Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690703
visibleTabCount: 5
Welcome
Welcome to Richter Library's Resource Guide for the Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Training (MHRT)
This guide is a great tool for your research needs for the Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Training program with the School of Nursing and Health Studies. For more information on systematic reviews or citation management, click on the corresponding tabs above.
Contact Librarian
-
Saily Marrero
Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
Please provide a brief description of the topics or issues you would like to discuss during our consultation.
-
-
Ask a Librarian
Latin American & Caribbean Health Databases
Latin American and Caribbean Literature in Health Sciences (LILACS)
Full text and indexed articles from Latin American peer-reviewed journals and theses and dissertations. Most abstracts in Spanish/English or Portuguese/English. Full text in Spanish or Portuguese.
Biblioteca Virtual de Salud: Desarrollo Sostenible y Salud Ambiental
This portal, part of the World Health Organization's Biblioteca Virtual de Salud, brings together peer-reviewed articles, legislature, websites, and institutional information about the topic of "reducing health risks and promoting healthy environments where people live, study, work and play as an integral element of human security and sustainable development."
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
Direct link to PAHO's publications related to public health issues in the Americas.
Statistics
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
INEGI
Has statistics and information on Mexico's population, resources, economy, and health topics.
Research Databases
PubMed
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.
Embase
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature database that provides over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conferences covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. It includes full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data, supported by the Embase thesaurus Emtree, which facilitates precise searching so users may find the answers they need to their research questions.
Biological Science (ProQuest)
This service indexes theoretical and applied research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and related resources in the biological sciences. MEDLINE and TOXLINE are included in the search.
Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
What is Grey Literature?
Grey literature is information not commercially published.
"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by library holdings or institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers i.e., where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body."
From the Second International Conference for Grey Literature in 2010
What are some examples of grey literature?
Grey literature includes but is not limited to:
- Reports from government agencies, organizations, societies, etc. (exp: CDC)
- Primary Resources: Manuscripts, Notes, Letters, Diaries, etc.
- Professional and Special Interest Groups
- Health Institutes
- Research Centers
- Conference proceedings
- Listservs
- Blogs
- Emails
- Newsletters
- Theses & Dissertations
For a full list of Grey Literature Documents visit GreyNet.org
Health Department Websites
Health Information Resources in Foreign Languages
MedlinePlus en Español: Medline has a Spanish version of its website for Spanish speaking populations.
Medline in Multiple Languages: You can browse health information in multiple languages fromt this website.
Information for Healthcare Providers
MedlinePlus: Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions. Contains translated health information for non-English speakers.
Office of Minority Health: Excellent resource for basic information about health issues of minority groups in the U.S.
ethnoMED: Educates healthcare providers on clinical and cultural topics relevant to patient care and provides patients with tailored health resources.
A Librarian