Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690623
visibleTabCount: 6
UM Libraries Harmful Content Statement
Libraries and archives collect materials from different cultures and time periods for educational and research purposes. The University of Miami Libraries offers public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials, that may contain offensive language, imagery, beliefs, or stereotypes. For example, users may encounter language or content that is misogynistic, racist, transphobic, homophobic, xenophobic, or colonialist. The University of Miami does not endorse the views expressed in such materials. The Libraries strive to describe materials in a manner that is accurate and is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. While some descriptions are written by staff, others reflect language that was used by the people and organizations that created the material. When we encounter problematic language that we believe staff created in the past, we change it. For more information please visit https://www.library.miami.edu/about/harmful-content-statement.html.
Sources for Writing Research Papers General Citation Sources
Table of Contents
University of Miami Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
UM Libraries Harmful Content Statement
Libraries and archives collect materials from different cultures and time periods for educational and research purposes. The University of Miami Libraries offers public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials, that may contain offensive language, imagery, beliefs, or stereotypes. For example, users may encounter language or content that is misogynistic, racist, transphobic, homophobic, xenophobic, or colonialist. The University of Miami does not endorse the views expressed in such materials. The Libraries strive to describe materials in a manner that is accurate and is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. While some descriptions are written by staff, others reflect language that was used by the people and organizations that created the material. When we encounter problematic language that we believe staff created in the past, we change it. For more information please visit https://www.library.miami.edu/about/harmful-content-statement.html.
Sources for Writing Research Papers General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
Select Databases
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
America: History and Life
Includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
America: History and Life
Includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
Databases Relating to Native American & Indigenous Studies
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into AIM's motives, actions, and leadership and the development of Native American radicalism
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Includes manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books ranging from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database that covers all aspects of indigenous culture, history, and life in North America, with more than 350,000 citations and coverage dating from the sixteenth century to the present.
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into AIM's motives, actions, and leadership and the development of Native American radicalism
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Includes manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books ranging from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database that covers all aspects of indigenous culture, history, and life in North America, with more than 350,000 citations and coverage dating from the sixteenth century to the present.
Select Print Books
Select Ebooks
Select Fiction Titles
Select Sources From Special Collections
Jumper, Betty Mae, and Patsy West. A Seminole Legend: The Life of Betty Mae Tiger Jumper. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2001.
Labat, Jean Baptiste. Nouveau Voyage Aux Isles De L'Amerique : Contenant L'histoire Naturelle De Ces Pays, L'origine, Les Moeurs, La Religion & Le Gouvernement Des Habitans Anciens & Modernes: Les Guerres & Les Evenemens Singuliers Qui Y Sont Arrivez Pendant Le Long Sej̄our Que L'auteur Y a Fait: Le Commerce Et Les Manufactures Qui Y Sont Établies, & Les Moyens De Les Augmenter. La Haye: P. Husson [etc.], 1724.
Writers' Program, and Florida. Department of Public Instruction. Seminole Indian Legends: Stories of Florida Prepared for Use in Public Schools. Place of Publication Not Identified]: [publisher Not Identified], 1940.
Brodsky, Estrellita, Fatima Bercht, John Farmer, Dicey Taylor, Museo Del Barrio, and University of Miami. Library. Special Collections. Jay I. Kislak Collection. Taíno: Pre-Columbian Art and Culture from the Caribbean. Kislak Collection. Printed Books. New York ; El Museo Del Barrio: Monacelli Press, 1997.
Parsons, Lee Allen, and Jay I. Kislak Foundation. Columbus to Catherwood, 1494-1844: 350 Years of Historic Book Graphics Depicting the Islands, Indians, and Archaeology of the West Indies, Florida, and Mexico. Kislak Bibliographic Series; Publication 1. Miami Lakes, Fla. (7900 Miami Lakes Dr. W., Miami Lakes 33016): Jay I. Kislak Foundation, 1993.
Kersey, Harry A, and Tiger, Buffalo. Buffalo Tiger: A Life in the Everglades. Indians of the Southeast. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2002.
Writers' Program, and Florida. Department of Agriculture. The Seminole Indians in Florida. Bulletin (Florida. Department of Agriculture); No. 107. Tallahassee, Fla.: Florida State Dept. of Agriculture, 1941.
Downs, Dorothy, and Bill Held. Miccosukee Arts & Crafts. Miami, Fla. (P.O. Box 440021, Tamiami Station, Miami 33144): Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida, 1982.
Bartram, William. Travels through North & South Carolina, Georgia, East & West Florida, The Cherokee Country. Penguin Nature Library. New York, N.Y., U.S.A.: Penguin Books, 1988.
Dunkelman, Arthur, and Ralph E. Ehrenberg. The Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress: A Catalog of the Gift of the Jay I. Kislak Foundation to the Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2007.
Easby, Elizabeth Kennedy, John F. Scott, University of Miami. Library. Special Collections. Jay I. Kislak Collection, and Metropolitan Museum of Art. Before Cortés, Sculpture of Middle America; a Centennial Exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art from September 30, 1970, through January 3, 1971. Kislak Collection. Printed Books. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art; Distributed by New York Graphic Society, 1970.
Labat, Jean Baptiste. Nouveau Voyage Aux Isles De L'Amerique : Contenant L'histoire Naturelle De Ces Pays, L'origine, Les Moeurs, La Religion & Le Gouvernement Des Habitans Anciens & Modernes: Les Guerres & Les Evenemens Singuliers Qui Y Sont Arrivez Pendant Le Long Sej̄our Que L'auteur Y a Fait: Le Commerce Et Les Manufactures Qui Y Sont Établies, & Les Moyens De Les Augmenter. La Haye: P. Husson [etc.], 1724.
Writers' Program, and Florida. Department of Public Instruction. Seminole Indian Legends: Stories of Florida Prepared for Use in Public Schools. Place of Publication Not Identified]: [publisher Not Identified], 1940.
Brodsky, Estrellita, Fatima Bercht, John Farmer, Dicey Taylor, Museo Del Barrio, and University of Miami. Library. Special Collections. Jay I. Kislak Collection. Taíno: Pre-Columbian Art and Culture from the Caribbean. Kislak Collection. Printed Books. New York ; El Museo Del Barrio: Monacelli Press, 1997.
Parsons, Lee Allen, and Jay I. Kislak Foundation. Columbus to Catherwood, 1494-1844: 350 Years of Historic Book Graphics Depicting the Islands, Indians, and Archaeology of the West Indies, Florida, and Mexico. Kislak Bibliographic Series; Publication 1. Miami Lakes, Fla. (7900 Miami Lakes Dr. W., Miami Lakes 33016): Jay I. Kislak Foundation, 1993.
Kersey, Harry A, and Tiger, Buffalo. Buffalo Tiger: A Life in the Everglades. Indians of the Southeast. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2002.
Writers' Program, and Florida. Department of Agriculture. The Seminole Indians in Florida. Bulletin (Florida. Department of Agriculture); No. 107. Tallahassee, Fla.: Florida State Dept. of Agriculture, 1941.
Downs, Dorothy, and Bill Held. Miccosukee Arts & Crafts. Miami, Fla. (P.O. Box 440021, Tamiami Station, Miami 33144): Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida, 1982.
Bartram, William. Travels through North & South Carolina, Georgia, East & West Florida, The Cherokee Country. Penguin Nature Library. New York, N.Y., U.S.A.: Penguin Books, 1988.
Dunkelman, Arthur, and Ralph E. Ehrenberg. The Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress: A Catalog of the Gift of the Jay I. Kislak Foundation to the Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2007.
Easby, Elizabeth Kennedy, John F. Scott, University of Miami. Library. Special Collections. Jay I. Kislak Collection, and Metropolitan Museum of Art. Before Cortés, Sculpture of Middle America; a Centennial Exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art from September 30, 1970, through January 3, 1971. Kislak Collection. Printed Books. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art; Distributed by New York Graphic Society, 1970.
Looking for More?
Select Sources From the Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC)
Ulloa Hung, Jorge, and Roberto Valcárcel Rojas. Indígenas E Indios En El Caribe : Presencia, Legado Y Estudio. Primera Edición. ed. Serie Los Indígenas Más Allá De Colón ; 1. Santo Domingo: Instituto Tecnológico De Santo Domingo, 2016.
Indios En Holguín/ Roberto Valcárcel Rojas, Hiram Pérez Concepción. Holguin, Cuba : Editorial La Mezquita, 2014.
Lago Vieito, Angel. Los Aborígenes De Bayamo : Destino Y Legado Histórico. Pinos Nuevos. Ensayo. La Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales, 1994.
Novelo, Victoria. Yucatecos En Cuba : Etnografía De Una Migración. 1a. Edición. ed. Publicaciones De La Casa Chata. México, D.F.: CIESAS, 2009.
Jesús Quiroz, Bernardino De. Códice Aubin: Manuscrito Azteca De La Biblioteca Real De Berlin ; Anales En Mexicano Y Geroglíficos Desde La Salida De Las Tribus De Aztlán Hasta La Muerte De Cuauhtemoc. 2a Edición. ed. México, D.F.: Editorial Innovación, 1980.
Martínez Arango, Felipe. Cronología Crítica De La Guerra Hispano-cubanoamericana. Centenario. Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales : Istituto Cubano Del Libro, 1973.
Armendi, Aurora De. Three Taino Myths. New York: The Center for Book Arts, 2015: Center for Books Arts, 2013.
Roksandic, Ivan. Cuban Archaeology in the Caribbean. Gainesville, Florida: University Press of Florida, 2016.
Casas, Bartolomé De Las, Juan Ginés De Sepúlveda, and Domingo De Soto. Aqui Se Contiene Una Disputa, O Controuersia Entre El Obispo Do[n] Fray Bartholome De Las Casas, O Casaus ...: Fue Impressa La Presente Obra Enla Muy Noble [y] Muy Leal Ciudad De Seuilla, En Casa De Sebastian Trugillo Impressor De Libros ..., 1552.
Azcuy Alón, Fanny. Psicografía Y Supervivencias De Los Aborígenes De Cuba. Publicaciones De La Revista De Educación. La Habana: [Cárdenas Y Cía.], 1941.
García Valdés, Pedro. La Civilizacíon Taína En Pinar Del Río ; Trabajo De Ingreso Presentado. La Habana: Imprenta "El Siglo XX", A. Muñiz Y Hno, 1930.
Indios En Holguín/ Roberto Valcárcel Rojas, Hiram Pérez Concepción. Holguin, Cuba : Editorial La Mezquita, 2014.
Lago Vieito, Angel. Los Aborígenes De Bayamo : Destino Y Legado Histórico. Pinos Nuevos. Ensayo. La Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales, 1994.
Novelo, Victoria. Yucatecos En Cuba : Etnografía De Una Migración. 1a. Edición. ed. Publicaciones De La Casa Chata. México, D.F.: CIESAS, 2009.
Jesús Quiroz, Bernardino De. Códice Aubin: Manuscrito Azteca De La Biblioteca Real De Berlin ; Anales En Mexicano Y Geroglíficos Desde La Salida De Las Tribus De Aztlán Hasta La Muerte De Cuauhtemoc. 2a Edición. ed. México, D.F.: Editorial Innovación, 1980.
Martínez Arango, Felipe. Cronología Crítica De La Guerra Hispano-cubanoamericana. Centenario. Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales : Istituto Cubano Del Libro, 1973.
Armendi, Aurora De. Three Taino Myths. New York: The Center for Book Arts, 2015: Center for Books Arts, 2013.
Roksandic, Ivan. Cuban Archaeology in the Caribbean. Gainesville, Florida: University Press of Florida, 2016.
Casas, Bartolomé De Las, Juan Ginés De Sepúlveda, and Domingo De Soto. Aqui Se Contiene Una Disputa, O Controuersia Entre El Obispo Do[n] Fray Bartholome De Las Casas, O Casaus ...: Fue Impressa La Presente Obra Enla Muy Noble [y] Muy Leal Ciudad De Seuilla, En Casa De Sebastian Trugillo Impressor De Libros ..., 1552.
Azcuy Alón, Fanny. Psicografía Y Supervivencias De Los Aborígenes De Cuba. Publicaciones De La Revista De Educación. La Habana: [Cárdenas Y Cía.], 1941.
García Valdés, Pedro. La Civilizacíon Taína En Pinar Del Río ; Trabajo De Ingreso Presentado. La Habana: Imprenta "El Siglo XX", A. Muñiz Y Hno, 1930.
Historical and Contemporary Newspapers
American Periodicals Series
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).
Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
Gale NewsVault
Cross-searching tool for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections including19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, and many more.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).
Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
Gale NewsVault
Cross-searching tool for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections including19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, and many more.
Archival Collections
Amos Beebe Eaton: A Soldier's Journal of the Second Seminole Indian War
Begins from July 31, 1837, to August 24, 1838, this handwritten journal chronicles the life of a young lieutenant who served in the Second Seminole Indian War. The collection includes personal observations, detailed reports on military activities, occasional sketches and drawings, and extensive commentary on the Seminole Indians and life in Florida.
Library of Congres Native American History and Culture
Includes visual resources such as photographs, drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings, related to North American indigenous communities.
American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Edward Sheriff Curtis: The North American Indian
Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative texts and photogravure plates.
Amerian Indian Treaties Portal
A collection of Native American treaties recognized by the United States Department of State.
John Carter Brown Library Indigenous Language
Contains identified books with native American languages–whether they contain a one-page vocabulary list or are entirely in or on a native American language.
Begins from July 31, 1837, to August 24, 1838, this handwritten journal chronicles the life of a young lieutenant who served in the Second Seminole Indian War. The collection includes personal observations, detailed reports on military activities, occasional sketches and drawings, and extensive commentary on the Seminole Indians and life in Florida.
Library of Congres Native American History and Culture
Includes visual resources such as photographs, drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings, related to North American indigenous communities.
American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Edward Sheriff Curtis: The North American Indian
Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative texts and photogravure plates.
Amerian Indian Treaties Portal
A collection of Native American treaties recognized by the United States Department of State.
John Carter Brown Library Indigenous Language
Contains identified books with native American languages–whether they contain a one-page vocabulary list or are entirely in or on a native American language.
A Librarian