Chemistry subjectId: 690666

• 8 Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders whose innovations have changed your life (really!)
• Black chemists you should know about
  
• Hispanic and Latino chemists you should know about
  
• LGBTQ+ chemists you should know about
  
• Women in STEM
  

• Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.
• Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 
• Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

• Web of Science
  Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
  
  There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
• SCOPUS
  Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
  
  Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
• Knovel Library
  An online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries and datasets covering the full range of engineering disciplines; also includes biochemical, biology and chemistry reference resources
• SciFinder-n
  CAS SciFinder-n is a source for authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
• Full List of Chemistry Databases

• American Chemical Society Web Editions
  Provides access to the entire library of ACS full-text journals. ACS Journal archives allows access to 120 years of chemistry research. The online archives searches the  full text of all titles published by ACS from 1879 to the present day providing seamless integration between the archives and web editions.  ACS allows electronic delivery of articles in PDF format with fullscale integration with the original document.
• Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
  Full-text articles published in Royal Society of Chemistry journals.
• Directory of Open Access Journals: Chemistry
  

BrowZine
Delivers subscribed academic journals to your desktop or laptop, smartphone or tablet.

List of databases to search for articles or authors.

500 Queer Scientists

Cite Black Authors

Diverse Sources  

Gage

• eBook Central (Proquest): Chemistry
  eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources, including University Presses.
• Wiley Online Library: Chemistry
  Multidisciplinary collection of online resources.

• CRC Press Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
  Broad coverage of science, technology, and medical resources.
• Access Science: Science
  Online encyclopedic resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
• Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
  Since 1938, the Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia has enjoyed a reputation as one of the most important and comprehensive general scientific references available, suitable for both academic and professional environments.
• Oxford Reference: Chemistry
  Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.

• Advancing educational outcomes in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics at historically Black colleges and universities
• Building gender equity in the academy : institutional strategies for change
• Diversifying STEM : Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Race and Gender
• Diversity and Equity in Science Education : Research, Policy, and Practice
• Success Strategies from Women in STEM: A Portable Mentor
• Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce

• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
• Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
  This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
• Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
• PhdData
  Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

• Chemistry World (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  Chemical stories, interviews, news and opinions, delivered directly to your device via podcast.
• Distillations (Science History Institute)
  Using stories from science's past to understand our world.
• Stereo Chemistry (Chemical & Engineering News/ACS)
  Voices and stories from the world of chemistry podcast.

• Chemistry (TED Talks)
  A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Chemistry.
• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

• Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3Data.org): Chemistry
  An international registry of research data repositories.
• Dataverse Project: Chemistry
  An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
• Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
  Quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories.
• FigShare: Chemistry
  Allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow.
• Zenodo
  Built and developed by researchers, to ensure that everyone can join in Open Science.
• National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  Mission: "To promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life." Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce.
• Oak Ridge National Laboratory Distributed Active Archive Center
  Provides data and information relevant to biogeochemical dynamics, ecological data, and environmental processes, critical for understanding the dynamics relating to the biological, geological, and chemical components of Earth's environmen.

• Learn more about data management and DMPs.
  Learn more about what data management and DMPs are and their importance.

• ChemDraw
  Allows you to locate properties information for structures and create publication-quality structural diagrams/models. Note: You must register and download or use the cloud.
• SciNote Electronic Lab Notebook (ELN)
  SciNote’s flexibility allows you to organize all your data in your preferred way. It gives structure and context to all your notes, excel sheets, tables, checklists or pictures.
• Overleaf/Latex
  Overleaf is a collaborative cloud-based LaTeX editor used for writing, editing and publishing scientific documents. It partners with a wide range of scientific publishers to provide official journal LaTeX templates, and direct submission links.

• GaussView
• Spartan Titan
• Molden Pymol
• SwissPDB
• Viewer VMD
• Gaussian03
• GROMAC

• Conference Papers: An original paper at a formal gathering of peers which may be subsequently published in its proceedings.
• Conference Proceedings: The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association.
• Gray/Grey Literature: Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature.

• Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science
  Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on science conferences. Contains links to Web of Science source records so items may be included in word and citation searches. Data indexed: conference titles, sponsors, locations, dates  article titles, authors, author addresses  publisher names and addresses  series titles, book titles, ISSN and ISBN numbers.
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library
  Full-text access to journals, conference proceedings and active standards published by IEEE and IET
• American Institute of Physics Publications (AIP Publishing)
  Leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies.
• Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy
  Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide.

• American Academy of Forensic Scientists
  Promoting justice for all and integrity through forensic science.
• American Chemical Society
  Organization with the mission of advancing the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.
• American Institute of Chemists
  Promote and protect the public welfare; to establish and maintain standards of practice for these professions; and to promote the professional experience through certification as to encourage competent and efficient service.
• Geochemical Society
  Nonprofit scientific society founded to encourage the application of geochemistry to improving our understanding of the Earth and solar system.
• Society of Chemical Industry
  A global network of innovators, formed in 1881 by prominent scientists, inventors and entrepreneurs, who went on to form the products, processes and companies that propelled society forward.    
• Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry
  Not-for-profit, worldwide professional organization composed of about 5,000 individuals and institution in more than 90 countries dedicated to the study, analysis and solution of environmental problems, the management and regulation of natural resources, research and development and environmental education.

• Association for Women in Science
  The organization aims to combat job discrimination, lower pay, and professional isolation.
• Chemists with Disabilities
  Everyone is welcome to join this subdivision of the American Chemist Society, especially if you’re disabled or work with disabled professionals or students.
• Gay and Transgender Chemists and Allies (GTCA)
  People of all orientations and genders are welcome to join this subdivision of the American Chemical Society.
• National Association for the Professional Development of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers
  Build an eminent cadre of successful diverse global leaders in STEM and advance their professional endeavors by adding value to their academic, development, leadership, and philanthropic endeavors throughout the life-cycle of their careers.
• Society for the Advancement of Chicanos & Native Americans in Science
  Dedicated to fostering the success of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.

• Privilege granted to the inventor of a new product or process.
• Excludes others from producing or making use of an invention for a limited period, unless under license from the holder of the patent.

• Google Patents
  Good for browsing or if you know the exact patent number.
• Lens
  Covers many international patent databases and jurisdictions.
• World Intellectual Property Organization PatentScope
  Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 106 million patent documents including 4.4 million published international patent applications (PCT).
• United States Patent and Trademark Office
  Search for patents in the United States Patent and Trademark Office database.
• Free Patents Online
  Global patent search engine. 
• esp@cenet
  Euproean pantent search engine.
• Japanese Patent Office
  Japanese patent repository

• Inventions, Intellectual Property, and Technology Transfer
  The purpose of this policy is to outline rights and responsibilities regarding inventions, intellectual property and technology transfer and to provide guidelines for the protection, management, and commercial application of nnovations.
• U Innovation Office
  U Innovation oversees all aspects of technology commercialization at the University of Miami. Our team supports, promotes, and facilitates the transfer of university innovations for the benefit of the university community and the public.