History of the United States subjectId: 690322

The Libraries at UM have a vast collection of primary documents and reference sources that highlight all aspects of American history such as the American War of Independence or the 1960s Civil Rights era. The Libraries’ also have specific guides on the American Civil War and Confederacy and the African American Diaspora and experience. In addition to materials relating to current American history, the Libraries also have an extensive collection of databases and resources that highlight the rich history of Miami and South Florida.

General Database Resources

• America: History and Life
• American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
• Gale U.S. History In Context
• History Resource Center: United States
• Time Magazine Archive
• U.S. Census Bureau
• U.S. Documents Masterfile

Select Primary Source Databases

• Artemis: Primary Sources
• Evans Collection
• Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)
• Shaw Shoemaker Collection

Historical Newspapers

• American Periodicals Series
• Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
• HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: Civil War Era, Reconstruction and Gilded Age I & II Database)
• The ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times, The (1851-2014)
• The ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000)
• Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards

Select State Resources

• Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal
• Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis & the Communist Workers Party
• Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
• Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
• Voices from the Dust Bowl: the Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection, 1940-1941

Visual Databases

• Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
• Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
• Statistical Abstract of the United States

America's Historical Imprints
Contains monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera. Available here: Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.

JSTOR with Image Search
​ARTstor images are now available via JSTOR image search. When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find Artstor's 3.2+ million licensed images and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.

Associated Press Images Collection
More than 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, and more than 340,000 professionally-produced graphics. Coverage spans over 185 years, with more than 3,500 photos added daily.

Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection Archives of the Federal Writers Project: Printed and Mimeographed Publications in the Surviving Federal Writers Project Files, 1933-1943.

United States Geological Survey Map Locator
Allows people to find the topographic maps they need, by searching zip code, address, or navigating on an interactive map. Users can see satellite imagery or a seamless USGS topographic map view, order printed maps or download a scanned map image. Paper copies of many of these maps are available in our General Map Collection.

The University Libraries has an extensive collection of material relating the African diaspora and the African-American experience. Items in the collection explore the African diaspora within various lenses and methodolgies such as literature, music, newspapers, and popular culture.
 

General Database Resources

• American History and Culture Online: Sabin American, 1500-1926
• Civil War Era (ProQuest)
• Civil War in Words and Deeds
• Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals

Special Collections

• The Valley of Shadow (UVA)
• The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Civil War Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
• Letters from the American Civil War, 1860-64 (The National Library of Wales)
• Shaw Shoemaker Collection

Select Topics and Databases

• Black Studies Center
• Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress
• Images of 19th C African Americans

Music

• African-American Band Music & Recordings, 1883-1923
• African American History in the American West
• African-American Sheet Music