Art & Art History General subjectId: 10155

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

Home to an outstanding array of rare books, manuscripts, archival collections, photographs and audio-visual items, maps, architectural drawings, artists’ books, and other research materials that document the history of Florida, the Caribbean, Central and South America, and beyond.

Lowe Art Museum
Conveniently located right on the Coral Gables Campus, the Lowe offers carefully curated global collections from antiquity through the present. 
 

Bass Museum of Art 
The Bass is Miami Beach’s contemporary art museum. Focusing on exhibitions of international contemporary art, The Bass presents mid-career and established artists reflecting the spirit and international character of Miami Beach. 

Institute of Contemporary Art Miami 
ICA Miami’s permanent collection articulates cornerstone moments in the careers of some of the most significant artists of our time.

Lowe Art Museum 
Explore 5,000 years of human creativity from this art museum at the University of Miami. The online collection database provides access to more than 19,250 works of art from every inhabited continent. 

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA)
The museum is dedicated to making contemporary art accessible to diverse audiences through the collection, preservation and exhibition of contemporary art and its art historical influences.

The Norton Museum of Art
Located in West Palm Beach, the Norton has great examples of Chinese, European, American, Contemporary, and Photography collections. It is accessible by the Brightline.

Pérez Art Museum Miami (PAMM)
A modern and contemporary art museum dedicated to collecting and exhibiting international art of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Rubell Museum
Since the Rubell's first acquisition in 1965 they’ve built one of the most significant and far-ranging collections of contemporary art in the world, now encompassing 7,200 works by more than 1,000 artists—and still growing. The collection is further distinguished by the diversity and geographic distribution of artists represented within it, and the depth of its holdings of seminal artists.

The Wolfsonian
Provides access to 95,000 collection records and almost 130,000 images from the combined Objects Collection and Rare Books Library.

Art Institute of Chicago (AIC)
Founded in 1879 as both a museum and a school for the fine arts, AIC represents a diversity of artistic traditions from around the world.   

Brooklyn Museum of Art
American Art, Arts of the Americas, Africa, Asia, the Islamic World,  Contemporary Art, Decorative Arts, European, Egyptian, Classical, Ancient Near Eastern Art and Feminist Art.  

Cleveland Museum of Art (CMA)
Highly selective and comprehensive art museum with collections from all periods and from all parts of the world. Collections are strong in the areas of European Art, American Art, Islamic Art, and Medieval Art. 

Denver Art Museum (DAM)
Strong in modern masterworks and contemporary objects representing  more than a century of artistic innovation. The over 12,500 works made since 1900, the  collection includes works by Pablo Picasso, Marcel Duchamp, Henri Matisse, and Georgia O’Keeffe.

Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA)
Search over 60,000 records on art dating from the earliest civilizations to the present. 

The Frick Collection
The Frick is known for its distinguished Old Master paintings and outstanding examples of European sculpture and decorative arts.

J.Paul Getty Museum 
The collection comprises Greek, Roman, and Etruscan art from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity; European art—including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts—from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century; and international photography from its inception to the present day.

Guggenheim Museum
Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks. 

Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
African, American, Ancient Americas, Ancient Near East, Art of the Pacific, Chinese, Contemporary, Costumes and Textiles, Decorative Arts and Design, Egyptian, European Painting & Sculpture, German Expressionism, Greek, Roman and Etruscan, Islamic, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Modern, Photography, South and Southeast Asian 

Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art (MassMoCA) 
Long term Exhibitions

Metropolitan Museum of Art (MMA)
Founded in 1870, the Met’s collection has grown to represent more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to the works of our time.

Morgan Library & Museum 
Holdings ranged from Egyptian art to Renaissance paintings to Chinese porcelains. For his library, Morgan acquired illuminated, literary, and historical manuscripts, early printed books, and old master drawings and prints.

Museum of Fine Arts Boston (MFA)
Explore over 160,000 high quality images of historical portraits, examples of art movements,cultural objects from around the world, textiles and more from the MFA’s encyclopedic collections. 

Museum of Fine Arts Houston (MFA H)
MFA houses an encyclopedic collection of nearly 70,000 works of art created throughout the world, from antiquity to the present. 

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA NY)
MoMA’s evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works from around the world spanning the last 150 years. The collection includes an ever-expanding range of painting, sculpture, printmaking, drawing, photography, architecture, design, film, and media and performance art.

Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
Located in Kansas City, Missouri, the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art is recognized internationally as one of the finest general art museums in the United States. Nelson-Atkins Museum currently maintains collections of over 40,000 works of art. 

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMoMA)
SFMOMA was the first museum on the West Coast devoted solely to modern and contemporary art. 

The Sterling and Francine Clark Institute
European and American paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and decorative arts from the Renaissance to the early twentieth century. 

Toledo Museum of Art (TMA)
Paintings and sculptures by Bearden, Cézanne, Calder, Close, Cole, Degas, van Gogh, El Greco, Holbein, Kiefer, Matisse, Miró, Monet, Picasso, Rembrandt, Rubens, and Turner; masterworks from antiquity and Asia; decorative arts; and a renowned glass collection.

Walker Arts Center  
Works of modern and contemporary art, especially focused after 1960. Holdings include more than 13,000 individual pieces including books, costumes, drawings, media works, paintings, photography, prints, and sculpture.

Google Arts & Culture

Louvre Museum Paris, FR
Home to artworks dating from the 7th Millennium BC to the 1850s. 

Museo del Prado Madrid, SP
Prado Museum allows you to browse their content using features such as author, concept, century, school , medium, technique, iconography, and more. Works and artists in the Museum are shown in the form of a multi-layered Timeline that can be personalized by users. 

Kunstmuseum Basel  Switzerland

Rijks Museum Twenthe Amsterdam, NL
In the course of the last century, the collection has expanded considerably to currently approximately 8000 objects from the 13th century to the present.

Tate Modern London, EN
Tate Modern’s Discover Art feature allows you to explore their national collection of British art from 1500-present and international modern and contemporary art

Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A0 London, EN
Search 1,236,074 objects and 828,417 images from the V&A's collections.

• Web Gallery of Art 

• Virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts, decorative arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 52,800 reproductions.

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

•  
• A Biographical Dictionary of Artists
• A Biographical Dictionary of Artists" is a guide to the figures who dominated the visual art throughout the ages. International in scope and coverage, the book contains authoritative entries.
•  
• ArtLex Art Dictionary 
• Great reference material in art, art history, art criticism, aesthetics, and art education.
•  
• Dictionary of Art Historians 
• A biographical and methodological resource intended as a beginning point for learning the background of major art historians or western art history. 
•  
• The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture  
• Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central,  South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more.
•  
• Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture 
• The Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture provides an overview of Neoclassicism, focusing on its major artists, architects, styles, subcategories, ideas, and framework of the 18th century style found mainly in Europe and the United States.

Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era: a bibliographical dictionary of more than 12,700 persons

•  
• Oxford Art Online  
• Oxford Art Online is one of the most authoritative resources on art and art historical references.
•  
• Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists  
• This reference work deals with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more.
•  
•  
•  

 Guide to the Literature of Art History and Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 and other critical art history resources are provided freely through the Getty Research Portal 

​

A Short Guide to Writing About Art

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

A digital image sampler and browsing resource for the vast photography holdings of George Eastman House.

Getty Images
Getty Images is among the world’s leading creators and distributors of award-winning still imagery,video, music and multimedia products, as well as other forms of premium digital content.

JSTOR
Search or browse through ArtSTOR image collections. 

Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (Library of Congress)
More than 13.7 million images, including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. International in scope, but particularly rich in materials documenting the history of the United States.

AP Image Archive
AP Images gives you access to the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary photographs, so you have all the imagery you need, right when you need it.

Digital Collection (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Eakins, Thomas, 1844-1916. Gross Clinic. 1875.

Kusakabe Kimbei (1841 - 1934) or Baron Raimund von Stillfried (1839 - 1911). Doctor, 1870s-1890s. The J. Paul Getty Museum.




Yousef Karsh. Jonas Salk. Photograph. 1956.  National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution; gift of Estrellita Karsh in memory of Yousuf Karsh.

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

AATA Online (Art and Architecture Technical Abstracts) 
AATA is a free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. It has been managed and published by the Getty since 1983. AATA Online contains over 148,000 records and adds approximately 4,000 new records each year through regular updates.

Digital Cicognara Library 
Open-access library of the early literature of the Arts

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Over 37,006,557 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.

Europeana
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research, providing access to millions of books, music, artworks and more.

Getty Search Gateway
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

Getty Research Portal 
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (TOAH)
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) 
Enables users to simultaneously search the NYARC libraries' local, electronic, and digital collections, as well as scholarly resources that are freely available online. In addition to providing access to the over 1 million resources in Arcade, NYARC's online catalog, the system also points to online journal articles, digitized books, and born-digital art research materials from the consortium's growing web archive collection. It's a powerful platform allowing scholars to locate materials across a broad range of formats in a single search.

Smart History
Expertise of hundreds of scholars and scholarly conversations on art.

Smithsonian Archives of American Art
The world’s preeminient and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America. 

Architecture Research Center 
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
            Follow us on

Oolite arts is both a community and a resource, providing artists with the free studio space, exhibition opportunities, direct support and programming they need to advance their careers. 

American Association of Art Museums (AAM)
Every type of museum is represented including art, history, science, military and maritime, and youth museums, as well as aquariums, zoos, botanical gardens, arboretums, historic sites, and science and technology centers. 

Association of Art Historians
The national organization for professional art and design historians, researchers or students who are involved in education, galleries, museums and art-related publishing, or any other activity linked with art and design history. 

College Art Association
Promotes excellence in scholarship and teaching in the history and criticism of the visual arts. 

International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
Provides tools to help people make informed decisions about the legal, ethical, and scholarly issues involved in the collecting and exhibiting of art.