LAW 684: Indigenous Women’s Rights subjectId: 690676

Libraries and archives collect materials from different cultures and time periods for educational and research purposes. The University of Miami Libraries offers public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials, that may contain offensive language, imagery, beliefs, or stereotypes. For example, users may encounter language or content that is misogynistic, racist, transphobic, homophobic, xenophobic, or colonialist. The University of Miami does not endorse the views expressed in such materials. The Libraries strive to describe materials in a manner that is accurate and is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. While some descriptions are written by staff, others reflect language that was used by the people and organizations that created the material. When we encounter problematic language that we believe staff created in the past, we change it. For more information please visit https://www.library.miami.edu/about/harmful-content-statement.html.

Includes manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books ranging from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America

Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
 

Nexis Uni  Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. HeinOnline Foreign & International Law Resources Database A collection of international law research resources. Presented in five parts, FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests and International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions.  HeinOnline Law Journal Library A collection of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals.    ProQuest Congressional Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports, and other publications.   LegalTrac  Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. The American Association of Law Libraries endorses LegalTrac, and its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. This database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

 

Provides the full text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970s with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), 1948

United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR),1993

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP), 2007

International Human Rights Law, 2013

UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Indigenous Women and Girls Report, 2015

UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Implementing the Right of Indigenous Peoples to Self-Determination through Autonomy and Self-Government Report, July 2019

Global Study on the Situation of Indigenous Women and Girls: Our Voices and Actions for Our Rights After 25 Years of Beijing Platform for Action, 2020

Inter-American Court Of Human Rights, 2020

Political Briefing to CEDAW Committee Regarding the Elaboration of General Recommendation 39 on the Rights of Indigenous Women and Girls, 2021

Committee on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights, Draft General Comment on Land, 2021

Committee on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), Draft of General Recommendation No. 39 on the Rights of Indigenous Women and Girls, 2022 

American Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (ADRIP), 2016 

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library 

U.S. Department of State 

UNESCO Official Web Server.

Native American Report., 1997.

The Native American., 1812.

NAIS: Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association., 2014.

Native American People Treaties, Ratified and Unratified.,1787.

International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies., 2008.

American Periodicals Series
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).

Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.

Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.

Gale NewsVault
Cross-searching tool for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections including19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, and many more. 

Trumbull, J. Hammond. [Sammelband of Pamphlets and Offprints on the Subject of Native American Languages. Written by Noted Philologist and Bibliographer J. Hammond Trumbull]. [publisher not identified], 1869.

Wallace, Alfred Russel. A Narrative of Travels on the Amazon and Rio Negro: With an Account of the Native Tribes, and Observations on the Climate, Geology, and Natural History of the Amazon Valley. Reeve and co., 1853.

Peary, Josephine Diebitsch, and Frederick A. Stokes Company, publisher. The Snow Baby: A True Story with True Pictures. Frederick A. Stokes Company, 1901.

Beverly, Maya, et al. Still Not Free. Women's Studio Workshop, 2021.

 SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
 

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
 

Armendi, Aurora de. Three Taino Myths. The Center for Books Arts, 2013.

Suárez, Otton A. El día y la noche del taíno : las culturas aborígenes antillanas. Gente Nueva, 2001.

Granberry, Julian, and Gary S. Vescelius. Languages of the Pre-Columbian Antilles. University of Alabama Press, 2004.

Library of Congres Native American History and Culture
Includes visual resources such as photographs, drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings, related to North American indigenous communities.

National Indigenous Women's Resource Center
The National Indigenous Women’s Resource Center, Inc. (NIWRC) is a Native-led nonprofit organization dedicated to ending violence against Native women and children.

Native American Women
A collection of resources from the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. 

John Carter Brown Library Indigenous Language 
Contains identified books with native American languages–whether they contain a one-page vocabulary list or are entirely in or on a native American language.

Sovereign Bodies Institute
Logs cases of missing and murdered indigenous women, girls, and two-spirit people, from 1900 to the present.

Plateau Peoples' Web Portal
The material in the portal represents the histories, languages, cultural belongings, and contemporary lives of the participating tribes. Many digital heritage items have one or more records associated with them, as well as added traditional knowledge and cultural narratives provided by tribal community members that enhance and enrich understanding to many diverse audiences.

Amerian Indian Treaties Portal
A collection of Native American treaties recognized by the United States Department of State.

American Indian Treaties
Includes original treaties made between the United States and American Indian nations. NARA also houses instructions issued to treaty commissioners, minutes of treaty councils, and other records related to American Indian treaties.

Native American Constitutions and Legal Materials
The Law Library of Congress collection contains a variety of Native American legal materials.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
Over 2,000 documents and images dating from 1730 to 1842 on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S., letters, legal proceedings, military orders, and more.

Nation to Nation
Treaties Between the United States and American Indian Nations.

Indian Law Resource Center
Provides legal assistance to indigenous peoples of the Americas.