Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 8616
visibleTabCount: 10
Welcome!
Welcome to the Richter Library's Guide to Anthropology!
Hello all, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries' Guide to Anthropology! The purpose of this guide is to help you navigate through the many anthropology-related resources available to you through the University of Miami Libraries system.
Lowe Art Museum
Looking for Art?
The Lowe Art Museum, located on the Coral Gables campus, supports a 17,500 object collection with strengths in Renaissance and Baroque, American, Ancient and Native American, and Asian art.
*Adapted from the Lowe Art Museum About page.
Ask a Librarian!
Methodology and Fieldwork
USearch
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
USearch
Databases
Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews service provides searchable, full text access to review articles covering biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics.
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index: 1957-present & Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present
AnthroSource
Provides access to the peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins of the AAA. Anthropology News is provided to individual members of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as part of their membership. Online access to Anthropology News is restricted for non-AAA members, and this includes institutional subscribers to AnthroSource. Issues for the latest ten years are only available free-of-charge to individual AAA members. Older issues are available online for institutions subscribing to AnthroSource. This limited access has been designated by AAA. On the AnthroSource web site, this limited access is described as 10 year moving wall. The following journal titles have older content available via JSTOR: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Current content for the latest 7 years of these AAA journals is available in AnthroSource. All issues from 1996 and earlier are archived in JSTOR.
eHRAF Archaeology
Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents (e.g., books, dissertations, monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world.
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. As of the year 2000, the Collection of Ethnography on the Web contains 78 selected cultures from around the world, including information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Topics range from family relationships to religious practices to ideas about gender.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary source materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Journals with Book Reviews
Looking for book reviews? Check out the journals below!
Reviews in Anthropology
Z5111
Online access to the journal 'Reviews in Anthropology', dating back to 1974.
Online access to the journal 'Reviews in Anthropology', dating back to 1974.
More Anthropology Databases
Need more Anthropology databases?
More databases with coverage of Anthropology materials can be found on the library's database page.
Encyclopedia of the Life Sciences
eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students.
eLS articles are written by leaders in the field to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of each subject area. eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis. *from the eLS website
Biological Anthropology
Biological anthropology, sometimes referred to as physical anthropology, maintains close ties to the natural sciences, through the investigation of the relationship between the human physical condition and culture. This sub-field of anthropology uses a variety of methodologies that include but are not limited to: anthropometry, biochemical analysis, comparative anatomy, trace analysis, and taxonomy. Medical anthropology, skeletal biology, paleopathology, forensic anthropology, dental anthropology, primatology, human variation, human adaptation, human evolution, and human ecology are fields of specialty within biological anthropology.
Databases & Indexes
Animal Behavior Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts significant papers relevant to animal behavior ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, genetics, applied ethology, etc.
Biological Abstracts (1980 - 2002)
Biological Abstracts indexes biology journals not traditionally covered by standard anthropology indexes. Topics of interest include: physical anthropology, ethnobiology,evolution, paleobiology and paleozoology.
Biological Science (ProQuest)
This service indexes theoretical and applied research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and related resources in the biological sciences. MEDLINE and TOXLINE are included in the search.
General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This science database indexes and abstracts articles in 167 popular and professional English-language science periodicals as well as the Science section of the New York Times. Selective full text coverage begins in January 1995. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles.
Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals, more than 33,000 books & over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers: Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
Wiley Interscience
Browse or search Wiley journals by discipline or by title or topic.
Websites
- eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through our osteology database. - Primate Database.org
The PAD is a multi-centered, relational database of biological variables in aging, captive nonhuman primates containing 999,587 data points for body weight, blood chemistry and hematology, for healthy subjects across time. - PRIMO
PRIMO (PRImate Morphometrics Online), the NYCEP Primate Morphometric database, is a resource for researchers who use metrical (including 3D) data to study aspects of primate morphology and evolution.
Biological Anthropology Books
Cultural Anthropology Video
- Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides over 2000 hours of film, including documentaries, primary source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
Cultural Anthropology Books
Databases
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index: 1957-present & Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present
AnthroSource
Provides access to the peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins of the AAA. Anthropology News is provided to individual members of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as part of their membership. Online access to Anthropology News is restricted for non-AAA members, and this includes institutional subscribers to AnthroSource. Issues for the latest ten years are only available free-of-charge to individual AAA members. Older issues are available online for institutions subscribing to AnthroSource. This limited access has been designated by AAA. On the AnthroSource web site, this limited access is described as 10 year moving wall. The following journal titles have older content available via JSTOR: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Current content for the latest 7 years of these AAA journals is available in AnthroSource. All issues from 1996 and earlier are archived in JSTOR.
CIA World Factbook
US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
eHRAF Archaeology
Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents (e.g., books, dissertations, monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world.
The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. As of the year 2000, the Collection of Ethnography on the Web contains 78 selected cultures from around the world, including information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Topics range from family relationships to religious practices to ideas about gender.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers: Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
Linguistic Anthropology
Linguistic anthropology, a sub-field of anthropology, focuses on the function of language within a society, culture as revealed through language, and the relationship of cultures through language. Recent applications involve the investigation of the capacity for language in other animals, particularly nonhuman primates.
Core Journals
P1 INTERNET
Professional Organizations & Societies
Databases
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized site for searching the ERIC bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of more than 1.6 million items indexed since 1966.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications. Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
Web Resources & Research Organizations
The following open-source resources were developed by universites, scholars or libraries.
- LINGUIST List
This site is one of the most comprehensive sites for linguistics sources. - SocioSite
With a section devoted to sociolinguistics this resource is a collaborative project based at the University of Amsterdam. It is international in scope and aims to become a comprehensive information system for sociologists around the world. - Speech Accent Archive
This archive presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. This resource also includes detailed linguistic and demographic background information on each speaker.
Linguistic Anthropology Books
Maps of the Ancient World
Archaeology Websites
- Dumbarton Oaks: Pre-Columbian Photograph Archives
The Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives comprise images of Pre-Columbian objects, archaeological sites, architecture, monuments, maps, major codices, and illustrations. The holdings document places and objects from Mesoamerica, the Intermediate Area, and the Andes, and cover around 2,000 years of history. - Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative
The Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative, based at University of California, Berkeley, is a global consortium of people who share the vision of creating a distributed virtual library of cultural information with a time and place interface. - Visible Past
An interactive historical atlas enhanced with narratives, pictures, video clips, and audio files.A site where researchers can collaboratively organize documents and artifacts and write papers or books.A location aware service that delivers through an iPhone App or 2d codes historical information about any place on the earth, while you are there.A CAVE (lab) at Purdue University where we can project life size 3D virtual models of famous places such as Omaha Beach or Ancient Rome.
Databases
eHRAF Archaeology
Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents (e.g., books, dissertations, monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. As of the year 2000, the Collection of Ethnography on the Web contains 78 selected cultures from around the world, including information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Topics range from family relationships to religious practices to ideas about gender.
Oxford Handbooks of Archaeology
Style Guides & Help Documents
The style guide of the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology Websites
- American Anthropological Association
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology. Although there were several other American anthropological societies in existence at the turn of the 20th century, this new, national organization was formed "to promote the science of anthropology, to stimulate and coordinate the efforts of American anthropologists, to foster local and other societies devoted to anthropology, to serve as a bond among American anthropologists and anthropologic[al] organizations present and prospective, and to publish and encourage the publication of matter pertaining to anthropology" (AAA Articles of Incorporation). - Archaeological Institute of America
The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) promotes archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past to foster an appreciation of diverse cultures and our shared humanity. The AIA supports archaeologists, their research and its dissemination, and the ethical practice of archaeology. The AIA educates people of all ages about the significance of archaeological discovery and advocates the preservation of the world's archaeological heritage. - Lowe Art Museum
The mission of the Lowe Art Museum, the art museum of the University of Miami, is to serve the University, the Greater South Florida communities, and national and international visitors as a teaching and exhibiting resource through its permanent and borrowed collections.
How to Use Class Guides
Course-specific guides have been created for certain classes. Hover over the "Class Guides" tab and select the course you need from the drop-down menu.
A Librarian