Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 545673
visibleTabCount: 8
If the patron wants to send it through FedEx or another trackable courier, they are to use this address:
Otto G. Richter Library - ILL
1300 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
If they want to send it regular USPS, they are to use this address:
University of Miami- Richter Library
P.O. Box 248214
Coral Gables, FL 33124-0320
Microfilm/Microfiche questions can be directed to Terri Robar at trobar@miami.edu
Cameron Riopelle
The UPS Store
Frequent Contacts
Research Service Point (Consultation Zone Service Point): 305-284-4722 or askalibrarian@miami.edu
Access Services: 305-284-3233 or richter.circulation@miami.edu
Creative Studios: 305-284-2548 or creativestudio@miami.edu
Special Collections: 305-284-9552 or asc.library@miami.edu
University Archives: 305-284-3247 or asc.library@miami.edu
Cuban Heritage Collection: 305-284-4900 or chc@miami.edu
Interlibrary Loan: 305-284-6102 or ill.library@miami.edu
Library IT Systems Support: 305-284-4056 or help@miami.edu
Maps/Terri Robar: 305-484-4988 or trobar@miami.edu
Calder Medical Library (Ask-A-Librarian) (305) 243-6648
Access Services: 305-284-3233 or richter.circulation@miami.edu
Creative Studios: 305-284-2548 or creativestudio@miami.edu
Special Collections: 305-284-9552 or asc.library@miami.edu
University Archives: 305-284-3247 or asc.library@miami.edu
Cuban Heritage Collection: 305-284-4900 or chc@miami.edu
Interlibrary Loan: 305-284-6102 or ill.library@miami.edu
Library IT Systems Support: 305-284-4056 or help@miami.edu
Maps/Terri Robar: 305-484-4988 or trobar@miami.edu
Calder Medical Library (Ask-A-Librarian) (305) 243-6648
Calder Library Services
Got a question from the medical campus about accessing journals/databases?
Refer to the Calder Library's Library Services: 305-243-6403
Jackson Resident Remote Access Issues:
Pre-quarantine Jackson residents had to appear in person at Calder to receive access. With remote work this is no longer an option. In the case a Jackson resident contacts the Research Desk for access help, direct them to fill out this form:
Calder Library Online Remote Access Application
A copy of the resident's badge is required for verification of status. If the resident is new and does not yet have a JHS badge, forward requests to libraryservices@miami.edu.
Refer to the Calder Library's Library Services: 305-243-6403
Jackson Resident Remote Access Issues:
Pre-quarantine Jackson residents had to appear in person at Calder to receive access. With remote work this is no longer an option. In the case a Jackson resident contacts the Research Desk for access help, direct them to fill out this form:
Calder Library Online Remote Access Application
A copy of the resident's badge is required for verification of status. If the resident is new and does not yet have a JHS badge, forward requests to libraryservices@miami.edu.
Weather Information
On-Campus Contacts
Bookstore: (305) 284-4101
Emergency Contacts
- UM Police Department: 305-284-6666
- Coral Gables PD: 911
Bookmarks
Student Readiness Orientation (SRO) Access Requests
Students in the Student Readiness Orientation (SRO) program often request access to library resources. We no longer make exceptions for SRO students trying to access UM Libraries resources. See language below for details:
Since Student Readiness Orientation (SRO) students have not yet officially matriculated, UM Libraries are not providing access to library resources until their courses begin. The SRO program recommends using resources available on the open internet to complete SRO preparatory work. If you have further questions regarding completing SRO modules, please reach out to your SRO program head for direction.
Since Student Readiness Orientation (SRO) students have not yet officially matriculated, UM Libraries are not providing access to library resources until their courses begin. The SRO program recommends using resources available on the open internet to complete SRO preparatory work. If you have further questions regarding completing SRO modules, please reach out to your SRO program head for direction.
Zoom URL for Virtual Consultations
The meeting URL is: https://miami.zoom.us/my/uml.prc
If someone wants to manually type in the meeting id, it is 305 809 7770
Users need to authenticate with UM credentials in order to join the meeting. This will reduce the possibility of Zoombombing.
If someone wants to manually type in the meeting id, it is 305 809 7770
Users need to authenticate with UM credentials in order to join the meeting. This will reduce the possibility of Zoombombing.
Special Collections, CHC, Archives Open
Special Collections, the Cuban Heritage Collection, and University Archives are now open in a limited capacity for in-person visits, by appointment only.
Current university students, staff and faculty may book appointments. Alumni and non-UM patrons must email Special Collections/CHC/Archives directly to book their appointment.
All appointments for Special Collections, the CHC, and Archives will be held in the CHC reading room area.
The CHC is open Monday and Tuesday. To make an appointment, go here: Book an Appointment in the CHC
Special Collections and Archives are open Thursday and Friday. To make an appointment, go here: Book an Appointment in Special Collections and Archives
For further questions about Special Collections appointments, email here: asc.library@miami.edu
For further questions about CHC appointments, email here: chc@miami.edu
Current university students, staff and faculty may book appointments. Alumni and non-UM patrons must email Special Collections/CHC/Archives directly to book their appointment.
All appointments for Special Collections, the CHC, and Archives will be held in the CHC reading room area.
The CHC is open Monday and Tuesday. To make an appointment, go here: Book an Appointment in the CHC
Special Collections and Archives are open Thursday and Friday. To make an appointment, go here: Book an Appointment in Special Collections and Archives
For further questions about Special Collections appointments, email here: asc.library@miami.edu
For further questions about CHC appointments, email here: chc@miami.edu
COVID-19 Information and Resources
Page Loading Error
Issue: After logging in via CaneLink, patrons are unable to view the selected reosurce. They may see a 404 error message or a blank page. If this happens here are some initial suggestions:
- Clear browser cache/cookies.
- Use a different web browser OR Use a private / incognito browser
- Contact UM IT 305-284-4056 or help@miami.edu
Out of State Book Return
Students who graduated, are living out of state, and have library books they need to return, can ship the items back using the following information:
If the patron wants to send it through FedEx or another trackable courier, they are to use this address:
Otto G. Richter Library - ILL
1300 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
If they want to send it regular USPS, they are to use this address:
University of Miami- Richter Library
P.O. Box 248214
Coral Gables, FL 33124-0320
Microfilm
If a patron wants to use Microfilm, they must book a seat at the microfilm table, the same way they would book any other seat in the library. There is a booking option for Microfilm.
Microfilm/Microfiche questions can be directed to Terri Robar at trobar@miami.edu
Remote Labs
Remote Labs
The Remote Labs service is an experimental service that provides students who are working off campus with the capability to connect to a physical computer on campus and access all the software they are used to have in the computer lab. Please note that this service is experimental, and as such, there may be downtimes and intermittent connectivity interruptions.
If you receive a question about Remote Labs that you cannot answer, please forward to Systems at: Richter.systems@miami.edu
If you get questions about the technical aspects of connecting to Remote Lab computers, direct patrons to:
Remote Labs Support via the Student Technology Help Desk
The Remote Labs service is an experimental service that provides students who are working off campus with the capability to connect to a physical computer on campus and access all the software they are used to have in the computer lab. Please note that this service is experimental, and as such, there may be downtimes and intermittent connectivity interruptions.
If you receive a question about Remote Labs that you cannot answer, please forward to Systems at: Richter.systems@miami.edu
If you get questions about the technical aspects of connecting to Remote Lab computers, direct patrons to:
Remote Labs Support via the Student Technology Help Desk
Citation Guide
UM Citation Guide
This guide will provide information on citation styles (APA, MLA, AMA, Chicago, Turabian) and citation management systems (EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero)
This guide will provide information on citation styles (APA, MLA, AMA, Chicago, Turabian) and citation management systems (EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero)
Non UM Patron Access
Non-UM Patron Access
This guide discusses UM's access policy
This guide discusses UM's access policy
University of Miami Libraries Guide for Researchers
UM Libraries Guide for Reserchers
This guide compiles a list of the most relavant resources for researchers
This guide compiles a list of the most relavant resources for researchers
UM Researcher Funding
Open Acess Funding
This guide provides information on open access publishing support provided by the University of Miami Libraries. The Libraries have established publishing agreements (some are pilot programs) which provide researchers with qualifying articles the possibility of APC (article publishing charge) funding.
In addition, the University of Miami Libraries manages the Scholarship@Miami research repository which allows authors to publish green open access, if their author agreement allows.
This guide provides information on open access publishing support provided by the University of Miami Libraries. The Libraries have established publishing agreements (some are pilot programs) which provide researchers with qualifying articles the possibility of APC (article publishing charge) funding.
In addition, the University of Miami Libraries manages the Scholarship@Miami research repository which allows authors to publish green open access, if their author agreement allows.
Scholarship@Miami
Scholarship@Miami features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff of the university.
Items in Scholarship@Miami include published articles, UM theses and dissertations, data sets, conference papers, proceedings, lectures, projects, reports, presentations, performances, and other scholarly work and research output.
Questions? Please contact repository.library@miami.edu.
Items in Scholarship@Miami include published articles, UM theses and dissertations, data sets, conference papers, proceedings, lectures, projects, reports, presentations, performances, and other scholarly work and research output.
Questions? Please contact repository.library@miami.edu.
LRS Librarians
Lauren Fralinger - Department Head
Education and Arts & Sciences Librarian
(305) 284-4053
l.fralinger@miami.edu
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
(305) 284-3257
axl641@miami.edu
Saily Marrero
Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
(305) 284-2040
sxm1838@miami.edu
Erica Newcome
STEM and Interdisciplinary Research Librarian
(305) 284-4059
exn297@miami.edu
Terri Robar
Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
(305) 284-6028
trobar@miami.edu
LRS Information Specialists
Library Assistant Office: 305-284-4067
Nyabi Benjamin
nxb575@miami.edu
Danny Scherwatzky
dcs152@miami.edu
Access Services and ILL
Access Services:
(305) 284-4811
richter.circulation@miami.edu
Jose Rodriguez
(305) 284-6466
jfr133@miami.edu
Glen Wiley
(305) 284-1561
g.wiley@miami.edu
Interlibrary Loan:
(305) 284-6102
https://triton.library.miami.edu/
John Sandoval
(305) 284 6102
jsandoval1@miami.edu
GIS Services
Cameron Riopelle
Director of Research Data & Open Scholarship
criopelle@miami.edu
IT Support contact info
Richter Library Location
Tel: (305) 243-5346
Fax: (305) 243-6411
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Richter Library
Information Desk
1300 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Coral Gables Location
Tel: (305) 284-8887
Fax: (305) 284-6411
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Richter Library
3rd Floor, Room 325
1300 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Law School Location
Tel: (305) 284-5297
Fax: (305) 284-6411
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Law School Library
1311 Miller Drive
Room C-118
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Medical Campus Location
Tel: (305) 243-8543
Fax: (305) 243-7840
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Calder Memorial Library
1601 NW 10th Ave
Room 1018A
Miami, FL 33136
Tel: (305) 243-5346
Fax: (305) 243-6411
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Richter Library
Information Desk
1300 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Coral Gables Location
Tel: (305) 284-8887
Fax: (305) 284-6411
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Richter Library
3rd Floor, Room 325
1300 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Law School Location
Tel: (305) 284-5297
Fax: (305) 284-6411
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Law School Library
1311 Miller Drive
Room C-118
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Medical Campus Location
Tel: (305) 243-8543
Fax: (305) 243-7840
E-mail: sthd@miami.edu
Address:
Calder Memorial Library
1601 NW 10th Ave
Room 1018A
Miami, FL 33136
Creative Studio
Creative Studio:
305-284-2548
creativestudio@miami.edu
https://www.library.miami.edu/creative-studio/
Vanessa Rodriguez
(305) 284-4042
vrodrigu@miami.edu
UML Library Staff Listings
Richter Library Printers
UPrint Feedback Form
For any inquiries regarding UPrint funds or any other UPrint related question, students can fill out this form. Note: Students can just fill out N/A for the UPrint Device Serial #
http://studentsupport.it.miami.edu/uprint/feedback_forms.html
http://studentsupport.it.miami.edu/uprint/feedback_forms.html
UML IT Contacts
Off-Campus computer repair and accessories
Apple Store, Dadeland
7509 N Kendall Dr
Miami, FL 33156
(305) 341-9812
Geek Squad / Best Buy
Miami, FL 33156
(305) 341-9812
7751 Bird Rd
Miami, FL 33155
(305) 662-7073
Miami, FL 33155
(305) 662-7073
Campus IT Information
Student Technology Help Desk
Located on the 3rd Floor, Richter Library, Room 325
Technology Product Center
Student and faculty software download
Computer Labs
Located on the 3rd Floor, Richter Library, Room 325
Technology Product Center
Student and faculty software download
Computer Labs
Places to Eat
General Purpose Spaces
General Purpose Spaces on campus
UML Rooms and Spaces - Study rooms and other UML Spaces
UM Conference Services - Meeting Spaces and Rates / University Spaces Registration
UML Rooms and Spaces - Study rooms and other UML Spaces
UM Conference Services - Meeting Spaces and Rates / University Spaces Registration
Off-Campus locations and services
The following is a list of close, off-campus services and locations that may be of use to some students. The links goes directly to driving directions to the location from the Richter Library.
Computer Repair and Accessories
Apple Store, Dadeland
7509 N Kendall Dr
Miami, FL 33156
(305) 341-9812
Geek Squad / Best Buy
Miami, FL 33156
(305) 341-9812
7751 Bird Rd
Miami, FL 33155
(305) 662-7073
Miami, FL 33155
(305) 662-7073
Post Office
US Post Office
5927 SW 70th St
South Miami, FL 33143
(305) 661-0664
South Miami, FL 33143
(305) 661-0664
Printing Services
FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
2417 Ponce De Leon Blvd
Miami, FL 33134
(305) 445-2208
Sunset Quickprint
Miami, FL 33134
(305) 445-2208
5833 Ponce De Leon Blvd
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 666-8066
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 666-8066
The UPS Store
1172 S Dixie Hwy
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 667-2181
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 667-2181
Public Libraries and Bookstores
Nearest public libraries
Visit mdpls.org for more information, including catalog
Coral Gables Library
Visit mdpls.org for more information, including catalog
Coral Gables Library
3443 Segovia St
Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 442-8706
Virrick Park Branch Library
Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 442-8706
3255 Plaza St
Miami, FL 33133
(305) 442-7872
South Miami Branch Library
Miami, FL 33133
(305) 442-7872
6000 Sunset Drive
South Miami, FL 33143
(305) 667-6121
Main Library
South Miami, FL 33143
(305) 667-6121
101 W Flagler St
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-2665
Nearest bookstores
Barnes & Noble Booksellers
Book Horizons
Books & Books Inc
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-2665
Nearest bookstores
Barnes & Noble Booksellers
Shops At Sunset Place
5701 Sunset Dr, S. Miami, FL 33143
(305) 662-4770
5701 Sunset Dr, S. Miami, FL 33143
(305) 662-4770
Book Horizons
1110 S Dixie Hwy
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 665-6161
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 665-6161
Books & Books Inc
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 442-4408
Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 442-4408
LRS FAQ
(Updated January 2024)
Account and Access Issues
IT and Website Issues
Access and Borrowing Privileges
Cane Card Services
CaneID Authentication Issues (when trying to access library resources):
- Visit the IT Help Desk
- Submit a new request on ALMA under Authentication/EZ Proxy (goes to Cheryl and Courtnay)
CaneID Issues (General issues, forgotten passwords, disabled accounts, etc.)
- Visit https://caneidhelp.miami.edu/caneid/
- Contact the UMIT Service Desk at itsupportcenter@miami.edu or (305) 284-6565.
Computer Issues (Hardware and software issues on Information Commons computers, including study rooms)
- Visit UML Tech Help Desk
- Submit a new request on ALMA under Information Commons Computer Repair (goes to library IT)
Faxing
- Free faxing service for students, faculty, staff, and alumni is available at the Student Technology Help Desk located on the 3rd floor of Richter Library, Room 325
- Law Library’s Copy Center also provides fax service.
Libraryh3lp chat issues
- Check out their twitter page for server status issues and updates, if any: https://twitter.com/libraryh3lp
- Visit http://libraryh3lp.com and chat with customer service.
- E-mail support@libraryh3lp.com, call 877-844-5371
Non-UM Patron Access
Notary Services
- The UM School of Law has various staff members that can provide notary services. Check for updated list on the School of Law Registrar Service page: http://www.law.miami.edu/iml/courses-registration/registrar-services-and-forms
Printer and UPrint issues (Technical)
- For printer errors, notify: Library Technology Help Desk
- We should only use the paper we are supplied with. Resume paper, card stock, and labels can easily jam these machines. UPrint/Canon mentions this on their FAQ.
- UPrint feedback requests can be done through these forms: https://studentsupport.it.miami.edu/uprint/feedback_forms.html
Purchase Suggestion (Books, Journals, Databases, etc.)
- Fill out Suggest a Purchase Form (https://library.miami.edu/suggest-a-purchase)
- Contact subject librarian
Room Reservations
- In general, any UM faculty or department may request a room. No guarantees are made to their availability.
- Have them e-mail askalibrarian@miami.edu with dates, times, and approximate number of people. Information Literacy Lab, GIS/Seminar room, and group study rooms only. This all depends on availability, time of year, and frequency.
- For CHC Conference Room, e-mail chc@miami.edu, or call 305-284-4900
Tours
- Have them fill out an Instruction & Tour Request Form.
UPrint funds / Guest Copy Cards
- Check UPrint balance by simply scanning card/typing CaneID into any printer.
- UPrint funds do not rollover.
- Students can add additional more money to print via CaneExpress, located through CaneLINK. UPrint automatically begins to deduct from CaneExpress once UPrint funds are at zero.
Website Issues (Specifically UML)
- For database errors, see Electronic Resource Error
- Legacy Ticketing System under Library Website (goes to webmaster, Cheryl and Andrew)
Library and Learning Commons Services
Printing and Faxing
Passwords, Access Codes, etc.
CINEP
usario: UNIMIAMI
clave: UNIMIAMI
Refworks
If prompted remotely for a University Subscriber Group Code, enter RWUMiami. The service will prompt for your individual LOGIN and PASSWORD. Users must click on the User Login link near the top of the RefWorks homepage to create a new account or access an existing account.
clave: UNIMIAMI
Refworks
If prompted remotely for a University Subscriber Group Code, enter RWUMiami. The service will prompt for your individual LOGIN and PASSWORD. Users must click on the User Login link near the top of the RefWorks homepage to create a new account or access an existing account.
Downloading Articles from Scopus in Chrome
This is a Google Chrome problem. If a patron attempts to download articles from the database Scopus, users are told to download and install a web browser extension. But when you click the “get extension” button on the Scopus website, they’re taken to the Chrome store, but there’s no option to download this extension. Best solution is to use Firefox or Safari.
One Book, One U 2024
Find information on upcoming One Book, One U events as well as research resources, dicussion guides, and more!
UM Learning Commons Orientation Guide 2024
Welcome to UM Libraries & Learning Commons – Spring 2024
This guide will help studnets learn all the services, resources, and tools needed to be successful this semester.
This guide will help studnets learn all the services, resources, and tools needed to be successful this semester.
UM Researcher Publishing Agreement
University of Miami Libraries funds APCs for affiliated authors publishing in PLOS journals
On January 1, 2022, an agreement between the University of Miami Libraries and Public Library of Science (PLOS) will begin.This agreement allows University of Miami researchers who are listed as corresponding authors to publish in any of the 12 PLOS journals (listed below) at no additional cost to themselves or their funding agencies.
This initial agreement ends on December 31, 2024. Click here to explore open access publishing options with PLOS.
On January 1, 2022, an agreement between the University of Miami Libraries and Public Library of Science (PLOS) will begin.This agreement allows University of Miami researchers who are listed as corresponding authors to publish in any of the 12 PLOS journals (listed below) at no additional cost to themselves or their funding agencies.
This initial agreement ends on December 31, 2024. Click here to explore open access publishing options with PLOS.
A Librarian