Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690634
visibleTabCount: 9
Welcome to Richter Library's Resources Guide for Psychology! This guide is a great tool for finding information for research, collecting articles for classes, and broadening your knowledge of Psychology. Each tab contains current and relevent resources for assisting you in collecting the best information for your project, interest, or research.
Welcome
Welcome to Richter Library's Resources Guide for Psychology! This guide is a great tool for finding information for research, collecting articles for classes, and broadening your knowledge of Psychology. Each tab contains current and relevent resources for assisting you in collecting the best information for your project, interest, or research.
Subject Specialist
-
Saily Marrero
Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
Please provide a brief description of the topics or issues you would like to discuss during our consultation.
Research Databases
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized site for searching the ERIC bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of more than 1.6 million items indexed since 1966.
PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
Oxford Clinical Psychology
Oxford Clinical Psychology provides full-text access to over 300 titles in Oxford's global clinical psychology publishing program in an integrated online service. Covering a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities, Oxford Clinical Psychology enables users to search and browse high-quality research and practice information.
Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an online tool for research designed to guide users through every step of the research process. It includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, while the Methods Map is meant to help find the best research technique, with answers that range from a quick answer found in a dictionary to case studies, teaching datasets, and full-text titles.
Clinical Decision Support Databases
PsychiatryOnline
American Psychiatric Association Publishing is the world's premier publisher of books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science. We offer authoritative, up-to-date and affordable information geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, medical students and the general public. Includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)-5
DynaMed
DynaMed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Written by a team of specialized physicians and researchers, content is updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research, providing practice-changing answers to clinical questions with optimized speed.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource combining broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics. Contains over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text that are written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to ensure that the content remains current. The expert faculty synthesizes the most recent medical information in order to provide users with specific, practical, evidence-based recommendations for diagnosis and treatment that have been proven to improve patient care and quality.
ClinicalKey Flex
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.
uSearch
uSearch Guides
DSM-5
The DSM-5 is a manual published by the American Psychiatric Association and covers all mental health disorders for both children and adults. The DSM-5 also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning the optimal treatment approaches. The University of Miami Libraries provides multiple sources of access to this resource.
The DSM-5 is available through Psychiatry Online
eBook Collections
eBook Central
Provides access to over 100,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the ebrary reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own ebrary account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles. iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
National Academy Press Digital Library
The National Academy Press is a searchable multidisciplinary digital library of full-text book length research studies and policy reports by leading experts in their fields. Hundreds of titles are available in PDF or HTML format. Readers are able to search the full-text of one or all publications; search all titles; browse by subject category.
Directions to the Stacks
1) Go to the 2nd floor of Richter Library
2) If you're coming from the elevators go to your right. If you're coming from the stairs go straight toward the elevators across and take a left.
3) Look for the sign that says "Stacks Elevators" down the hall.
Book List
Note
Instruments (tests, scales, etc.) for measuring behaviors, attitudes, etc. are often available commercially and must be purchased to access and use. UM Libraries does not purchase these items. It advises students and faculty to include the expense in research funding applications or request purchase through the department.
Tutorials for searching for & evaluating tests, measures University of British Columbia
Test & Measurement Databases
PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Provides descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior. The information can assist researchers and others in locating a variety of instruments used in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, education, and library and information science. The service contains primary and secondary material, such as checklists, interview schedules, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
Tests & Measurements on the Web
ETS Test Link
Follow the instructions on the Advanced Search screen to Search for a Downloadable Test
NIH Toolbox
Set of brief measures - many freely available in full text - for assessing cognitive, emotional, motor and sensory function from ages 3 to 85.
Psychological Tests
Offers links to many organizations, websites, and tools that provide access to tests; information about tests; and other resources.
Testing and Assessment
An older website with links to many different psychological tests.
York University Psychology Resource Center
This Center offers an extensive collection of measurement resources. Use the tabs to explore it.
Follow the instructions on the Advanced Search screen to Search for a Downloadable Test
NIH Toolbox
Set of brief measures - many freely available in full text - for assessing cognitive, emotional, motor and sensory function from ages 3 to 85.
Psychological Tests
Offers links to many organizations, websites, and tools that provide access to tests; information about tests; and other resources.
Testing and Assessment
An older website with links to many different psychological tests.
York University Psychology Resource Center
This Center offers an extensive collection of measurement resources. Use the tabs to explore it.
Dissertation Databases
Scholarship@Miami
The Scholarly Repository features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK and Ireland content.
What is Evidence Based Practice (EBP)?
According to the American Psychological Association (APA), evidence based practice (EBP) in Psychology is as follows:
"Evidence-based practice is the integration of the best available research with clinical expertise in the context of patient characteristics, culture and preferences." (APA, 2008)
The APA's Policy Statement on Evidence Based Practice in Psychology (EBPP) further elaborates that:
"The purpose of EBPP is to promote effective psychological practice and enhance public health by applying empirically supported principles of psychological assessment, case formulation, therapeutic relationship, and intervention." (APA, 2006)
Study Designs
Appraisal Worksheets
Use the following worksheets to help you evaluate articles for quality and risk of bias.
Critical Appraisal Skill Programme (CASP): Produces simple critical appraisal checklists for different study designs. Each checklist covers validity, results, and clinical relevance of an article.
Dartmouth Libraries EBM Checklists: Dartmouth University's EBM Research Guide has appraisal worksheets by study design you can use to evaluate studies.
Duke University Appraisal Worksheets: Duke University's EBP Research Guide has appraisal worksheets you can use to evaluate studies.
Evidence Based Medicine Toolbox Worksheets: The EBM Toolbox website has example scenarios and worksheets you can download to evaluate studies.
EBM Calculators: The EBM Toolbox website has EBM calculators that help you calculate statistics, odds ratio, and etc.
Databases for Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Library
Collection of health databases providing independent evidence to inform clinical treatment decisions and other health related decisions.
PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
Embase
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature database that provides over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conferences covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day.
Further Reading
APA Presidental Task Force Evidence-Based Practice. (2006). Evidence-Based Practice in Psychology. The American Psychologist, 61(4), 271–285. https://doi.org/10.1037/0003-066X.61.4.271
American Pscyhological Association. (2008). Evidence-Based Practice in Psychology. American Pscyhological Association. https://www.apa.org/practice/resources/evidence
David, D., Lynn, S. J., Montgomery, G., & Wiley InterScience. (2018). Evidence-based psychotherapy : the state of the science and practice (D. David, S. J. Lynn, & G. Montgomery, Eds.). John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Student Resources
- APA Resources for Students
- Psi Chi (International Honor Society for Psychology)
A Librarian