Mathematics subjectId: 690677

Hello and welcome to the Mathematics Research Guide! You will find information on how to get started with your research along with available resources at the University of Miami Libraries and beyond. Click on the different tabs at the top of the guide to learn more on each topic. Throughout this guide there are sections labelled, "Diverse Voices." There is a lack of diversity in STEM and the "Diverse Voices" sections highlight resources/contributions from underrepresented groups as well as information regarding the lack of representation in STEM. This guide is not exhaustive and if you find resources you think would be a great addition or if you have questions please email me.

Ready to start searching?
uSearch allows you to discover materials from all University of Miami Libraries.

Need help with uSearch?
The uSearch Guide will help you with searching.

Not finding what you want in uSearch?
Through an interlibrary loan you can borrow items outside of UM.

Is the library open?
Different library hours are posted on this page.

Off Campus?
A Virtual Private Network (VPN) will let you connect to resources while away.

Are you an undergraduate?
Undergraduate Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for undergraduates, many of which are online.

Are you a graduate?
Graduate Essentials has recommended resources at the library for graduate students, many of which are online.

Are you faculty?
Faculty Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for faculty, many of which are online.

David H. Blackwell
Alberto P. Calderon
Katherine Johnson Biography
Maryam Mirzakhani
Mary G. Ross
Shing-Tung Yau
Alan Turing
Women in STEM


 

There are different article types found in the below databases and eJournal collections.
 

• Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.
• Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 
• Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

• MathSciNet
  Access to the Mathematical Reviews Database and Current Mathematical Publications,including literature reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information.
• Web of Science Citation Indexes
  Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
• arXiv
  E-print depository that covers a broader range of physics publications as well as math and computer science.
• zbMATH
  Indexes worldwide mathematics and computer sciences literature with a special emphasis on applications.
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
• Full List of Mathematics Databases
  

• 12 Asian Scientists and their Impact on STEM
• 12 Notable Latinas Who’ve Made History in STEM Fields
• For a Black Mathematician, What It’s Like to Be the ‘Only One’

List of databases to search for articles or authors.

500 Queer Scientists

Cite Black Authors

Diverse Sources  

Gage

Bullock, A., Jennings, C., & Timbrell, N. (2019). Peer review. In A dictionary of publishing. Oxford University Press.

Libraries, U. of T. (2015, November 5). What counts as a scholarly source? https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/what-counts-scholarly-source

Preprints. (n.d.). PLOS. Retrieved August 9, 2022, from https://plos.org/open-science/preprints/

• Ebook Central (ProQuest)
  Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Users will be prompted to authenticate both on campus and off campus. Books may be viewed online using the EBook Central reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
• Ebook Collection (EBSCOHost)
  Provides access to over 20,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the EBSCOhost Full Text reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own EBSCOhost account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.

• Dover
  Popular publisher covering a broad range of subjects.
• Knovel Library
  An online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries and datasets covering the full range of engineering disciplines; also includes biochemical, biology and chemistry reference resources
• Oxford Reference
  Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.

• Advancing educational outcomes in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics at historically Black colleges and universities
• Diversifying STEM : Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Race and Gender
• Diversity and Equity in Science Education : Research, Policy, and Practice
• Success Strategies from Women in STEM: A Portable Mentor
• Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce

Dissertation: A lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree (for most United States universities).​

Thesis: A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree (for most United States universities).

• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
• Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
  This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
• Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
• PhdData
  Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about

Mathematical Moments from the AMS
The American Mathematical Society's Mathematical Moments program promotes appreciation and understanding of the role mathematics plays in science, nature, technology, and human culture. Listen to researchers talk about how they use math: from presenting realistic animation to beating cancer.
The Secrets of Mathematics
A series of talks and lectures from Oxford Mathematicians exploring the power and beauty of their subject. These talks would appeal to anyone interested in mathematics and its ever-growing range of applications from medicine to economics and beyond.
Breaking Math
Breaking Math is a podcast that aims to make math accessible to everyone, and make it enjoyable.
 

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

Tip: To accces the X handles below you must first login to X to view them.

@amermathsoc
The American Mathematical Society is dedicated to advancing research and connecting the diverse global mathematical community.
@maanow
The Mathematical Association of America is the world's largest community of mathematicians, students, and enthusiasts.
@MoMath1
The only Museum in North America that celebrates the beauty and wonder of mathematics.

Tip: For any X handles below you must first login to X to view them.

Meet a Mathematician
Collection of video interviews with mathematicians.

@BlackWomenSTEM
An online community for self-identified Black women in STEM.

@LGBTSTEM
Improving LGBTQ+ visibility in STEM.

@VanguardSTEM
Encouraging conversations between emerging & established women of color in STEM.

Women in Math: The Limit Does Not Exist Podcast
This podcast is an effort to promote visibility of women in mathematics.

The below conference databases contain conference papers, proceedings, and gray/grey literature.

• Conference Paper: An original paper at a formal gathering of peers which may be subsequently published in its proceedings.
• Conference Proceeding: The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association.
• Gray/Grey Literature: Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature.

• Engineering Village
  Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica.
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library
  Full-text access to journals, conference proceedings and active standards published by IEEE and IET
• SPIE Digital Library
  SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
• American Institute of Physics Publications (AIP Publishing)
  Leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies.
• Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy
  Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide.

American Mathematical Society
American Statistical Association
Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
National Association of Mathematicians
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Association for Women in Mathematics
Out in STEM
TODOS: Mathematics for ALL
 

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about