Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 11046
visibleTabCount: 11
Welcome
Welcome to Richter Library's Resource Guide
for Nursing and Health Studies!
This guide is a great tool for finding information for research, collecting articles for classes, and broadening your knowledge of Nursing and Health Studies. Each tab contains current and relevent resources for assisting you in collecting the best information for your project, interest, or research.
Subject Specialist
-
Saily Marrero
Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
Please provide a brief description of the topics or issues you would like to discuss during our consultation.
Table of Contents
PubMed vs Embase vs Medline
Adams, H. (2024, May 15, 2024). Research: What's the difference between PubMed, Medline & Embase? King Edward Memorial Hospital.
Research Databases
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.
PubMed
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Embase
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature database that provides over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conferences covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day.
Cochrane Library
Collection of health databases providing independent evidence to inform clinical treatment decisions and other health related decisions.
Clinical Care Databases
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource combining broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics. Contains over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text that are written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to ensure that the content remains current. The expert faculty synthesizes the most recent medical information in order to provide users with specific, practical, evidence-based recommendations for diagnosis and treatment that have been proven to improve patient care and quality.
DynaMed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Written by a team of specialized physicians and researchers, content is updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research, providing practice-changing answers to clinical questions with optimized speed.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Include's Harrison's Online and Goodman and Gilman's Pharmacology. McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine.com is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources. Updated daily and expanded continuously, Access Medicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
ClinicalKey Flex
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.
Visual & Physical Exam Databases
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its 5th edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
VisualDx
VisualDx aids in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries. Engineered for use at the point of care, the VisualDx system allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication. The database covers more than 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions represented by nearly 30,000 images.
Drug Information
Micromedex
Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.
Hospitals can use Micromedex evidence and real-time clinical surveillance to proactively find and administer preventative care to high-risk patients to help prevent or mitigate Avoidable Drug Events, Hospital-Acquired Infections, and more.
Toxnet
Collection of toxicology and environmental health databases, hazardous chemicals and toxic releases. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine
NLM Drug Information Portal
This database, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, provides information on over 78 thousand drugs.
Image Databases
Harden Image Library
Freely available; all images in public domain.
Parasite Image Library
From the CDC
Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals, more than 33,000 books & over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Available images from the CDC -- most images in public domain.
uSearch
Directions to the Stacks
1) Go to the 2nd floor of Richter Library
2) If you're coming from the elevators go to your right. If you're coming from the stairs go straight toward the elevators across and take a left.
3) Look for the sign that says "Stacks Elevators" down the hall.
What is Evidence Based Medicine?
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) is the conscientious, explicit, judicious and reasonable use of modern, best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. EBM integrates clinical experience and patient values with the best available research information. (David Sackett, 1997).
Evidence-Based Public Health is defined as the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of the current best evidence in making decisions about the care of communities and populations in the domain of health protection, disease prevention, health maintenance and improvement (health promotion). It is the process of systematically finding, appraising, and using contemporaneous research findings as the basis for decisions in public health." (M. Jenicek (1997)
Clinical Questions, Study Design, & EBM Resource
Appraising the Evidence
- How to Critically Appraise an Article [Medscape]
- Critical Appraisal Worksheets [Duke University Medical Center Library]
- Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step [American Journal of Nursing]
- Evidence Appraisal [Winona State University]
- Evidence Updates from BMJ
Finding and using research evidence Summary Sheet.
Critical Appraisal Skill Programme (CASP): Produces simple critical appraisal checklists for different study designs. Each checklist covers validity, results, and clinical relevance of an article.
Duke University Appraisal Worksheets: Duke University's EBP Research Guide has a few appraisal worksheets you can use when analyzing studies.
Evidence Based Practice Resources
EBM Research Guide: This guide from George Washington University's Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library helps with identifying the different types of tudy design and levels of evidence
Understanding Research Study Designs: University of Minnesota Libraries' research guide includes information on the basic designs of research studies.
Point of Care Tools
DynaMed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Written by a team of specialized physicians and researchers, content is updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research, providing practice-changing answers to clinical questions with optimized speed.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource combining broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics. Contains over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text that are written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to ensure that the content remains current. The expert faculty synthesizes the most recent medical information in order to provide users with specific, practical, evidence-based recommendations for diagnosis and treatment that have been proven to improve patient care and quality.
Information for Healthcare Providers
MedlinePlus: Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions. Contains translated health information for non-English speakers.
Office of Minority Health: Excellent resource for basic information about health issues of minority groups in the U.S.
ethnoMED: Educates healthcare providers on clinical and cultural topics relevant to patient care and provides patients with tailored health resources.
Health Information Resources in Foreign Languages
MedlinePlus en Español: Medline has a Spanish version of its website for Spanish speaking populations.
Medline in Multiple Languages: You can browse health information in multiple languages fromt this website.
U.S. Data
U.S. Census State Profiles: Explore the the demographics of each state and learn about a state's education, income, health, and etc.
State Immigration Data Profiles: This website includes information the demographics, languages spoken, education, workforce, and income of immigrants in each U.S. state.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS): The U.S.'s principal health statistics agency providing insights into the health of people and how it has changed over time.
Health, United States: Provides national trends in health statistics. You can explore the latest analyses by topic.
HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention Atlas (NCHHSTP): You can request statistics from the years 1981-2002
AtlastPlus: You can view and track diseases by year, geography, and demographics.
Health & Human Services (HHS)
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS): The HHS has information on different programs, services, laws, and policies regarding the U.S.
Office of Minority Health: This government run website was created with the intention to "improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities."
Office on Women's Health (OWH): Created under the HHS, this office addresses critical women's health issues by informing and advancing policies to educate health care professionals and consumers. In their website you will find information about varying health topics that affect women.
Substancs Abuse and Mental Health Servuces Administration (SAMHSA): This website has information and statistics on a variety of topics concerning mental health and substance abuse.
National Institute of Health (NIH)
The following websites were all created or are associated with the National Institute of Health (NIH). The NIH website has general information on a variety of health topics while the other other two are more focused on mental health and drug abuse, respectively.
Databases
Statista
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Global Health Statistics
Global Public Health [UM Subject Guide]: This guide has more global health information and statistics under the "Statistics, Data, & Grey Literature" tab.
UNICEF Data - Child Statistics: This UNICEF website has data and statistics about children's health from varying countries.
World Bank: You can search for free and open access data by country and/or indicators.
World Health Organization (WHO) Data: Has worldwide data on varying health topics, it can also be broken down by country or health topic.
Other Resources
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ): Created to improve the safety and quality of healthcare for everyone by developing knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help consumers, healthcare professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions. You can find a variety of statistics and data under the "Data & Analytics" tab.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health: They conduct the National Survey of Children's Health, a semi-annual survey about children's mental and physical wellbeing. You can access the Data by going to the "Explore the Data".
HealthData.gov: Dedicated to making health data more accessible to the public
Kaiser Family Foundation: Here you will find information about policies affecting different health issues as well as statistics by state.
National Sample Survey of Registered Nurses: Has data on the state of the nursing workforce. On their dashboard you can explore by demographics, education, years, and etc.
U.S. Census Bureau: On the U.S. Census website you can find statistics about the demographics in the U.S. including past years.
Guidelines in Databases
CINAHL
1) On top bar, click on Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons type in the topic, condition, or procedure.
2) In Advanced Search, type the topic, then select Publication Type and select Practice Guidelines in the limiter section,
Clinical Key
Click on Guidelines menu next to the search box at the top. Search by organization name, specialty, or topic.
PubMed
1) Click on Additional Filters
2) Select Practice Guidelines and it will appear under Article Type.
3) Run search and click on the Practice Guideline filter
DynaMed or UpToDate
1) Type in condition, procedure, or etc. in the search box
2) Select one of the results
3) On the left handside under Topic Outline you will find Guidelines
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): You can use this website to search for comprehensive, science-based information on common or costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies.
American College of Physicians (ACP): Users can browse for clinical guidelines and best practice advice on selected health topics.
Center for Disease Control (CDC) Infection Control Guidelines: This page informs and provides further resources on how to prevent the spread of infections in healthcare settings.
Cincinnati Children's J. M. Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence: Here users will find a few evidence based care guidelines that were developed by Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center and created by xperts, patients and families to help pediatricians improve patient care.
CMA - Clinical Practice Guidelines: The Canadian Medical Association website has a vast list of guidelines on a variety of health topics.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT): Available through PubMed, HSTAT provides evidence reports on health services and technology assesments.
National Comprehensive Cancer Network Guidelines (NCCN): The NCCN provides several guidelines organized by cancer type.
US Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF): Users can browse or search for specific preventative guidelines for different health issues.
Veterans Affairs (VA) Clinical Practice Guidelines: The VA website has guidelines and resources to treat different health issues including chronic disease, mental health, rehabilitation and more.
Nursing History Online
Francis Liberty, Army Nurse Corps: Audio, video and text of interviews of Francis Liberty which chronicle her service in World War II, the Korean War, and Vietnam War. Includes escaping from a downed helicopter (with sense of humor intact).
Nurses in the U.S. Navy: Bibliography and Sources: Includes oral histories from WWII Navy nurses (nurse experience during Pearl Harbor attack, Navy hospital nurse, nurse prisoner of war, nurse serving in Philippines), historical photos and Uniform Regulation, Navy Nurse Corps, 1917.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics: An online exhibit from Harvard University Libraries' Open Collections Program, it tracks several outbreaks of contagious diseases using primary documentation. Highly recommended for its historical focus.
Black Nurses in History: A Bibliography and Guide to Web Resources: Originally created by Sharon Whitfield at CMSRU Library, this guide hosts a list of articles, books, and websites dedicated to prominent black nurses in history.
American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN): A professional organization dedicated to the importance and the understanding of the history of nursing.
Nurse Edith Cavell (1865-1915): A Norfolk Heroine: A website dedicated to Nurse Edith Cavell, a British nurse known for saving many lives of soldiers during World War I.
Archival Photos
At John Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland a nursing student is weighing a baby in the pediatrics ward. Photo from Library of Congress.
Nursing History Books
This list was adapted from Celebrating Nursing History : What to Keep by Margaret "Peg" Allen. The list can be found at the Nursing and Allied Health Resource Section of the Medical Library Association.
2003
1984
2000
A Librarian