University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

PSY 601: Issues in Professional Development & Research

Welcome

Welcome to the PSY 601: Issues in Professional Development & Research class guide! This page is specifically designed to assist with your assignments for PSY 601. Look throughout this page for resources provided by the University of Miami Libraries. If you can’t find what you’re looking for or need further help feel free to contact the librarian or Ask-A-Librarian!

Related Guides

Subject Specialist

  • Saily Marrero

    Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian

    sxm1838@miami.edu

Ask a Librarian

Writing Center

The Writing Center can assist students with various writing projects, click on the link for more information or to schedule an appointment with them.

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES
A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Supplementary Databases

Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

CINAHL Plus
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.

PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.

DSM-5

PsychiatryOnline
Includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)-5 American Psychiatric Association Publishing is the world's premier publisher of books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science. We offer authoritative, up-to-date and affordable information geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, medical students and the general public.

Tests & Measurements

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Provides descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior. The information can assist researchers and others in locating a variety of instruments used in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, education, and library and information science. The service contains primary and secondary material, such as checklists, interview schedules, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.