Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690596
visibleTabCount: 6
Sources for Writing Research Papers General Citation Sources
Table of Contents
Introduction
University of Miami Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.Sources for Writing Research Papers General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
Select Databases
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
America: History and Life
Includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
America: History and Life
Includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
Databases Relating to Native American & Indigenous Studies
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into AIM's motives, actions, and leadership and the development of Native American radicalism
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Includes manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books ranging from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database that covers all aspects of indigenous culture, history, and life in North America, with more than 350,000 citations and coverage dating from the sixteenth century to the present.
Includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into AIM's motives, actions, and leadership and the development of Native American radicalism
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Brings together more than 100,000 pages, integrating autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. This database is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them and is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Includes manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books ranging from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database that covers all aspects of indigenous culture, history, and life in North America, with more than 350,000 citations and coverage dating from the sixteenth century to the present.
Historical and Contemporary Newspapers
American Periodicals Series
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).
Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
Gale NewsVault
Cross-searching tool for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections including19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, and many more.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).
Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
Gale NewsVault
Cross-searching tool for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections including19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, and many more.
Subject Specialist
Select Print Books
Cappel, Constance. The Smallpox Genocide of the Odawa Tribe at L'Arbre Croche, 1763: The History of a Native American People. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellen, 2007. Print.
Witgen, Michael. An Infinity of Nations: How the Native New World Shaped Early North America. 1st ed., University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011.
Spindel, Carol. Dancing at Halftime: Sports and the Controversy over American Indian Mascots. New York University Press, 2000.
Van de Logt, Mark. Monsters of Contact: Historical Trauma in Caddoan Oral Traditions. University of Oklahoma Press, 2018.
Fixico, Donald Lee. "That's What They Used to Say": Reflections on American Indian Oral Traditions. University of Oklahoma Press, 2017.
Preston, Richard J. Cree Narrative: Expressing the Personal Meanings of Events. Second ed., McGill-Queen's University Press, 2002.
Williams, Robert A. Savage Anxieties: The Invention of Western Civilization. First ed., Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Witgen, Michael. An Infinity of Nations: How the Native New World Shaped Early North America. 1st ed., University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011.
Spindel, Carol. Dancing at Halftime: Sports and the Controversy over American Indian Mascots. New York University Press, 2000.
Van de Logt, Mark. Monsters of Contact: Historical Trauma in Caddoan Oral Traditions. University of Oklahoma Press, 2018.
Fixico, Donald Lee. "That's What They Used to Say": Reflections on American Indian Oral Traditions. University of Oklahoma Press, 2017.
Preston, Richard J. Cree Narrative: Expressing the Personal Meanings of Events. Second ed., McGill-Queen's University Press, 2002.
Williams, Robert A. Savage Anxieties: The Invention of Western Civilization. First ed., Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Select Print Books
uSearch
Select Ebooks
Morgensen, Scott Lauria. Spaces between Us Queer Settler Colonialism and Indigenous Decolonization. Minneapolis: U of Minnesota, 2011. First Peoples (2010). Web.
Billings, Andrew C., et al. Mascot Nation: The Controversy over Native American Representations in Sports. University of Illinois Press, 2018.
Laidlaw, Zoë, Alan Lester, and Ebooks Corporation. Indigenous Communities and Settler Colonialism: Land Holding, Loss and Survival in an Interconnected World. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015. Cambridge Imperial and Post-colonial Studies Ser. Web.
Alvarez, Alex, and Ebrary, Inc. Native America and the Question of Genocide. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. Studies in Genocide: Religion, History, and Human Rights. Web.
Thrasher, Tanya, et al. Land Has Memory Indigenous Knowledge, Native Landscapes, and the National Museum of the American Indian. 1st ed., University of North Carolina Press, 2008.
Emery, Jacqueline, and ProQuest. Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press. University of Nebraska Press, 2017.
Fletcher, Matthew L. M., et al. Facing the Future The Indian Child Welfare Act at 30. Michigan State University Press, 2009.
Billings, Andrew C., et al. Mascot Nation: The Controversy over Native American Representations in Sports. University of Illinois Press, 2018.
Laidlaw, Zoë, Alan Lester, and Ebooks Corporation. Indigenous Communities and Settler Colonialism: Land Holding, Loss and Survival in an Interconnected World. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015. Cambridge Imperial and Post-colonial Studies Ser. Web.
Alvarez, Alex, and Ebrary, Inc. Native America and the Question of Genocide. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. Studies in Genocide: Religion, History, and Human Rights. Web.
Thrasher, Tanya, et al. Land Has Memory Indigenous Knowledge, Native Landscapes, and the National Museum of the American Indian. 1st ed., University of North Carolina Press, 2008.
Emery, Jacqueline, and ProQuest. Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press. University of Nebraska Press, 2017.
Fletcher, Matthew L. M., et al. Facing the Future The Indian Child Welfare Act at 30. Michigan State University Press, 2009.
Select Ebooks
Catalog Search
uSearch
UM Libraries Harmful Content Statement*
Libraries and archives collect materials from different cultures and time periods for educational and research purposes. The University of Miami Libraries offers public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials, that may contain offensive language, imagery, beliefs, or stereotypes. For example, users may encounter language or content that is misogynistic, racist, transphobic, homophobic, xenophobic, or colonialist. The University of Miami does not endorse the views expressed in such materials. The Libraries strive to describe materials in a manner that is accurate and is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. While some descriptions are written by staff, others reflect language that was used by the people and organizations that created the material. When we encounter problematic language that we believe staff created in the past, we change it. For more information please visit https://www.library.miami.edu/about/harmful-content-statement.html.
Archival and Digital Libraries*
Amos Beebe Eaton: A Soldier's Journal of the Second Seminole Indian War
Begins from July 31, 1837, to August 24, 1838, this handwritten journal chronicles the life of a young lieutenant who served in the Second Seminole Indian War. The collection includes personal observations, detailed reports on military activities, occasional sketches and drawings, and extensive commentary on the Seminole Indians and life in Florida.
American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Edward Sheriff Curtis: The North American Indian
Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative texts and photogravure plates.
Amerian Indian Treaties Portal
A collection of Native American treaties recognized by the United States Department of State.
Begins from July 31, 1837, to August 24, 1838, this handwritten journal chronicles the life of a young lieutenant who served in the Second Seminole Indian War. The collection includes personal observations, detailed reports on military activities, occasional sketches and drawings, and extensive commentary on the Seminole Indians and life in Florida.
American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Edward Sheriff Curtis: The North American Indian
Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative texts and photogravure plates.
Amerian Indian Treaties Portal
A collection of Native American treaties recognized by the United States Department of State.
A Librarian