Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690697
Welcome
Roberts, S. & Sandlin, D. (2012). What do you say to an alien? The New York Times.
Welcome to the PSY 272 class guide! This page is specifically designed to assist with PSY 272 assignments. Look through the tabs on the left hand side of the page to explore this research guide. If you can’t find what you’re looking for or need further help feel free to contact the librarian or Ask-A-Librarian, the orange box the right hand side!
The Jackie Gleason Collection
The University of Miami Libraries Special Collections department has the The Jackie Gleason Collection which consists of materials on topics such as UFOs, witchcraft, cryptozoology, the paranormal, ghosts, and etc.
Citation Managers
UM offers its students, faculty, and staff free access to several citation management software. For more information please look at our Citation Guide.
Writing Center
The Writing Center can assist students with various writing projects at any stage in their writing process. Click on the link for more information or to schedule an appointment with them.
Subject Specialist
Boolean Operators
- Using AND will reteieve articles with BOTH terms
- OR will retrieve articles with EITHER term
- NOT will eliminate articles containing the SECOND term.
Psychology Databases
PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES
A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized site for searching the ERIC bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of more than 1.6 million items indexed since 1966.
Biomedical Databases
PubMed
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
CINAHL Plus
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
Science Databases
Natural Medicines
Natural Medicines provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies.
Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Book List
Historical Newspapers
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers is a comprehensive database designed to enable searching and browsing American newspapers published over three centuries. The collection is continually expanding and provides access to digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all fifty states.
American History
Includes two modules (Module I- Settlement, Commerce, Revolution, and Reform: 1493-1859 and Module II- Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945). This collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
This database is the largest collection of fully searchable 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers in this region. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this collection showcases the evolution of the region across two centuries chronicled within more than 140 titles from 22 islands and will prove essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics
Gale: Primary Sources
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all Gale primary source collections.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 is a compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
New York Times Digital Edition
Note: New users must create an individual account using their University of Miami email address. Existing users must re-register annually to maintain access. Account holders may then log in on any device at NYTimes.com.
NewsBank Full Text Newspapers
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Book List
1970
Multidisciplinary Databases
America: History and Life
America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
Anthropology Plus
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index: 1957-present and Anthropological Literature: Late 19th century to present
AnthroSource
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the AAA. Anthropology News is provided to individual members of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as part of their membership. All issues from 1996 and earlier are archived in JSTOR.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
HathiTrust
UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
WorldCat.org
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
A Librarian