Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690858
visibleTabCount: 8
Questions? Ask Me!
-
Sara Manus
Director of the Marta and Austin Weeks Music Library
she/her/hers
305-284-9884
NEW: Frost Graduate Writing Group
Are you looking for support during the capstone project? Meeting in the Weeks Music Library, the Frost Graduate Writing Group offers a dedicated time to work on your capstone project, participate in peer review with other graduate students, and receive research support from librarian faculty. Register for the group at this link.
Purchase Requests
The Weeks Music Library welcomes material recommendations from UM students, faculty, and staff. Please fill out this purchase request form to recommend books, scores, or recordings for the collection.
Core Databases for Music Research
The Music Index provides citations for 882 international scholarly, popular, and trade journals and magazines. It indexes articles, book reviews, recording reviews, and live performance reviews.
The Music Periodicals Database indexes journal literature in all areas of music. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals. Coverage includes recording and performance reviews of both popular and classical music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive, global bibliography of writings about music. RILM Abstracts currently indexes and abstracts scholarly music publications from 184 different countries, featuring content in 140 languages. RILM supports interdisciplinary scholarship by tracking music focused writings in anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, dance studies, dramatic arts, librarianship, literature, pedagogy, philosophy, physics, psychology, sociology, and therapy. Coverage dates from the early 20th century to the present, and includes journal articles, book chapters, books, reviews, editorials, obituaries, advertising, and news.
New Books on Music Education
Education Databases
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
ERIC(Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This education database indexes English language articles in periodicals and books. Selected full-text coverage of articles begins in January 1996. Abstracts are provided beginning in January 1994. Books coverage begins in 1995.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
University of Miami Electronic Theses and Dissertations
Provides a searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format. The Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) program is a joint effort between the Graduate School and the University of Miami Libraries. The University of Miami ETD site provides a publicly available, searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format.
Library Services
Data & Visualization Services - Part of the UM Libraries' Research and Open Scholarship unit, Data & Visualization Services offer a broad range of services and software tools for students and faculty.
- Book a Consultation - Use this link to book an appointment with librarian faculty; Cameron Riopelle, Director of Research Data & Open Scholarship, is the best choice for assistance with data analysis/visualization.
- Analyzing Data - This site contains a complete list of the software/languages supported by Data & Visualization Services.
- Workshops - The UM Libraries host The Digital Research Toolkit: Workshops on Data, Analytics, Research Tools, Visualizations, and GIS. Sessions are held throughout the semester and typically include a Zoom option.
Other Librarian Faculty Experts - The UM Libraries' have many other subject specialist librarians that are available for consultation.
- Lily de la Fuente - Humanities Librarian
- Lauren Fralinger- Head, Richter Library Learning and Research Services; subject specialist for education and sociology.
- Saily Marrero - Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
Other Services and Support
The Writing Center - Part of the Department of Writing Studies, the Writing Center offers one-on-one consultations for students and faculty. The Writing Center offers help at any stage of the writing process.
Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETD) Formatting Support - This research guide provides formatting requirements for ETDs and an updated formatting template.
Graduate School, Electronic Theses and Dissertations - This website provides graduate students with information on the ETD process, defense and submission guidelines, formatting the ETD, defense day essentials, post-defense essentials, and copyright and publishing information.
A Librarian