ is the go-to destination for instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, games, audio clips, photos, lesson plans, and more! You can search, save, and share with ease. Best of all, PBS LearningMedia is free for educators." - Read Write Think
Run by the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), ReadWriteThink provides lesson plans, activities and ideas across a wide variety of subject areas. English, STEM, ESL, Math and Fine Arts lesson topics are included for K-12 students. - Scholastic
Scholastic does far more than publish amazing books. Resources, tools, teaching strategies, lesson plans and more for students K-12. Reading, Language Arts, Social Studies, Math and Science are all included.
Curriculum Planning Books
Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an online tool for research designed to guide users through every step of the research process. It includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, while the Methods Map is meant to help find the best research technique, with answers that range from a quick answer found in a dictionary to case studies, teaching datasets, and full-text titles.
SAGE Research Methods Cases 1
SAGE Research Methods Cases 1 is a collection of case studies written by the researches themselves that show the realities of doing research; they explain how the methods use were chosen, how problems in research were overcome, and what might have been done differently with hindsight. All of the cases are peer-reviewed and include tools for further learning and investigation that allow them to be used both as a teaching tool and as inspiration for other research projects.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets 1
SAGE Research Methods Datasets 1 is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that are indexed by method and data type and optimized to be used for practicing analysis and analytical decisions as a way to improve as a researcher.
U.S. Education Statistics
Many of these resources are produced by the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) and draw from surveys done by the NCES, the U.S. Census Bureau, and other government and private agencies
International Education Statistics
World Bank - Education Statistics
The World Bank provides country statistics on key education indicators, teachers, literacy, learning outcomes, education expenditures, and more.
More questions about social data?
If you have questions about how to use ICPSR or how to locate other social data, please contact Cameron Riopelle, our data services librarian.
Cameron Riopelle
Data Services Librarian
Phone: 305-284-3257
Email: criopelle@miami.edu
Quick Links
FTCE Test Prep Guides
The University of Miami Libraries tries to keep the most recent test preparation guides for the Florida Teacher Certification Examinations. Test preparation guides are available to help candidates prepare for the FTCE tests. These guides are each approximately 30 pages in length and include a list of competencies and skills tested and sample test items.
To locate guides, go to the library catalog and perform a subject search for "Florida teacher certification examination--study"; or, perform a keyword search for FTCE and YOUR SUBJECT (i.e. FTCE and Biology)
Did you know...?
All of the computers located in the Learning Commons (1st floor of Richter Library) have the SPSS and SAS software installed.
Locating Dissertations
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
University of Miami Electronic Theses and Dissertations
Provides a searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format. The Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) program is a joint effort between the Graduate School and the University of Miami Libraries. The University of Miami ETD site provides a publicly available, searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format.
A Quick Guide to Plagiarism
What is plagarism?
Ideas - and the words that express them - can belong to people. So when you use someone else's words and ideas, especially in your essays and written assignments, you have to tell people where you got your ideas and quotes from. If you don't cite your sources, it's considered a type of stealing.
Don't be an idea thief!
Use the links and videos on this page to learn what plagiarism is, and why your professors don't want you to do it.
- What is Plagiarism? An interactive game and guide from Rutgers University.
- Plagiarism 101.
- Avoiding Plagiarism. A guide provided by the Purdue OWL.
- The Writer's Handbook to Avoiding Plagiarism. By the University of Wisconsin Writing Center.
Citation Help
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Free online resources for researching and writing.
UM Writing Center
How to use the class guides
Course-specific guides have been created for certain classes. Hover over the "Class Guides" tab and select the course you need from the drop-down menu.
Course Guides
EPS 422: Applied Research Methods
EPS 440: Listening and Helping Skills
EPS 554: Essentials of Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences
EPS 701: Educational Research Methods
EPS 708: Meta Analysis for Research Synthesis
TAL 191: Developmental Reading Skills for College Students
TAL 203: Survey of Children's Literature
TAL 308: Linguistic and Culturally Diverse Youth Learners
TAL 324: Education and the Arts
A Librarian