Native American and Global Indigenous Studies (NAGIS) subjectId: 690593

Libraries and archives collect materials from different cultures and time periods for educational and research purposes. The University of Miami Libraries offers public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials, that may contain offensive language, imagery, beliefs, or stereotypes. For example, users may encounter language or content that is misogynistic, racist, transphobic, homophobic, xenophobic, or colonialist. The University of Miami does not endorse the views expressed in such materials. The Libraries strive to describe materials in a manner that is accurate and is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. While some descriptions are written by staff, others reflect language that was used by the people and organizations that created the material. When we encounter problematic language that we believe staff created in the past, we change it. For more information please visit https://www.library.miami.edu/about/harmful-content-statement.html.
 

HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. 
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. 
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
 A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.  
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into AIM's motives, actions, and leadership and the development of Native American radicalism

North American Indian Thought and Culture
Brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Includes manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books ranging from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database that covers all aspects of indigenous culture, history, and life in North America, with more than 350,000 citations and coverage dating from the sixteenth century to the present. 

Erdrich, Louise. The Night Watchman: A Novel. First ed. New York, NY: Harper, an Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2020.

Jones, Stephen Graham. The Bird Is Gone: A Manifesto. 1st ed. Tuscaloosa: Fiction Collective Two, Incorporated, 2003.

Meyers, Harold Burton, and NetLibrary, Inc. Reservations. Niwot, Colo.: University Press of Colorado, 1999.

Jones, Stephen Graham, and ProQuest. The Only Good Indians: A Novel. First ed. New York: Saga Press, 2020.

Erdrich, Louise. LaRose a Novel. New York: HarperCollins, 2016.

Grover, Linda LeGarde. In the Night of Memory. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2019.

Sorell, Traci, and Weshoyot Alvitre. At the Mountain's Base. New York: Kokila, an Imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2019.

Kersey, Harry A, and Tiger, Buffalo. Buffalo Tiger: A Life in the Everglades. Indians of the Southeast. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2002.

Writers' Program, and Florida. Department of Agriculture. The Seminole Indians in Florida. Bulletin (Florida. Department of Agriculture); No. 107. Tallahassee, Fla.: Florida State Dept. of Agriculture, 1941.

Downs, Dorothy, and Bill Held. Miccosukee Arts & Crafts. Miami, Fla. (P.O. Box 440021, Tamiami Station, Miami 33144): Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida, 1982.

Bartram, William. Travels through North & South Carolina, Georgia, East & West Florida, The Cherokee Country. Penguin Nature Library. New York, N.Y., U.S.A.: Penguin Books, 1988.

Dunkelman, Arthur, and Ralph E. Ehrenberg. The Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress: A Catalog of the Gift of the Jay I. Kislak Foundation to the Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2007.

Easby, Elizabeth Kennedy, John F. Scott, University of Miami. Library. Special Collections. Jay I. Kislak Collection, and Metropolitan Museum of Art. Before Cortés, Sculpture of Middle America; a Centennial Exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art from September 30, 1970, through January 3, 1971. Kislak Collection. Printed Books. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art; Distributed by New York Graphic Society, 1970.

Jumper, Betty Mae, and Patsy West. A Seminole Legend: The Life of Betty Mae Tiger Jumper. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2001.

Labat, Jean Baptiste. Nouveau Voyage Aux Isles De L'Amerique : Contenant L'histoire Naturelle De Ces Pays, L'origine, Les Moeurs, La Religion & Le Gouvernement Des Habitans Anciens & Modernes: Les Guerres & Les Evenemens Singuliers Qui Y Sont Arrivez Pendant Le Long Sej̄our Que L'auteur Y a Fait: Le Commerce Et Les Manufactures Qui Y Sont Établies, & Les Moyens De Les Augmenter. La Haye: P. Husson [etc.], 1724.

Writers' Program, and Florida. Department of Public Instruction. Seminole Indian Legends: Stories of Florida Prepared for Use in Public Schools. Place of Publication Not Identified]: [publisher Not Identified], 1940.

Brodsky, Estrellita, Fatima Bercht, John Farmer, Dicey Taylor, Museo Del Barrio, and University of Miami. Library. Special Collections. Jay I. Kislak Collection. Taíno: Pre-Columbian Art and Culture from the Caribbean. Kislak Collection. Printed Books. New York ; El Museo Del Barrio: Monacelli Press, 1997.

Parsons, Lee Allen, and Jay I. Kislak Foundation. Columbus to Catherwood, 1494-1844: 350 Years of Historic Book Graphics Depicting the Islands, Indians, and Archaeology of the West Indies, Florida, and Mexico. Kislak Bibliographic Series; Publication 1. Miami Lakes, Fla. (7900 Miami Lakes Dr. W., Miami Lakes 33016): Jay I. Kislak Foundation, 1993.

 SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
 

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
 

Ulloa Hung, Jorge, and Roberto Valcárcel Rojas. Indígenas E Indios En El Caribe : Presencia, Legado Y Estudio. Primera Edición. ed. Serie Los Indígenas Más Allá De Colón ; 1. Santo Domingo: Instituto Tecnológico De Santo Domingo, 2016.

Indios En Holguín/ Roberto Valcárcel Rojas, Hiram Pérez Concepción. Holguin, Cuba : Editorial La Mezquita, 2014.

Lago Vieito, Angel. Los Aborígenes De Bayamo : Destino Y Legado Histórico. Pinos Nuevos. Ensayo. La Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales, 1994.

Novelo, Victoria. Yucatecos En Cuba : Etnografía De Una Migración. 1a. Edición. ed. Publicaciones De La Casa Chata. México, D.F.: CIESAS, 2009.

Jesús Quiroz, Bernardino De. Códice Aubin: Manuscrito Azteca De La Biblioteca Real De Berlin ; Anales En Mexicano Y Geroglíficos Desde La Salida De Las Tribus De Aztlán Hasta La Muerte De Cuauhtemoc. 2a Edición. ed. México, D.F.: Editorial Innovación, 1980.

Martínez Arango, Felipe. Cronología Crítica De La Guerra Hispano-cubanoamericana. Centenario. Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales : Istituto Cubano Del Libro, 1973.

Armendi, Aurora De. Three Taino Myths. New York: The Center for Book Arts, 2015: Center for Books Arts, 2013.

Roksandic, Ivan. Cuban Archaeology in the Caribbean. Gainesville, Florida: University Press of Florida, 2016.

Casas, Bartolomé De Las, Juan Ginés De Sepúlveda, and Domingo De Soto. Aqui Se Contiene Una Disputa, O Controuersia Entre El Obispo Do[n] Fray Bartholome De Las Casas, O Casaus ...: Fue Impressa La Presente Obra Enla Muy Noble [y] Muy Leal Ciudad De Seuilla, En Casa De Sebastian Trugillo Impressor De Libros ..., 1552.

Azcuy Alón, Fanny. Psicografía Y Supervivencias De Los Aborígenes De Cuba. Publicaciones De La Revista De Educación. La Habana: [Cárdenas Y Cía.], 1941.

García Valdés, Pedro. La Civilizacíon Taína En Pinar Del Río ; Trabajo De Ingreso Presentado. La Habana: Imprenta "El Siglo XX", A. Muñiz Y Hno, 1930.

CUBAN HERITAGE COLLECTION (CHC)
 

Big Cypress Seminole Indian Reservation Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum
Nestled in the heart of the Everglades, the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum is home to more than 180,000 unique artifacts and archival items. Learn about the Seminole people and their rich cultural and historical ties to the Southeast and Florida.

Florida Memory: State Library and Archives
Provides free online access to select archival resources, oral histories, photographs from the State Library and Archives of Florida collection that illuminate significant events and individuals in the state's history. In celebration of Native American Heritage Month, the site provides resources on two federally recognized tribes, the Seminole Tribe and the Miccosukee Tribe of Florida Indians.

Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida
Contains the Miccosukee Everglades News Collection located at Miami-Dade Public Library System. The newspapers span from 1983-1985 and explore various topics, including the Tribe's community projects, activities, environmental news, General Council's elections, and more. Much of the writing and execution for the paper was contributed by the then-editor, Wendy Cobourne, a non-tribal person. Tribe members were frequently quoted in articles and invited to submit letters to the editor regarding community issues and contributing articles on art and news.

Sunshine State Digital Network (SSDN)/Digital Public Library of America
Serves as a service hub for the state of Florida and represents a community of institutions, which provide their partner institutions’ aggregated metadata for the DPLA.

Native American Heritage from the National Archives

The Indigenous Digital Archive (IDA) 

Bureau of Indian Affairs Photographs

Americans: Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

Native Land Digital

Liliʻuokalani Manuscript Collection
 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School
A major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe.

Indian-Pioneer Papers
Oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936 and includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories.

iPortal
Is a growing community of artists, academics, and activists that are using internet-based communication technologies to share their stories in their own voices, to communicate their own perspectives, and to challenge the dominant media discourses and representations of Indigenous peoples. The following feed links to a series of Indigenous written/focused blogs and podcasts. 

National Congress of American Indians
Founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.

Plateau Peoples' Web Portal
A gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives, the Library of Congress, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution.

Indigenous Law Web Archive
Collects and preserves primary law sources of indigenous nations, which are sovereign governments by treaty with the United States.

Nation to Nation
Features approximately 374 treaties that were ratified between the United States and Native Nations.