Computer Science subjectId: 690681

• Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.
• Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 
• Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

• Web of Science Citation Indexes
  Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
• SCOPUS
  Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
• ArXiv: Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
  Established in 1998 through a partnership of the Association for Computing Machinery, the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library, and arXiv.
• ACM Digital Library
  Full-text access to a variety of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Note: The Richter Library subscription does not include full text access to the ACM Proceeding and SIG newsletter articles.
• Science Direct
  aaa
• Google Scholar @ UM
  Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
• Full List of Computer Science Databases
  

 List of databases to search for articles or authors.

500 Queer Scientists

Cite Black Authors

Diverse Sources  

Gage

• Ebook Central (ProQuest)
  Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Users will be prompted to authenticate both on campus and off campus. Books may be viewed online using the EBook Central reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
• Ebook Collection (EBSCOHost)
  Provides access to over 20,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the EBSCOhost Full Text reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own EBSCOhost account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
• Research Methods (Sage)
  Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
• Wiley Online Library
  A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to Wiley journals, books, and reference works.

• AccessScience
  Articles and research reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, plus definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
• Oxford Reference Online
  Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection is fully-indexed and cross-searchable.The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian,and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
• Synthesis
  Synthesis is an information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field. Synthesis is organized by series, each managed by a consulting editor. The series editor oversees lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review to assure quality.

• Advancing educational outcomes in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics at historically Black colleges and universities
• Building gender equity in the academy : institutional strategies for change
• Diversifying STEM : Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Race and Gender
• Diversity and Equity in Science Education : Research, Policy, and Practice
• Success Strategies from Women in STEM: A Portable Mentor
• Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce

• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
• Proquest: Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
  Proquest provides access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
• Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
• PhdData
  Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

• Spark with Nora Young
  Spark on CBC Radio One Nora Young helps you navigate your digital life by connecting you to fresh ideas in surprising ways.
• Today in Tech
  Hosts Ken Mingis and Michael Simon talk with guests about the latest tech trends and news. 
• TWiT.tv podcast
  TWiT.tv podcasts keep you up-to-date with all that's happening in the world of technology.

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• TEDx
  A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Computers.

• Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3Data.org): Computer Science, Electrical and System Engineering
  
• Harvard Dataverse Project: Computer and Information Science
  An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
• Figshare
  Allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow
• Zenodo
  Built and developed by researchers, to ensure that everyone can join in Open Science.

• Learn more about data management and DMPs.

• Conference Paper: An original paper at a formal gathering of peers which may be subsequently published in its proceedings.
• Conference Proceeding: The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association.
• Gray/Grey Literature: Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature.

• SCOPUS
  Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
• SPIE Digital Library
  SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library
  Full-text access to journals, conference proceedings and active standards published by IEEE and IET
• ACM Digital Library
  Full-text access to a variety of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Note: The Richter Library subscription does not include full text access to the ACM Proceeding and SIG newsletter articles.
• American Institute of Physics Publications (AIP Publishing)
  Leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies.

• ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)
• Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
• Computing Research Association
• IEEE Computer Society
• International Association Of Computer Science And Information Technology

• Association for Women in Computing
• Black Data Processing Associates
• LGBTQ Tech
• National Society of Blacks in Computing
• Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science