University of Miami Libraries Guide for Researchers subjectId: 690704

This guide is intended for researchers at the University of Miami. It may also be helpful to researchers at other institutions, though some resources are limited to UM users per licensing agreements.

Scholarship@Miami is the institutional repository and research information hub for the University of Miami, featuring selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff of the university and profiles of all University of Miami faculty and affiliated researchers. 

Connect & Create Your ORCID iD

Follow these steps to enable the University of Miami to connect with your ORCID account, or to create and then connect an account.

The Research Navigator is a concierge service that connects researchers to the right resources at UM. Email the Research Navigator at Navigator@miami.edu.

The Research Compass is a dynamic new tool designed to guide you to the resources you need to make research and scholarship happen at the University of Miami.

ClinicalTrials.gov: Learn About Clinical Studies

Government database that contains a registry and results of federally and privately supported clinical trials. This guide explains what clinical research is and how it is conducted.

Elsevier's Research Academy

Elsevier's online portal covering the research process, from study design to publication.

How to Design a Research Study

Emerald Publishing's comprehensive guide on how to design a research study, from choosing the appropriate methodological approach to sampling techniques and much more.

National Science Foundation: A Guide for Proposal Writing

These suggestions for improving proposals were collected from a variety of sources, including NSF Program Directors, panel reviewers, and successful grantees. While this Guide may provide valuable information for proposal writing in general, it was specifically prepared for programs in Division of Undergraduate Education.

NIH Strategy for Research Funding (NAIAD)

To secure funding for an NIH grant, you'll need sound guidance and a solid strategy. The Strategy takes you through all the steps from qualifying for NIH support to staying funded. Even more, it gives you specific "to do's" so you're prepared at every stage. Produced by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

UResearch (University of Miami Office of Research Administration): Research Road Map

UResearch portal is an integrated network of administrative support and educational opportunities to facilitate scholarly activity, scientific discovery, and the responsible conduct of research. Serves the UResearch community in all campuses. The Research Road Map was developed to assist the UM community to navigate its research enterprise.

Candid (Foundation Center)

Maintains an extensive database of U.S. grant makers and their grants, offering free resources through five regional libraries and a network of over 400 funding information centers.

Funding at the National Science Foundation

A guide to finding funding, preparing your proposal and submitting your proposal.

Grants.gov

Grants.gov provides an overview of the process to apply for federal grants. In order to apply for a grant, you and/or your organization must complete the Grants.gov registration process. SEARCH Grants.gov for your federal grants by keywords or more specific criteria.

GrantForward.com

Search for funding opportunities spread across 39 subject areas and 2009 categories. Large Database of Sponsors comprising Foundation, Federal and Institutions. Set up alerts and get opportunities delivered straight to your inbox.

National Endowment for the Arts Grants 

Includes a first time applicant guide, an overview of the grant review process, a list of initiatives, and more.

National Endowment for the Humanities

Search all NEH grant programs and view past awards.

National Science Foundation Funding Search

A database to search for funding opportunities from the NSF.

NIH Grants and Funding

The Office of Extramural Research provides the leadership, oversight, tools and guidance needed to administer and manage NIH grants policies and operations. This website provides guidance on the process of finding grants and funding.

NIH RePORTER

Descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services. Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.

Training opportunities are available to the University research community.  Please view the calendar for upcoming classes.  Registration for training events is through ULearn.

The ORA Newsletter is published quarterly.

Past ORA announcements are archived.

Pivot is a database of currently available grants, prizes, awards and other funding opportunities for researchers and scholars.

Note: Off-campus users: please sign up for a new account at  https://pivot.proquest.com/register using your miami.edu email address.

Google Scholar@UM

Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly literature with direct links to University of Miami Library resources. It allows you to explore peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles across many disciplines from various academic sources. If you're on the UM campus or select "University of Miami Libraries" in Scholar Preferences, your results will include direct links to UM resources. For subscription-based content, you'll be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.

ORCID

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized.

ResearchGate

ResearchGate is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators.

Scholarship@Miami

The institutional repository and research information hub for the University of Miami. Contains select full text research and scholarly works by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami and the Miller School of Medicine.

Scopus

A database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles published since 1996, covering nearly 18,000 titles from the arts, medicine, physical sciences, and the social sciences. Switch to the "Researcher Discovery" tab and search by research topic.

Web of Science

The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search. Switch to the "Researchers" tab to search by name.

UResearch (University of Miami Office of Research)

UResearch portal is an integrated network of administrative support and educational opportunities to facilitate scholarly activity, scientific discovery, and the responsible conduct of research. Serves the UResearch community in all campuses.

UM Human Subjects Research Office (HSRO & IRB)

The Human Subject Research Office (HSRO) provides administrative support for the University of Miami institutional review boards (IRBs). An institutional review board is a group of individuals comprised of faculty, staff and community members charged with reviewing proposed research involving human subjects to ensure the protection of those subjects and compliance with applicable federal regulations, state law and institutional policy that govern human subject research.

A UM Research Compliance & Quality Assurance

The offices support and help clinical and translational investigators to comply with national and international regulations and guidelines from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), International Conference on Harmonisation-Good Clinical Practice (ICH-GCP), European Medicines Agency (EMA), as well as state laws and local policies and procedures.

Office for Human Research Protections - US DHHS

The Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) provides leadership in the protection of the rights, welfare, and wellbeing of subjects involved in research conducted or supported by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). OHRP helps ensure this by providing clarification and guidance, developing educational programs and materials, maintaining regulatory oversight, and providing advice on ethical and regulatory issues in biomedical and social-behavioral research.

The Nelson Memo provides policy guidance to federal agencies with research and development expenditures on updating their public access policies:

The Nelson Memo provides policy guidance to federal agencies with research and development expenditures on updating their public access policies:

1. Update their public access policies as soon as possible, and no later than December 31st, 2025, to make publications and their supporting data resulting from federally funded research publicly accessible without an embargo on their free and public release;

2. Establish transparent procedures that ensure scientific and research integrity is maintained in public access policies; and,

3. Coordinate with OSTP to ensure equitable delivery of federally funded research results and data

What is the NIH Public Access Policy?

The Policy implements Division G, Title II, Section 218 of PL 110-161 (Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2008) which states:

The Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH-funded research.It requires researchers to submit journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central.

For more information on the NIH Public Access Policy, see the Calder Library's Guide for Researchers.

NSF Public Access FAQ
What is the NSF Public Access Policy?

The NSF requires that either the version of record or the final accepted manuscript in peer-reviewed scholarly journals and papers in juried conference proceedings or transactions (also known as “juried conference papers”) be deposited in a public access compliant repository designated by NSF; be available for download, reading and analysis free of charge no later than 12 months after initial publication; possess a minimum set of machine-readable metadata elements in a metadata record to be made available free of charge upon initial publication; be managed to ensure long-term preservation; and be reported in annual and final reports during the period of the award with a persistent identifier that provides links to the full text of the publication as well as other metadata elements.
For more information, see section 3.1 of “Today’s Data, Tomorrow’s Discoveries: Increasing Access to the Results of Research Funded by the National Science Foundation,” at https://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2015/nsf15052/nsf15052.pdf.

For detailed guidelines, see section 3.1 of Today’s Data, Tomorrow’s Discoveries.

Open Access Funding at UM

The University of Mami Libraries have established publishing agreements (some are pilot programs) which provide researchers with qualifying articles the possibility of APC funding.

DOAJ - The Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ works to to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals.  Listed journals must meet the DOAJ quality and integrity standards. Look up journals by topic, easlity see Journal processing fees and copyright/reuse policies.

JANE - The Journal/Author Name Estimator

Enter keywords or an entire abstract and JANE will suggest journals by comparing your input to millions of documents in PubMed to find the matching journals.

Master Journal List Manuscript Matcher

Curated tool to help you to find the right journal for your needs across multiple indices hosted on the Web of Science platform.

Scopus Journal Analyzer

Provides insight into journal performance and compares journal rankings.

SPI-Hub

The Vanderbilt Univesity Medical Center's Center for Knowledge Management. This tool attempts to provide authors with information on journal quality, rigor, and transparency to aid informed decision making on publishing venues.

Springer Journal Suggester

Enter your manuscript details to see a list of Springer journals suitable for your research. Filter by open access status, impact factor, and more.

Think, Check, Submit

The Think, Check, Submit process will help you discover what you need to know when assessing whether or not a journal is a suitable venue for your research.

Where to Publish Your Research: Identifying Potential Journals

A guide from the Duquesne University Library

Open Access Publishing Guide 

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories.

SCOPUS

Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.

Web of Science Citation Indexes

Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database providing access to over 8,000 key research journals. It covers the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
You can search the database in two main ways:

1. General Search: Find articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation.
2. Cited Reference Search: Locate articles that cite a specific author or article.

Web of Science also offers citation searching, email alerts, and links to the full text of many items.

Google Scholar @ UM

Google Scholar @ UM lets you search for scholarly literature with direct links to University of Miami Library resources. It covers a wide range of sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from various academic publishers and organizations.

If you're on the UM campus or have selected University of Miami Libraries in Scholar Preferences, you'll see direct links to UM resources. For subscription content, you'll need to log in with your CaneID username and password.
 

Impact Factor

Measure of the number of times an average paper in a journal is cited, during a year. Impact factor ranges and averages vary by discipline but, overall, higher impact factor values denote a journal has a greater impact. Used only for journals.

H-Index

Standard scholarly metric in which the number of published papers, and the number of times their author is cited, is put into relation. Overall, a higher h-index denotes an author or journal has been cited more often than a lower h-index. Used for researchers and journals.

Altmetrics

Short for "alternative metrics," used to describe non-traditional/emerging methods of research output, such as shares on social media sites. Used for individual publications.