Cuban Heritage Collection

An introduction to doing research at the Cuban Heritage Collection, including information about our services and accessing our materials.

Established in 1985 by two poets and working with an ever-expanding team of collaborators and makers, Ediciones Vigía occupies a space at the zenith of Cuban book arts.

In this guide, you will encounter materials to assist in the research of the University of Miami Libraries' Afro-Cuban Collections. The resources included in this guide range from archival collectionslike the Lydia Cabrera papers, databases, and more.

Anna "Connie" Veltfort was born in 1945 in Germany. She is a writer and illustrator living in New York City. Most of her childhood in the 1950s was spent in the United States. She was brought to Cuba in 1962 which shaped her identity.

A guide to the music collections at the Cuban Heritage Collection. Includes a spreadsheet with information about music scores in non-music collections.

A guide to researching the history of Asian migrations and histories, emphasizing Chinese and Afro-Chinese cultural production in Cuba resulting from the presence of unfree Chinese laborers in Cuba’s sugar industry from the mid-19th century.

This guide provides an organized collection of resources and tools for genealogical research of Cuban ancestry and family history.

A guide to the theater collections at the Cuban Heritage Collection. Includes links to archival and print materials related to our theater holdings.

The Lydia Cabrera collections at the CHC offer outstanding cultural, educational, and research opportunities on a wealth of topics including Cuban and Afro-Cuban religion and culture, Caribbean, Latin American, Spanish and African literatures and ways of

This guide provides resources available at the Cuban Heritage Collection and materials held at other institutions for investigating Mariel from a variety of angles and through multiple approaches and disciplines.

Operation Pedro Pan's history involves the unprecedented migration of 14,000 unaccompanied minors as they left their beloved Cuba for the United States from 1960-1962.

A guide to resources collected by the Cuban Heritage Collection on the 17 December 2014 US-Cuba policy change announcement. Includes visualizations of Twitter data captured during the announcement.