Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690323
visibleTabCount: 7
Table of Contents
Collection Description
The Libraries’ at UM have an excellent collection of primary source materials covering all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean history. This guide is intended for graduate and undergraduate students and presents a variety of library and open web websites available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. The collection is useful for conducting historical research and includes newspapers, literary sources, and digital libraries. The Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) is also quite unique and is distinctive both regionally and globally.
General Database Resources
General Database Resources
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Topics and Databases
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-
- Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
- Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records Of The US State Department
- Caribbean Literature
- Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro (TESO)
- Revista Sur
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Digital Libraries
The digital and archival libraries included here present unique resources such as newspapers, photographs, or literary materials that are great primary sources and can be used in your research papers.
- Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña, Puerto Rico: Includes online access to primary source materials like postcards, photographs, newspapers, and caricatures, among others.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC): A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
- Latin American Government Documents Archive: Includes an extensive of ministerial and presidential papers.
- Archivo Digital de la Legislacion en el Peru: Digital copies of Peruvian constitutions dating from the C19th.
- Portal de Archivos Espanoles: Portal to millions of Spanish archival resources.
- Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages: Contains images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches.
- Latin American Open Archive Portal (LAOAP): Provides access to social sciences grey literature.
- Cuban Theater Digital Archive: A community repository for important Cuban theatrical materials and a forum of scholarly documents.
- Saint Domingue Etat Civil: Provides hundreds of documents from Haiti's colonial past.
- World Digital Library: A multilingual digital library with primary source materials form around the world.
- Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica, Spain: Includes thousands of historical newspapers from Spain.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Latin American Visual Resources
- Art in America (Universes in Universes)
- Arte Latino: Treasures from the Smithsonian American Art Museum
- Cuban Photograph Collections
- Cuban Postcard Collection
- Cuban Posters
- International Collections Database (Univ. of Washington)
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
- LatinArt.com
- Manuel R. Bustamante Photograph Collection
- Museum of Latin American Art
- Museums in Latin America (LANIC)
- Organization of the Solidarity of the People of Asia, Africa, and Latin America (OSPAAAL)
- UN-LANIC: University of Texas Latin American Network Information Center: Art Page
- The Virtual Diego Riviera Web Museum
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Digital Libraries On and About Brazil
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Books
Books
General Databases
ProQuest Research Library
Has in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles over 3,600 in full text-from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles (3 to 5 years) of major scholarly journals.
HathiTrust
Includes full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Has more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994.
Anthropology Plus
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index from1957-present.
Sociological Abstracts
Includes indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
A collection of full-text dissertations and theses that Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Has in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles over 3,600 in full text-from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles (3 to 5 years) of major scholarly journals.
HathiTrust
Includes full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Has more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994.
Anthropology Plus
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index from1957-present.
Sociological Abstracts
Includes indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
A collection of full-text dissertations and theses that Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
News and Newspaper Databases
Select Sources from Special Collections (SC)
Wilgus, A. Curtis. Latin America in the Nineteenth Century; A Selected Bibliography of Books of Travel and Description. Published in English. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1973.
Wiener, Charles, Jules Nicolas Crevaux, Désiré Charnay, and Edouard André. América pintoresca ; descripcion de viages al nuevo continente por los mas modernos exploradores Carlos Wiener, doctor Crevaux, D. Charnay, etc., etc. Edicion ilustrada con profusion de grabados. Barcelona: Montaner y Simon, 1884.
Vigne, Godfrey Thomas. Travels in Mexico, South America, Etc., Etc. London: W. H. Allen & co., 1865.
Wiener, Charles, Jules Nicolas Crevaux, Désiré Charnay, and Edouard André. América pintoresca ; descripcion de viages al nuevo continente por los mas modernos exploradores Carlos Wiener, doctor Crevaux, D. Charnay, etc., etc. Edicion ilustrada con profusion de grabados. Barcelona: Montaner y Simon, 1884.
Vigne, Godfrey Thomas. Travels in Mexico, South America, Etc., Etc. London: W. H. Allen & co., 1865.
Select Sources from Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC)
Gunther, John. El drama de América Latina : (inside Latin America). 1a. edición. Buenos Aires: Editoral Claridad, 1942.
Batista y Zaldívar, Fulgencio. Sombras de America ; problemas económicos y sociales. Mexico: E.D.I.A.P.S.A., 1946.
Zamacois, Eduardo. Dos años en América ; impresiones de un viaje por Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Chile, Brasil, New York y Cuba. Barcelona: Maucci, 1913.
Prensa Latina. Prisma : Revista Turística de Cuba. La Habana, Cuba: Prensa Latina, 1990.
Batista y Zaldívar, Fulgencio. Sombras de America ; problemas económicos y sociales. Mexico: E.D.I.A.P.S.A., 1946.
Zamacois, Eduardo. Dos años en América ; impresiones de un viaje por Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Chile, Brasil, New York y Cuba. Barcelona: Maucci, 1913.
Prensa Latina. Prisma : Revista Turística de Cuba. La Habana, Cuba: Prensa Latina, 1990.
Digital Libraries
Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña, Puerto Rico: Includes online access to primary source materials like postcards, photographs, newspapers, and caricatures, among others.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC): A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Portal de Archivos Espanoles: Portal to millions of Spanish archival resources.
Latin American Open Archive Portal (LAOAP): Provides access to social sciences grey literature.
Saint Domingue Etat Civil: Provides hundreds of documents from Haiti's colonial past.
World Digital Library: A multilingual digital library with primary source materials from around the world.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica, Spain Includes thousands of historical newspapers from Spain.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC): A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Portal de Archivos Espanoles: Portal to millions of Spanish archival resources.
Latin American Open Archive Portal (LAOAP): Provides access to social sciences grey literature.
Saint Domingue Etat Civil: Provides hundreds of documents from Haiti's colonial past.
World Digital Library: A multilingual digital library with primary source materials from around the world.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica, Spain Includes thousands of historical newspapers from Spain.
Select Print and Ebooks
Merrill, Dennis. Negotiating Paradise U.S. Tourism and Empire in Twentieth-Century Latin America. 1st ed. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2009.
Leonard, Irving A. Colonial Travelers in Latin America. [First edition]. New York: Knopf, 1972.
Méndez Rodenas, Adriana, and ebrary, Inc. Transatlantic Travels in Nineteenth-Century Latin America: European Women Pilgrims. Lanham, Maryland: Bucknell University Press, copublished with Rowman & Littlefield, 2013.
Baud, Michiel, and Johanna Louisa Ypeij. Cultural Tourism in Latin America: The Politics of Space and Imagery. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2009.
Bowman, Kirk S. Peddling Paradise: The Politics of Tourism in Latin America. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., 2013.
Fehimović, Dunja, Rebecca Ogden, and Melissa Aronczyk. Branding Latin America: Strategies, Aims, Resistance. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2018.
Leonard, Irving A. Colonial Travelers in Latin America. [First edition]. New York: Knopf, 1972.
Méndez Rodenas, Adriana, and ebrary, Inc. Transatlantic Travels in Nineteenth-Century Latin America: European Women Pilgrims. Lanham, Maryland: Bucknell University Press, copublished with Rowman & Littlefield, 2013.
Baud, Michiel, and Johanna Louisa Ypeij. Cultural Tourism in Latin America: The Politics of Space and Imagery. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2009.
Bowman, Kirk S. Peddling Paradise: The Politics of Tourism in Latin America. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., 2013.
Fehimović, Dunja, Rebecca Ogden, and Melissa Aronczyk. Branding Latin America: Strategies, Aims, Resistance. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2018.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
A Librarian