Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690629
visibleTabCount: 5
Table of Contents
Introduction
This guide provides supportive materials for History 551/History 662 and provides resources, databases, historical newspapers, digital collections on events surrounding the American Civil War.
General Citation Sources
General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
General Databases
ProQuest Research Library
Has in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles from 1971 forward.
JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
America: History and Life
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
Has in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles from 1971 forward.
JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
America: History and Life
It includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
| Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal) Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. |
Specialized Databases
| Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926) Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Civil War Era (ProQuest) Includes primary sources, with original articles pages, images from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War.
American History 1493 - 1945 Includes two modules and module I covers American settlement, commerce, and the revolutionary period.
Artemis: Primary Sources Integrated research platform that includes all databases regarding primary sources such as Historical Archive, 1842-2003, Archives Unbound, and Eighteenth Century Collections Online. |
Finding Databases
Aggregated Newspaper Databases
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.
Historical Newspapers
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune (1841-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Tribune is a full image archive. The database delivers every page of every available issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF from 1841 to 1922.
Richmond Daily Dispatch
Digital library of Civil War-era newspapers from the University of Richmond.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library
| African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides first-hand reports of the cultural life and history of African-Americans in the United States.
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune (1841-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Tribune is a full image archive. The database delivers every page of every available issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF from 1841 to 1922.
Richmond Daily Dispatch
Digital library of Civil War-era newspapers from the University of Richmond.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library
Provides access to the news and history of Florida. Over 700,000 pages of historic and current Florida newspapers in the FDNL are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
| Baltimore Afro-American, The (1893-1988)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
|
Select Journals
Civil War Times. Harrisburg, PA: PRIMEDIA History Group, 2002.
Civil War History. Kent, Ohio: Kent State University Press, 1955.
The Journal of the Civil War Era. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2011.
Pamphlets on the Civil War, 1861-1865. ProQuest I&L Research Collections, n.d.
Subject Specialist
Spotlight: Florida and The Civil War
Wynne, Lewis Nicholas, and Robert A. Taylor. Florida in the Civil War. Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 2001.
Weitz, Seth A., and Jonathan C. Sheppard. A Forgotten Front: Florida During the Civil War Era. Tuscaloosa: The University of Alabama Press, 2018.
Buker, George E. Blockaders, Refugees, & Contrabands: Civil War on Florida's Gulf Coast, 1861-1865. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 2004.
Iacono, Anthony Joseph. So Far Away, so Close to Home: Florida and the Civil War Era. Place of publication not identified]: [publisher not identified], 2000.
Florida. Board of State Institutions. Soldiers of Florida in the Seminole Indian, Civil, and Spanish-American Wars. Macclenny, Fla.: R.J. Ferry, 1983.
Schafer, Daniel L. Thunder on the River: the Civil War in Northeast Florida. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2010
Weitz, Seth A., and Jonathan C. Sheppard. A Forgotten Front: Florida During the Civil War Era. Tuscaloosa: The University of Alabama Press, 2018.
Buker, George E. Blockaders, Refugees, & Contrabands: Civil War on Florida's Gulf Coast, 1861-1865. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 2004.
Iacono, Anthony Joseph. So Far Away, so Close to Home: Florida and the Civil War Era. Place of publication not identified]: [publisher not identified], 2000.
Florida. Board of State Institutions. Soldiers of Florida in the Seminole Indian, Civil, and Spanish-American Wars. Macclenny, Fla.: R.J. Ferry, 1983.
Schafer, Daniel L. Thunder on the River: the Civil War in Northeast Florida. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2010
Select Print and EBooks
Select Print and EBooks
uSearch
UML Special Collections
Crane, Stephen. The Little Regiment, and Other Episodes of the American Civil War. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1896.
Fisher, Richard Swainson. A Chronological History of the Civil War in America. New York: Johnson and Ward, 1863.
Evans, Clement A., J. L. M. Curry, William Robertson Garrett, Bradley T. Johnson, Robert White, Jedediah Hotchkiss, D. H. Hill, et al. Confederate Military History : a Library of Confederate States History. Atlanta, Ga.: Confederate Publishing Company, 1899.
Crane, Stephen. The Red Badge of Courage: An Episode of the American Civil War. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1896.
Fisher, Richard Swainson. A Chronological History of the Civil War in America. New York: Johnson and Ward, 1863.
Evans, Clement A., J. L. M. Curry, William Robertson Garrett, Bradley T. Johnson, Robert White, Jedediah Hotchkiss, D. H. Hill, et al. Confederate Military History : a Library of Confederate States History. Atlanta, Ga.: Confederate Publishing Company, 1899.
Crane, Stephen. The Red Badge of Courage: An Episode of the American Civil War. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1896.
A Librarian