University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

APY 512/612: Medical Anthropology

Other Resources

  • Health and Human Services.gov
    It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
  • Carter Center
    The Carter Center, in partnership with Emory University, is guided by a fundamental commitment to human rights and the alleviation of human suffering. It seeks to prevent and resolve conflicts, enhance freedom and democracy, and improve health.
  • World Health Organization
    WHO’s priority in the area of health systems is moving towards universal health coverage. WHO works together with policy-makers, global health partners, civil society, academia and the private sector to support countries to develop, implement and monitor solid national health plans.
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Anthropology 512/612: Medical Anthropology class guide! This page on the Anthropology research guide is specifically designed to assist with APY 512/612 Medical Anthropology. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Anthropology guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

USearch

Databases

  • Anthropology Plus
    Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies.
  • AnthroSource
    Provides access to the peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins of the AAA. Anthropology News is provided to individual members of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as part of their membership. 
  • eHRAF World Cultures
    The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.
  • ProQuest Health Management
    ProQuest Health Management is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
  • ProQuest Biological Science
    This service indexes theoretical and applied research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and related resources in the biological sciences.

Websites

  • CIA World Factbook
    US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
  • Culture Grams
    CultureGrams is a reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. The database provides up-to-date country reports on 200+ cultures of the world, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.