Systematic Reviews subjectId: 690687

Systematic Reviews are a type of evidence synthesis review primarily used in healthcare that delivers a "meticulous summary of all available primary researach in response to a research question." The idea is to capture all existing research on a topic to arrive at a consensus. 

The key features of a systematic review are:

• clear aims with predetermined parameters for eligibility
• transparent and reproducible methods
• rigorous search designed to find all studies
• an assesment of the validity of the selected studies
• a systematic presentation and synthesis of the selected studies

Clarke, J. (2011). What is a systematic review? Evidence Based Nursing, 14(3), 64. https://doi.org/10.1136/ebn.2011.0049 

Below you will find links to other library guides about systematic and other evidence synthesis reviews.

• Systematic Review Guide [University of Texas]
• Scoping Review Guide [University of Texas]
• Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and other Knowledge Synthesis [McGill University]

Systematic Review

• Systematically and transparently collect and categorize existing evidence on a broad question of scientific, policy or management importance.
• Compares, evaluates, and synthesizes evidence in a search for the effect of an intervention. 
• Time-intensive and often take months to a year or more to complete. 
• The most commonly referred to type of evidence synthesis. Sometimes confused as a blanket term for other types of reviews.

​​Literature (Narrative) Review

• A broad term referring to reviews with a wide scope and non-standardized methodology. 
• Search strategies, comprehensiveness, and time range covered will vary and do not follow an established protocol.

​Scoping Review or Evidence Map

• Systematically and transparently collect and categorize existing evidence on a broad question of scientific, policy or management importance.
• Seeks to identify research gaps and opportunities for evidence synthesis rather than searching for the effect of an intervention. 
• May critically evaluate existing evidence, but does not attempt to synthesize the results in the way a systematic review would. (see EE Journal and CIFOR)
• May take longer than a systematic review.
• See Arksey and O'Malley (2005) for methodological guidance.

​Rapid Review

• Applies Systematic Review methodology within a time-constrained setting.
• Employs methodological "shortcuts" (limiting search terms for example) at the risk of introducing bias.
• Useful for addressing issues needing quick decisions, such as developing policy recommendations.
• See Evidence Summaries: The Evolution of a Rapid Review Approach

Umbrella Review

• Reviews other systematic reviews on a topic. 
• Often defines a broader question than is typical of a traditional systematic review.
• Most useful when there are competing interventions to consider.

Meta-analysis

• Statistical technique for combining the findings from disparate quantitative studies.
• Uses statistical methods to objectively evaluate, synthesize, and summarize results.
• May be conducted independently or as part of a systematic review.

* Adapted from Cornell University's A Guide to Conducting Systematic Reviews LibGuide.

Systematic vs. Scoping vs. Integrative Review [Duquesne University]

Munn, Z., Peters, M. D. J., Stern, C., Tufanaru, C., McArthur, A., & Aromataris, E. (2018). Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach. BMC Med Res Methodol, 18(1), 143. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12874-018-0611-x 

Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91-108. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x 

Think of what research topic you are interested in and create an answerable question. Your research question should be clear and focused, but not too specific or too broad. 

University of Tasmania Systematic Review Guide: This guide has various different frameworks you can use to create and develop your research question.

University of Texas Systematic Review Guide: a guide on how to to formulate and use frameworks for your research question.

Systematic Reviews of Complex Interventions: Framing the Review Question: an article on the best practice to creating a research question for complex interventions

Any researcher can register a protocol. If a publication or agency does not require one, submitting one is optional, but writing one as part of the process is fundamental. It helps plan and specify how you will navigate the systematic review process and stay on course

Systematic Reviews Protocols and Protocol Registries: The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has a dedicated page specifically for Systematic Reviews and further information about protocols

Hardin Library Protocol Worksheet: The University of Ioward Libraries created a protocol worksheet based on the PRISMA-P. This will help you develop your methodology.

Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR): Items C1-C23 will help you develop a protocol for your review. Overall, MECIR is a step-by-step guide on how to conduct a systematic review

PRISMA-P: This is a checklist to report your systematic review protocol

JBI Scoping Review Protocol: This section of the JBI handbook will help you develop your protocol for a scoping review

PROSPERO: PROSPERO accepts registrations for systematic reviews, rapid reviews and umbrella reviews

Open Science Framework: The OSF is used to register scoping reviews.

It's important to know if the SR you're doing has been done already to avoid duplication. You can search protocols of SRs on the following databases

• PROSPERO
• Cochrane Library
• Campbell Collaboration
• DARE
• Trip

Apart from checking these protocol databases, search UM Library databases like PubMed, CINAHL, or PsycINFO.

Joanna Briggs Institution Manual for Evidence Synthesis: This manual guides authors who want to conduct systematic and scoping reviews using the JBI methodologies.

PRISMA: Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) has its own website where you can access the reporting guidelines as well as the extensions for protocols, searching, sciping reviews, among others.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews: This handbook has detailed information about conducting systematic reviews as recommended by Cochrane. 

Cochrane Interactive Learning Modules: This is an online course offered to all UML users. This is a great introduction for new authors interested in conducting a systematic review.

Scoping Reviews: What They Are and How You Can Do Them: A collection of videos that define scoping reviews with examples, and the steps to conducting a review. You can also access the slides from presentation here.

PRISMA-ScR: This PRISMA extension is a checklist used to report scoping reviews.

Joanna Briggs Institution Scoping Reviews: The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis, section 10 is dedicated to developing and conducting scoping reviews.

Overview of PRIMARY Excel Workbook for SR: Created by the University of Texas, this is a PDF guide on how to track your search data using Excel.

Saving Search Strategies with PRIMARY Excel Workbook for SR: Created by the University of Texas, this is PDF guide will help you keep track of your search strategy using Excel.

Hirsh Health Sciences Library: Use the Search Term Chart to organize, save, and track the terms used in your search strategy.

Equator Network: Provides reporting guidelines for different types of reviews according to study type

Grey literature is information not commercially published.

"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by library holdings or institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers i.e., where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." 

From the Second International Conference for Grey Literature in 2010

Grey literature includes but is not limited to:

• Reports from government agencies, organizations, societies, etc. (exp: CDC)
• Primary Resources: Manuscripts, Notes, Letters, Diaries, etc.
• Professional and Special Interest Groups
• Health Institutes
• Research Centers
• Conference proceedings
• Listservs
• Blogs
• Emails
• Newsletters
• Theses & Dissertations

For a full list of Grey Literature Documents visit GreyNet.org

• BioMed Central (BMC)
• BMJ (British Medical Journal collection)
• CADTH (Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health)
• CADTH - Grey Matters
• U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS.gov)
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
• ClinicalTrials.gov
• Disaster Information Research Center
• Health & Medical Resources (Florida Atlantic University Libraries)
• Healthy People 2020 & 2030
• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
• PEDro
• PubMed Central (PMC)
• Rutgers Government Information
• SciELO Open publishing model from Latin and South America.
• Sigma Respository
• World Health Organization (WHO)
• Trip Medical database for Evidence Based Practice material: journals, guidelines, sys. reviews, etc.
• WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
• New York Academy of Medicine | Grey Lit Publishers List

AIDS.gov: This website provides relevant information on a variety of HIV related topics like statistics, policies, programs, and resources across the U.S. government

HIV Source: This website is a portal for HIV related information found within and outside of the U.S. federal governement as well as other countries.

CDC HIV: The CDC has their own pages dedicated to information about HIV/AIDS

CDC's NCHHSTP: The CDC's National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and Tuberculosis Prevention (NCHHSTP) has the AtlasPlus app where you can view and track diseases by year, geography, and demographics.

CDC COVID Data Tracker: The CDC has been tracking COVID-19 infections in the United States and offers more information on COVID-19 related topics.

COVID END: This was a time-limited network that brought together the world's leading research groups to cover the needs of the pandemic response for public-health and clinical settings.

COVID 19 Research Guide: The Calder Library at the Miller School of Medicine has an entire guide dedicated to COVID-19 and the resources available. 

MedlinePlus - Health Disparities: This website has an introductory information on health disparities accompanied by research articles, websites, and statistics on the topic.

U.S. Department of Health - Office of Minority Health:This government run website 

EthnoMED: This website provides information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and other immigrant health related topics.

PROTOCOLS

JBI Scoping Review Protocol: This section of the JBI handbook will help you develop your protocol for a scoping review

PRISMA-ScR: Under this PRISMA extension you will find the guidelines for reporting a scoping review protocol

METHODS

Scoping Reviews: What They Are and How You Can Do Them: A collection of videos that define scoping reviews with examples, and the steps to conducting a review. You can also access the slides from presentation here.

PRISMA-ScR: This PRISMA extension is a checklist used to report scoping reviews.

Joanna Briggs Institution Scoping Reviews: The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis, section 10 is dedicated to developing and conducting scoping reviews.

PROTOCOLS

Systematic Reviews Protocols and Protocol Registries: The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has a dedicated page specifically for Systematic Reviews and further information about protocols

Hardin Library Protocol Worksheet: The University of Ioward Libraries created a protocol worksheet based on the PRISMA-P. This will help you develop your methodology.

Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR): Items C1-C23 will help you develop a protocol for your review. Overall, MECIR is a step-by-step guide on how to conduct a systematic review.

PRISMA-P: This is a checklist to report your systematic review protocol

METHODS

Joanna Briggs Institution Manual for Evidence Synthesis: This manual guides authors who want to conduct systematic and scoping reviews using the JBI methodologies.

PRISMA: Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) is a checklist used for reporting systematic reviews and meta-analysis. It has its own website where you can access the reporting guidelines as well as the extensions for protocols, searching, scoping reviews, among others.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews: This handbook has detailed information about conducting systematic reviews as recommended by Cochrane. 

Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR): MECIR provides a step by step checklist of standards with links to addtional information for conducting a systematic review or meta-analysis

Overview of PRIMARY Excel Workbook for SR: Created by the University of Texas, this is a PDF guide on how to track your search data using Excel.

Saving Search Strategies with PRIMARY Excel Workbook for SR: Created by the University of Texas, this is PDF guide will help you keep track of your search strategy using Excel.

Hirsh Health Sciences Library: Use the Search Term Chart to organize, save, and track the terms used in your search strategy.

Equator Network: Provides reporting guidelines for different types of reviews according to study type

Critical Appraisal Worksheets: These worksheets from the Duke University Medical Center Library will help you determine which articles are good to include in your review.

JBI Critical Appraisal Tools: JBI’s critical appraisal tools assist in assessing the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers.

Cochrane Risk of Bias Tool (RoB 2): This tool is used to asses the risk of bias in randomized trials.

Newcastle-Ottawa Scale (NOS): This tool is used to asses the risk of bias in non-randomized studies. On the website they have a manual and a scale to follow.

QUADAS-2: This is a quality assessment tool for diagnostic accuracy studies and recommended for Systematic Reviews.

AMSTAR-2: Standing for A MeaSurement Tool to Assess systematic Reviews, AMSTAR aims to to help create high-quality reviews by focusing on their methodological quality.

Cochrane Interactive Learning is a an online course offered to all University of Miami Libraries users. Using the Cochrane methodology, the course is perfect for new and experienced review authors alike. It's a great introduction to systematic review for new authors while also offering more insight to the process for experienced authors. 

ON CAMPUS REGISTRATION 
1. Go to Cochrane Interactive Learning
2. Click New Users & Subscribers
3. Use the Please Log In or Create an Account button to create a Cochrane account or connect an exising accountto the University's subscription

Download this step-by-step guide as PDF.

To register for a Cochrane Account Off-Campus you must register with a UM email address 

• @med.miami.edu
• @rsmas.miami.edu
• @miami.edu

1. Go to https://training.cochrane.org/interactivelearning
2. Click New Users and Subscribers to register
3. On the course registration and subscription options page, the pricing information is for information only. You will not be charged. Scroll down to Institutional Access and click Please Log in or Create an Account.
4. If you already have a Cochrane Account, log in. Go to step 8
5. If you do not have a Cochrane Account, please click Sign Up Now on the account login page and complete the sign-up form. 

Please note that you should register for your Cochrane Account using the UM email address validated for access to Cochrane Interactive Learning.

6. Look out for an email titled 'Cochrane Account: action required' which contains a link to activate your account. Please check your junk or spam folder in case this is misdirected.
7. When you have activated your account, you will return to the Cochrane Interactive Learning registration page. 
8. You will see a notification that your email address has been validated and your registration enabled by your organization. No payment is required.

For instructions with images see this page.

 
Covidence is a web-based software designed to facilitate systematic review projects. With this software, systematic review teams can screen citations, full text review, risk of bias, and etc for a systematic review. 

UM subscribes to Covidence for UM students, faculty, and staff. 

VIDEOS

• Covidence Video Tutorial
• Covidence YouTube Channel
• Covidence Webinars

GUIDES & FAQ

• Calder Covidence Guide
• Covidence Help Guide

You can create your personal sign in information with Covidence before or after joining the institutional subscription. To request access to the institutional account in Covidence, you must use your currnt UM email address (i.e. @miami.edu)

1. Go to the Covidence sign-up page
2. Enter your information using your UM email and click “Request Invitation” link
3. Accept the invitation in your email
4. Log in to your existing Covidence account or sign up for a new account
5. If you have already joined the University of Miami Libraries’ Covidence account, then you can log into Covidence and with your email and password and proceed to use Covidence

1. Once logged in click on "Start a new review". You have the option to use your personal account or UM account to create a review. 
2. Reviews created under the UM account can be seen by administrators of the University of Miami Libraries Covidence account. The reviews under your personal account will only be seen by you. 
3. Once you have have created or accepted an invitation to another UM account review, the titles will appear in separate sections of your homepage as seen below