Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690660
visibleTabCount: 4
-6878fae53221c538275795_large.jpg)
Welcome to The U and UML!
Welcome to the University of Miami, UM Libraries, and the Learning Commons! We're excited to support you with tutoring, consultations, and a wealth of information and materials for your academic and creative journeys. This guide will help you learn all the services, resources, and tools to help you be successful this semester.
Fall 2025 'Cane Kickoff Presentation
Subject Specialists
Library Orientation Map
Learn about UM Libraries and the Learning Commons from our Fall 2025 ’Cane Kickoff Presentation!
Come and Visit Us!
Find out more about the UM Libraries and where to find us.
Know exactly when to visit your libraries thanks to the University of Miami Library Hours.
Online Resources for Undergraduate Students
Top things new undergraduate students need to know about UM Libraries!
https://www.library.miami.edu/about/undergrad
https://www.library.miami.edu/about/undergrad
Online Resources for Graduate Students
Top things new graduate students need to know about UM Libraries!
https://www.library.miami.edu/about/graduate
https://www.library.miami.edu/about/graduate
Get to know the Learning Commons
Curious about what services and resources are available for you as a student? Take our mobile Where's Sebastian Scavenger Hunt! or scan the QR code below!
-68794b70be860982781834_medium.png)
Learning Commons Partners
ACCESS
Access Services for books & articles, laptops, equipment, and more
Interlibrary Loan provides access to research materials which are not available at the UM Libraries
ANALYZE
Digital Scholars’ Lab for GIS, data visualization, data management, statistics, and qualitative research projects
BE
Mindfulness & Well-Being Programs provides online and in-person guided sessions, meditation room, and helpful resources to enhance your well-being journey
COMMUNICATE
Counseling Center for individual or group counseling, online resources, and more
CREATE
Creative Studio for support with multi-media projects, creative equipment, and creative software
LEARN
Camner Center for Academic Resources for peer tutoring in undergraduate courses
Math Lab for tutoring in undergraduate math courses
Office of Academic Enhancement for advising and support of distinctive scholarship, underrepresented, and first-generation students
RESEARCH
Peer Research Consultants / Research Services for help with course assignments and other research projects
TECH SUPPORT
Student Technology Help Desk for technical support for many computing devices
Technology Assistance Program for consultations on productivity software
WRITE
Writing Center for consultations on any writing project at any stage of the writing process
Learning Commons Affiliate Partners
RESOURCES AND CENTERS
Center for the Humanities for undergraduate research support and cultural programming to promote the humanities
Cuban Heritage Collection for archival materials on Cuba and the Cuban diaspora
Lowe Art Museum for artworks, cultural experiences, and scholarly engagement with over 5,000 years of creative materials
Office of Civic & Community Engagement for university and community collaborations through courses and special projects
Special Collections for archival materials covering the history of Florida, the Caribbean, Central and South America, and beyond
Study Abroad for international learning experiences
The Launch Pad for consultation and support with entrepreneurial projects
University Archive for materials documenting the history of the University of Miami
Center for the Humanities for undergraduate research support and cultural programming to promote the humanities
Cuban Heritage Collection for archival materials on Cuba and the Cuban diaspora
Lowe Art Museum for artworks, cultural experiences, and scholarly engagement with over 5,000 years of creative materials
Office of Civic & Community Engagement for university and community collaborations through courses and special projects
Special Collections for archival materials covering the history of Florida, the Caribbean, Central and South America, and beyond
Study Abroad for international learning experiences
The Launch Pad for consultation and support with entrepreneurial projects
University Archive for materials documenting the history of the University of Miami
Connect with the Discover and explore all the online services, tools, and resources available to support you on your academic journey
Connect with Us on Social Media!
Follow us on Instagram where we post upcoming events, news, workshops and more!
One Book, One U Common Reading Selection for 2025-2026
The One Book, One U program selects a book for each Spring semester to provide a shared educational experience in our university community, with longstanding attention to notions and practices of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Look for upcoming events and activities, including opportunities for in-class and extracurricular dialogue sessions, a keynote presentation with the author, panel talks, film showings, and more!
Our selection for 2025-26 is Brit Bennett's The Vanishing Half, a New York Times #1 bestseller and Good Morning America June Book Club pick, longlisted for both the 2021 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and the 2020 National Book Award for Fiction. The Vanishing Half explores the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person’s decisions, desires, and expectations. In her talks and her work, she examines the role writing plays in documenting racial injustice and contemporary Black experience.
2020
One Book One U
More about One Book One U and this year's chosen book: The Vanishing Half
Print, E-Book, and Audio Formats
If you are a member of the UM community, use the links below to get access to the eBook:
If you are a member of the South Florida community, check your local library to find a copy of the ebook available for check out.
A Librarian