Engineering subjectId: 690667

• 12 Asian Scientists and their Impact on STEM
• 12 Notable Latinas Who’ve Made History in STEM Fields
• LGBTQ Engineers
• Native American Engineers: Between Worlds
• seven black engineers who helped shape the future of design innovation
• Women in STEM

• Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.
• Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 
• Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

• Web of Science
  Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
  
  There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
• SCOPUS
  Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
  
  Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
• Knovel Library
  An online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries and datasets covering the full range of engineering disciplines; also includes biochemical, biology and chemistry reference resources
• Engineering Village
  Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.
  
  Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica.
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library
  Full-text access to journals, conference proceedings and active standards published by IEEE and IET
• SciELO
  SciELO is a free database containing the full text of selected scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain and Venezuela. Articles are available in one of three languages: English, Portuguese, or Spanish. Although it has a few journals in the social sciences, it is primarily a source for the biological, environmental, & physical sciences. 
• Full List of Engineering Databases

BrowZine
Delivers subscribed academic journals to your desktop or laptop, smartphone or tablet.

 List of databases to search for articles or authors.

500 Queer Scientists

Cite Black Authors

Diverse Sources  

Gage

• eBook Central Proquest
  eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources, including University Presses.
• eBook Collection (EBSCOHost)
  eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources across many disciplines.
• Research Methods (Sage)
  Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
• Wiley Online Library
  Multidisciplinary collection of online resources.

• Access Science
  Online encyclopedic resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
• Dover
  Popular publisher covering a broad range of subjects.
• Knovel
  Online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries, and datasets covering the full range of engineering and science discipline
• Oxford Reference
  Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
• Synthesis
  An information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science.
• Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
  Reputation as one of the most important and comprehensive general scientific references available, suitable for both academic and professional environments.

• Advancing educational outcomes in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics at historically Black colleges and universities
• Building gender equity in the academy : institutional strategies for change
• Diversifying STEM : Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Race and Gender
• Diversity and Equity in Science Education : Research, Policy, and Practice
• Success Strategies from Women in STEM: A Portable Mentor
• Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce

• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
• Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
  This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
• Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
• PhdData
  Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

• Journal of Visual Experiments (JoVE): Engineering
  Peer-reviewed scientific video journal with subscribed content.
• Nasa Technical Reports Server: Engineering
  
• TEDx
  
• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

• Anatomy of a Standard

• ASSIST
  The official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense.
• ASTM Compass
  ASTM Compass is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
• American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference Portal
  Provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). 
• National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  Mission: "To promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life."
• IEEE Xplore
  A full text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings.

• National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
  Mission: "Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence."
• Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)
  Identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
• National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
  Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
• Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
  Mission: "To aggregate and fuse science and technology data to rapidly, accurately and reliably deliver the knowledge needed to develop the next generation of technologies to support our Warfighters and help assure national security."
• National Technical Reports Library
  Mission: "Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence."
• Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) Techincal Report Server
  Provides access to aerospace-related scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
• National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
  Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
• Regulations.gov
  Mission: Enable public access to regulatroy materials, increase rulemaking participation, and improve agencies' efficiency & effectiveness.
• Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
  Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide. 

• Conference Paper: An original paper at a formal gathering of peers which may be subsequently published in its proceedings.
• Conference Proceeding: The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association.
• Gray/Grey Literature: Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature.

• Engineering Village
  Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica.
• IEEE Xplore
  Search and view the enriched abstracts of more than 4 million documents in the IEEE Xplore digital library including all IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards.
• SPIE Digital Library
  SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
• AIP conference proceedings
  We've recently switched to all-electronic for AIP's conference proceedings so look here for the latest information.
• Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy
  Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide.

• Privilege granted to the inventor of a new product or process.
• Excludes others from producing or making use of an invention for a limited period, unless under license from the holder of the patent.

• Google Patents
  Good for browsing or if you know the exact patent number.
• Lens
  Covers many international patent databases and jurisdictions.
• World Intellectual Property Organization PatentScope
  Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 106 million patent documents including 4.4 million published international patent applications (PCT).
• United States Patent and Trademark Office
  Search for patents in the United States Patent and Trademark Office database.
• Free Patents Online
  Global patent search engine. 
• esp@cenet
  Euproean pantent search engine.
• Japanese Patent Office
  Japanese patent repository.

• Inventions, Intellectual Property, and Technology Transfer
  The purpose of this policy is to outline rights and responsibilities regarding inventions, intellectual property and technology transfer and to provide guidelines for the protection, management, and commercial application of nnovations.
• U Innovation Office
  U Innovation oversees all aspects of technology commercialization at the University of Miami. Our team supports, promotes, and facilitates the transfer of university innovations for the benefit of the university community and the public.