University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

APY 418/618: Medicine, Health, and Society

Cultural Anthropology Video

  • Ethnographic Video Online
    Ethnographic Video Online provides over 2000 hours of film, including documentaries, primary source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.

Citation Resources

Welcome to APY 418/618!

Welcome to the Medcine, Health and Society class guide! This page on the Anthropology Libguide is specifically designed to assist with APY 418/618: Medicine, Health and Society. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Anthropology guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

USearch

Databases

  • Anthropology Plus
    Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index: 1957-present & Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present
  • AnthroSource
    Provides access to the peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins of the AAA. Anthropology News is provided to individual members of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as part of their membership.  Online access to Anthropology News is restricted for non-AAA members, and this includes institutional subscribers to AnthroSource.  Issues for the latest ten years are only available free-of-charge to individual AAA members. Older issues are available online for institutions subscribing to AnthroSource. This limited access has been designated by AAA.  On the AnthroSource web site, this limited access is described as 10 year moving wall. The following journal titles have older content available via JSTOR: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Current content for the latest 7 years of these AAA journals is available in AnthroSource.  All issues from 1996 and earlier are archived in JSTOR.
  • eHRAF Archaeology
    Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents (e.g., books, dissertations, monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world.
  • eHRAF World Cultures
    The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. As of the year 2000, the Collection of Ethnography on the Web contains 78 selected cultures from around the world, including information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Topics range from family relationships to religious practices to ideas about gender.
  • SCOPUS
    Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.