University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

EPS 752: Dissertation Seminar

Welcome to EPS 752!

Welcome to the EPS 752: Dissertation Seminar guide! This page on the Education Research Guide is specifically designed to assist students taking EPS 752. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Education guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel freek to Ask a Librarian!

Learning Commons

The Learning Commons is a welcoming place where you are able to create and experiment, consult with peers and experts, discover and explore resources and ideas, and study individually and collaboratively.

Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC(Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.

Data

College Navigator
College Navigator consists primarily of the latest data from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), the core postsecondary education data collection program for NCES – the National Center for Education Statistics.

Data Lab
Online table and regression maker tools featuring 30+ federal education datasets. Contains three powerful tools for your analytical needs: QuickStats – Allows novice users to create simple tables and charts; PowerStats – Allows researchers to create complex tables and logistic and linear regressions; and TrendStats – Allows researchers to create complex tables spanning multiple data collection years. Also, contains the Tables Library which houses 5000+ published analysis tables by topic, publication, and source.

IPEDS
IPEDS is the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System. It is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The NCES, U.S. Department of Education, is the primary federal government source of statistics and data studies describing the condition of American education, and education activities internationally.