University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

Innovation, Technology & Design

Related Guides: Engineering | Entrepreneurship | MKT201 - Introduction to Marketing

Welcome

Hello and welcome to the Innovation, Technology, and Design Research Guide! This guide is designed to help you begin your research journey by connecting you with key resources available through the University of Miami Libraries and beyond. Use the tabs to explore specific topics, tools, and strategies that will support your academic and professional work. Throughout the guide, you’ll find sections labeled “Diverse Voices,” which highlight the contributions of individuals from historically underrepresented groups in STEM and provide resources that address the ongoing challenges of diversity and inclusion in the field.

Need help?

Getting Started

Ready to start searching?
uSearch allows you to discover materials from all University of Miami Libraries.
Need help with uSearch?
The uSearch Guide will help you with searching.
Not finding what you want in uSearch?
Through an interlibrary loan you can borrow items outside of UM.
Is the library open?
Different library hours are posted on this page.
Off Campus?
A Virtual Private Network (VPN) will let you connect to resources while away.
Are you an undergraduate?
Undergraduate Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for undergraduates, many of which are online.
Are you a graduate?
Graduate Essentials has recommended resources at the library for graduate students, many of which are online.
Are you faculty?
Faculty Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for faculty, many of which are online.

Library Chat box

Image credit

Image by Vectorportal.com,  CC BY (adaptations made to image)

Article Types

Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.

Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 

Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

Databases

Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Formerly known as Small Business Resource Center, search Gale Business: Entrepreneurship to learn how to plan, fund, start or manage your small business. Resources include; sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and websites.

Business Insights: Global

A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.

Statista
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.

Library Catalog

Resource not in the UM Catalog?

References

Bullock, A., Jennings, C., & Timbrell, N. (2019). Peer review. In A dictionary of publishing. Oxford University Press.

Libraries, U. of T. (2015, November 5). What counts as a scholarly source? https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/what-counts-scholarly-source

Preprints. (n.d.). PLOS. Retrieved August 9, 2022, from https://plos.org/open-science/preprints/

eBooks

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Users will be prompted to authenticate both on campus and off campus. Books may be viewed online using the EBook Central reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.

Ebook Collection (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to over 20,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the EBSCOhost Full Text reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own EBSCOhost account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.

Research Methods (Sage)
Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.

Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to Wiley journals, books, and reference works.

eReferences

Access Science
Online encyclopedic resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.

Dover
Popular publisher covering a broad range of subjects.

Knovel
Online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries, and datasets covering the full range of engineering and science discipline.

Oxford Reference Online
Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.

Synthesis
Synthesis is an information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field. Synthesis is organized by series, each managed by a consulting editor. The series editor oversees lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review to assure quality.

Library Catalog

Resource not in the UM Catalog?

Diverse Voices

What is a dissertation or thesis?

Dissertation: A lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree (for most United States universities).​

Thesis: A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree (for most United States universities).

Dissertations/Theses

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.

Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.

PhdData
Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

Library Catalog

Resource not in the UM Catalog?

References

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about

Podcasts

  • Unconventional Engineering (ASME)
    Roy and Tom interview guests from across the world of mechanical engineering to interesting and unconventional ways they are using their skills to solve real world problems and advance engineering for the benefit of humanity.

  • Engineering Our Future Podcast
    Learn what the best engineers are working on, creating, and teaching so you can develop the skills needed to maintain your role as a key member of society.

  • How I Built This
    Guy Raz interviews the world’s best-known entrepreneurs to learn how they built their iconic brands.

Twitter

  • @IntEngineering
    Interesting Engineering is a cutting edge, leading community designed for all lovers of engineering, technology and science.

  • @IEEESpectrum
    The latest technology news and analysis from the world's leading engineering magazine.

  • @EntrepreneurInspiring, informing and celebrating entrepreneurs.

Videos

  • Academic Video Online
    AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Journal of Visual Experiments (JoVE): Engineering
    Peer-reviewed scientific video journal with subscribed content.
  • TEDx: Innovation Playlist

Diverse Voices

@BlackWomenSTEM
An online community for self-identified Black women in STEM.

@LGBTSTEM
Improving LGBTQ+ visibility in STEM.

@VanguardSTEM
Encouraging conversations between emerging & established women of color in STEM.

Engineering Change Podcast
Engineering Change is the podcast designed to help REDEFINE engineering as we know it by.

Definitions

Conference Paper: An original paper at a formal gathering of peers which may be subsequently published in its proceedings.

Conference Proceeding: The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association.

Gray/Grey Literature: Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature.

Conference Proceedings

Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Search and view the enriched abstracts of more than 4 million documents in the IEEE Xplore digital library including all IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards.

SPIE Digital Library
SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.

AIP conference proceedings
We've recently switched to all-electronic for AIP's conference proceedings so look here for the latest information.

Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy
Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide.

Library Catalog

Resource not in the UM Catalog?

Organizations

Entrepreneurs' Organization
National Society of Professional Engineers
The Indus Entrepreneurs
United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Diverse Voices

Conference Proceedings

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about

What is a patent?

A privilege granted to the inventor of a new product or process. Excludes others from producing or making use of an invention for a limited period, unless under license from the holder of the patent.

Link List

Google Patents
Good for browsing or if you know the exact patent number.

Lens
Covers many international patent databases and jurisdictions.

World Intellectual Property Organization PatentScope
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 106 million patent documents including 4.4 million published international patent applications (PCT).

United States Patent and Trademark Office
Search for patents in the United States Patent and Trademark Office database.

Free Patents Online
Global patent search engine.

esp@cenet
Euproean patent search engine.

Japanese Patent Office
Japanese patent repository.

University of Miami Policies

  • Inventions, Intellectual Property, and Technology Transfer
    The purpose of this policy is to outline rights and responsibilities regarding inventions, intellectual property and technology transfer and to provide guidelines for the protection, management, and commercial application of nnovations.
  • U Innovation Office
    U Innovation oversees all aspects of technology commercialization at the University of Miami. Our team supports, promotes, and facilitates the transfer of university innovations for the benefit of the university community and the public.

Diverse Voices

African American Inventors Patent List

References

Patent. In World Encyclopedia. Philip's. Retrieved 19 Aug. 2022, from https://www-oxfordreference-com.access.library.miami.edu/view/10.1093/acref/9780199546091.001.0001/acref-9780199546091-e-8766.

Data

Image Editing

Prototyping

Video

Wireframing

Created with Microsoft Copilot

Man sitting at desk in front of a computer with a cloud shape above his head and computers to his right and left along with lines connecting to the cloud and computers.