HIS 561/662: New Directions in the History of the Old South subjectId: 690701

This guide provides supportive materials for History 551/History 662 and provides resources, databases, historical newspapers, digital collections on events surrounding the American Civil War.

General Citation Sources

• Chicago Manual of Style Online
• EndNote
• Mendeley
• RefWorks
• Zoter

 

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library

Artemis: Primary Sources It is an integrated research platform that includes all databases regarding primary sources such as Historical Archive, 1842-2003, Archives Unbound, and Eighteenth Century Collections Online. Civil War Era (ProQuest) Includes primary sources, original articles pages, and images from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War. Colonial America Includes the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period. Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama HF Digitized from the Scholarly Resources microfilm collection entitled "Confederate Newspapers." All issues in the microfilm have been included. 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).    Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920 Showcases unique primary source material for studying American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.\ Making of America Journals (Cornell) Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th-century imprints.

Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926) Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published worldwide from 1500 to the early 1900s.   Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Part I contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.

Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5

Robert F. Berkhofer. Salvation and the Savage: An Analysis of Protestant Missions and American Indian Response, 1787--1862. The University Press of Kentucky, 2015.

Brophy, Alfred L. University, Court, and Slave: Pro-Slavery Thought in Southern Colleges and Courts and the Coming of Civil War. Oxford University Press, Incorporated, 2016.

LaRoche, Cheryl Janifer. Free Black Communities and the Underground Railroad: The Geography of Resistance. 1st ed., University of Illinois Press, 2013.

Delbanco, Andrew, et al. The Abolitionist Imagination. Harvard University Press, 2012.

Pryor, Elizabeth Stordeur. Colored Travelers: Mobility and the Fight for Citizenship Before the Civil War. 1st ed., University of North Carolina Press, 2016.

Fett, Sharla M. Recaptured Africans: Surviving Slave Ships, Detention, and Dislocation in the Final Years of the Slave Trade. 1st ed., University of North Carolina Press, 2017.

Lause, Mark A. Free Spirits: Spiritualism, Republicanism, and Radicalism in the Civil War Era. 1st ed., University of Illinois Press, 2016.

Grivno, Max. Gleanings of Freedom. University of Illinois Press, 2011.

Boles, Richard J. Dividing the Faith. NYU Press, 2020.