Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690502
Nazca Hummingbird Embroidery. 100-600 BCE
British Museum
Bonampak Mural of Procession of Musicians.
Maya Civilzation, Chiapas, MX
Detail of Maya Vessel. 7th-8th century.
Attributed to the Metropolitan Painter
Metropolitan Museum of Art
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open accessNative American Florida
Collections Online
American Museum of Natural History
Division of Anthropology
Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO)
Indigenous Collections
Indigenous art at the AGO currently includes works from the First Peoples of North America, namely First Nations, Inuit, and Metis. The collection also includes global Indigenous Art from Africa, Australia, and the Torres Strait Islands.
Denver Art Museum
The American Indian Art collection represents the artistic works of nearly every tribe across the United States and Canada and all artistic traditions created within these cultures from prehistoric times to the present.
Institute of American Indian Arts (IIAIA)
Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA)
Located in Santa Fe, New Mexico, MoCNA is the country’s only museum for exhibiting, collecting, and interpreting the most progressive work of contemporary Native artists.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art of Native America Collection
National Gallery of Canada Indigenous Art
Indigenous Art at the National Gallery of Canada includes works from Aboriginal Peoples of Canada as well as art from indigenous peoples around the globe.
National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI)
One of the most extensive collections of Native American arts and artifacts in the world—approximately 266,000 catalog records (825,000 items) representing over 12,000 years of history and more than 1,200 indigenous cultures throughout the Americas.
Pitt Rivers Museum Haida Collections
Seneca-Iroquis National Museum, Salamanca, NY
Collections consist of items from the Six Hodinöhsö:ni’ Nations – Seneca, Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga and Tuscarora- Or also known as the Iroquois.
Virginia Museum of Fine Art (VMFA)
Includes objects dating from prehistoric times to the present day. Geographic regions that are particularly well represented include the Arctic North, Northwest Coast, Plains, and Southwest.
Division of Anthropology
Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO)
Indigenous Collections
Indigenous art at the AGO currently includes works from the First Peoples of North America, namely First Nations, Inuit, and Metis. The collection also includes global Indigenous Art from Africa, Australia, and the Torres Strait Islands.
Denver Art Museum
The American Indian Art collection represents the artistic works of nearly every tribe across the United States and Canada and all artistic traditions created within these cultures from prehistoric times to the present.
Institute of American Indian Arts (IIAIA)
Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA)
Located in Santa Fe, New Mexico, MoCNA is the country’s only museum for exhibiting, collecting, and interpreting the most progressive work of contemporary Native artists.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art of Native America Collection
National Gallery of Canada Indigenous Art
Indigenous Art at the National Gallery of Canada includes works from Aboriginal Peoples of Canada as well as art from indigenous peoples around the globe.
National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI)
One of the most extensive collections of Native American arts and artifacts in the world—approximately 266,000 catalog records (825,000 items) representing over 12,000 years of history and more than 1,200 indigenous cultures throughout the Americas.
Pitt Rivers Museum Haida Collections
Seneca-Iroquis National Museum, Salamanca, NY
Collections consist of items from the Six Hodinöhsö:ni’ Nations – Seneca, Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga and Tuscarora- Or also known as the Iroquois.
Virginia Museum of Fine Art (VMFA)
Includes objects dating from prehistoric times to the present day. Geographic regions that are particularly well represented include the Arctic North, Northwest Coast, Plains, and Southwest.
Funding Resources
Best Online Guide to Scholarships and Resources for Native American Master's Students https://www.onlinemastersdegrees.org/financial-aid/scholarships/native-american-alaskan-students/
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Archival Resources & Web Portals
Bureau of Indian Affairs Photographs (Finding Aid)
Indigenous Digital Archive (IDA)
Museum of Indigenous Arts & Culture, New Mexico Holds over 500,000 archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School, boarding school records, yearbooks, and letters.
D'Arcy McNickel Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies. Newberry Library, Chicago, IL
Native American Spaces: Cartographic Resources at the Library of Congress
Plateau Peoples' Web Portal
This Portal is a collaborative gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives, the Library of Congress, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution.
Indigenous Digital Archive (IDA)
Museum of Indigenous Arts & Culture, New Mexico Holds over 500,000 archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School, boarding school records, yearbooks, and letters.
D'Arcy McNickel Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies. Newberry Library, Chicago, IL
Native American Spaces: Cartographic Resources at the Library of Congress
Plateau Peoples' Web Portal
This Portal is a collaborative gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives, the Library of Congress, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution.
University of Miami Library Archival Resources
Special Collectons / Kislak Center
Home to a wide array of rare books, manuscripts, archival collections, photographs and audio-visual items, maps, architectural drawings, artists’ books, zines, photographic collections, and other research materials that document the history of Florida, the Caribbean, Central and South America, and beyond.
Home to a wide array of rare books, manuscripts, archival collections, photographs and audio-visual items, maps, architectural drawings, artists’ books, zines, photographic collections, and other research materials that document the history of Florida, the Caribbean, Central and South America, and beyond.
Native Indigenous Studies Programs
Exhibition Spotlights
In Our Hands: Native Photography, 1890 to Now
October 22, 2023-January 14, 2024
Target Gallery, Minneapolis Institute of Art
Native photography, as framed by generations of First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and Native American photographers themselves. Check out the audio/visual guide online.
October 22, 2023-January 14, 2024
Target Gallery, Minneapolis Institute of Art
Native photography, as framed by generations of First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and Native American photographers themselves. Check out the audio/visual guide online.
Organizations
American Indian Council of Architects and Engineers
The AICAE is a non-profit corporation established in 1976. Its membership is comprised of American Indian architecture, engineering, and design professionals through out the United States of America.
Association on American Indian Affairs
First Nations Development Institute
Institute of American Indian Art (IAIA)
Through the concept of art as a traditional path of creativity, IAIA excels at skill building, provoking thought and providing exceptional educational opportunities. IAIA is a place to embrace the past, enrich the present, and create the future, moving ahead to paths yet unexplored and undiscovered.
Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA)
Native American Graves Protection Repatriation Act (NAGPRA)
The AICAE is a non-profit corporation established in 1976. Its membership is comprised of American Indian architecture, engineering, and design professionals through out the United States of America.
Association on American Indian Affairs
First Nations Development Institute
Institute of American Indian Art (IAIA)
Through the concept of art as a traditional path of creativity, IAIA excels at skill building, provoking thought and providing exceptional educational opportunities. IAIA is a place to embrace the past, enrich the present, and create the future, moving ahead to paths yet unexplored and undiscovered.
Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA)
Native American Graves Protection Repatriation Act (NAGPRA)
Internet Resources
Journals, Serials, Newspapers, Zines
AlterNatives: An Internation Journal of Indigenous Studies
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
American Indian Magazine
American Indian Quarterly
Anales del Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas.
First American Art Magazine
Indigenous Action Media
Native Americas : Akwe:kon's journal of indigenous issues
Native Studies Review
NAIS: Journal of Native American and Indigenous Studies
Native American Times
Seminole Tribune
Wíčazo Ša Review ("Red Pencil" in Lakota) *
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
American Indian Magazine
American Indian Quarterly
Anales del Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas.
First American Art Magazine
Indigenous Action Media
Native Americas : Akwe:kon's journal of indigenous issues
Native Studies Review
NAIS: Journal of Native American and Indigenous Studies
Native American Times
Seminole Tribune
Wíčazo Ša Review ("Red Pencil" in Lakota) *
E-Books / Guides
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Maiking History: IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts
Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Southeast. 2002
Travels with Frances Densmore: Her Life, Work, and Legacy in Native American Studies. 2015.
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists
West, Patsy. Seminole and Miccosukee Tribes of Southern Florida. Arcadia Pub, 2012.
Maiking History: IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts
Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Southeast. 2002
Travels with Frances Densmore: Her Life, Work, and Legacy in Native American Studies. 2015.
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists
West, Patsy. Seminole and Miccosukee Tribes of Southern Florida. Arcadia Pub, 2012.
Print Materials & Archives
Don't forget about books!
Lake-Thom, Bobby. Spirits of the Earth: A Guide to Native American Nature Symbols, Stories, and Ceremonies . New York: Plume, 1997. E98.F6 L25
Milanich, Jerald T. Florida's Indians from Ancient times to the Present /. Gainesville: U of Florida, 1998.
Lake-Thom, Bobby. Spirits of the Earth: A Guide to Native American Nature Symbols, Stories, and Ceremonies . New York: Plume, 1997. E98.F6 L25
Milanich, Jerald T. Florida's Indians from Ancient times to the Present /. Gainesville: U of Florida, 1998.
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Collections Online
British Museum Andean Collection
Gold Museum Colombia
Extraordinary Precolumbian artifacts from the Tairona; Zenú; Urabá y Chocó; Quimbaya; Muisca; Tolima; Calima; Cauca; Tierradentro; San Agustín; Nariño and Tumaco cultures.
Lowe Art Museum Central and South American Collection
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Lowe Art Museum Art of the Ancient Americas
Museo Nacional de Arqueología, Antropología e Historia del Perú (MNAAHP)
Holding over 40,000 pieces MNAAHP is considered the most comprehensive collection of arqueological textiles of the Americas from the Archaic and Pre ceramic era (2500 BCE) through the Inca period. (1400-1532 d. C.).
Gold Museum Colombia
Extraordinary Precolumbian artifacts from the Tairona; Zenú; Urabá y Chocó; Quimbaya; Muisca; Tolima; Calima; Cauca; Tierradentro; San Agustín; Nariño and Tumaco cultures.
Lowe Art Museum Central and South American Collection
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Lowe Art Museum Art of the Ancient Americas
Museo Nacional de Arqueología, Antropología e Historia del Perú (MNAAHP)
Holding over 40,000 pieces MNAAHP is considered the most comprehensive collection of arqueological textiles of the Americas from the Archaic and Pre ceramic era (2500 BCE) through the Inca period. (1400-1532 d. C.).
University of Miami Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Nazca Hummingbird Embroidery. 100-600 BCEBritish Museum
UM Libraries Finding Aids
Stephen Stein Retablos Collection
This collection contains research notes, reports, documents, pamphlets, and 3D objects from Stephen Stein, a history professor at the University of Miami. Most of his research captures the history, traditional, and political climate of South America in the 20th century with a focus on Peru as a center of study.
This collection contains research notes, reports, documents, pamphlets, and 3D objects from Stephen Stein, a history professor at the University of Miami. Most of his research captures the history, traditional, and political climate of South America in the 20th century with a focus on Peru as a center of study.
Journals & Serials
AlterNatives: An International Journal of Indigenous Studies
Anales Del Instituto De Investigaciones Estéticas.
Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino, Boletín Del Museo Chileno De Arte Precolombino. 1986.
Anales Del Instituto De Investigaciones Estéticas.
Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino, Boletín Del Museo Chileno De Arte Precolombino. 1986.
E-Resources
Anawalt, Patricia Rieff, and NetLibrary, Inc. Indian Clothing before Cortés: Mesoamerican Costumes from the Codices. First ed. Norman:U of Oklahoma, 1981. Civilization of the American Indian Ser.; v. 156. Web.
Stoddard, Richard Henry, and Bayard Taylor. The life, travels and books of Alexander von Humboldt. Rudd & Carleton, 1859. Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926.
Stoddard, Richard Henry, and Bayard Taylor. The life, travels and books of Alexander von Humboldt. Rudd & Carleton, 1859. Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926.
Print Resources
Mauldin, Barbara, and Blair Clark. Folk Art of the Andes. Museum of New Mexico Press, 2011.
Thompson, Angela. Textiles of Central and South America. Wiltshire {Eng.]:Crowood, 2006. Print.
Thompson, Angela. Textiles of Central and South America. Wiltshire {Eng.]:Crowood, 2006. Print.
Mesoamerican Civilizations
Preclassic or Early Formative Period: 1000 BCE to 500 CE
- Olmec
- Maya
- Toltec
- Maya
- Aztec
Bonampak Mural of Procession of Musicians.Maya Civilzation, Chiapas, MX
University of Miami Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
UML Digital Collections & Resources
Art of the Ancient Americas Lowe Art Museum
Beaker. Nasca (Southcoast Peru).
Mesoamerican Artifacts from the Jay I. Kislak Collection
Available through the Library of Congress
Beaker. Nasca (Southcoast Peru).
Mesoamerican Artifacts from the Jay I. Kislak Collection
Available through the Library of Congress
Detail of Maya Vessel. 7th-8th century.Attributed to the Metropolitan Painter
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Article Indexes & Databases
Archives & E-Resource Portals
Exploring the Maya World
British Museum and Google Arts & Culture collaboration
FAMSI Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.
The Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives at Dumbarton Oaks comprise images of objects, archaeological sites, architecture, monuments, maps, major codices, and illustrations. The holdings document places and objects from Mesoamerica, the Intermediate Area, and the Andes, and cover around 2,000 years of history.
eHRAF Archaeology (Human Relations Area Files)
Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world.
Cultures and History of the Americas: The Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress
British Museum and Google Arts & Culture collaboration
FAMSI Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.
The Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives at Dumbarton Oaks comprise images of objects, archaeological sites, architecture, monuments, maps, major codices, and illustrations. The holdings document places and objects from Mesoamerica, the Intermediate Area, and the Andes, and cover around 2,000 years of history.
eHRAF Archaeology (Human Relations Area Files)
Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world.
Cultures and History of the Americas: The Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress
Eyre, Chris, Bc Smith, Adam Beach, Evan Adams, Irene Bedard, Gary Farmer, Tantoo Cardinal, Sherman Alexie, Smith, BC, Miramax Films, Shadowcatcher Entertainment, and Miramax Home Entertainment. Smoke Signals. United States]: Miramax Home Entertainment, 1998. Print. Miramax Classics.
Luther, Billy, Crystal Frazier, David Benjamin Steinberg, Independent Television Service, World of Wonder, and Cinema Guild. Miss Navajo. Standard Format. ed. New York, NY: Cinema Guild, 2007. Print.
Wacks, Jonathan, A. Martinez, Gary Farmer, Amanda Wyss, David Seals, Barry Goldberg, James Austin Stewart, Toyomichi Kurita, Handmade Films, StarMaker Entertainment Inc, and Paragon Entertainment Corporation. Powwow Highway. Widescreen. ed. Place of Publication Not Identified]: StarMaker : Paragon Entertainment, 2004.
Luther, Billy, Crystal Frazier, David Benjamin Steinberg, Independent Television Service, World of Wonder, and Cinema Guild. Miss Navajo. Standard Format. ed. New York, NY: Cinema Guild, 2007. Print.
Wacks, Jonathan, A. Martinez, Gary Farmer, Amanda Wyss, David Seals, Barry Goldberg, James Austin Stewart, Toyomichi Kurita, Handmade Films, StarMaker Entertainment Inc, and Paragon Entertainment Corporation. Powwow Highway. Widescreen. ed. Place of Publication Not Identified]: StarMaker : Paragon Entertainment, 2004.
University of Miami Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
A Librarian