Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690069
visibleTabCount: 1
Florida Education Standards
Need More Art Resources?
Not finding everything you need on this page? Check out the Richter Library's
for more in depth Art coverage and information!
Search Tip: Location, Location, Location!
Found your portrait? Great! Looking for the museum where it lives? Don't forget to click the "i" button in ARTstor! The "i" for Information will let you know where you can go to visit your portrait in person.
Art Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Welcome to the TAL 324:Education and the Arts Guide!
Welcome to the Education and the Arts Guide! This page on the Education Libguide is specifically designed to assist with TAL324. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Education guide for research help.
If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!
USearch
Art Databases
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
History of Art
Lowe Art Museum
Biographies
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a great way of finding broad kinds of information. It's a great place to get started - search for your artist or artwork and search the site for more information on time periods, famous people, and places.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection is fully-indexed and cross-searchable.The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian,and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines. - Britannica Online
Britannica Online includes the online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, the 10th ed. of the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Britannica's Internet Guide, and The World Guide with maps, country information, and news
A Librarian