Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690282
visibleTabCount: 1
Welcome
This page is specifically designed to assist with ECE 415/418/481.
Think of it as a one-stop-shop to help with your research needs. Take a look through this page and explore the listed links.
Think of it as a one-stop-shop to help with your research needs. Take a look through this page and explore the listed links.
Articles & Conference Proceedings
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
We have full-text access to the surprisingly large collection of conferences associated with IEEE. Even if you don't think IEEE is involved, if it was about electronics, it's worth a look here. (video tutorial on searching)
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations, and government agencies face every day. (video tutorials on searching)
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Web of Science
Published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index
We have full-text access to the surprisingly large collection of conferences associated with IEEE. Even if you don't think IEEE is involved, if it was about electronics, it's worth a look here. (video tutorial on searching)
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations, and government agencies face every day. (video tutorials on searching)
- (includes: Ei Compendex & Ei Backfile, Inspec & Inspec Backfile, GEOBASE, GeoRef, EncompassLIT, EnCommpassPAT, Patents: USPTO & EPO, National Technical Information Service (NTIS), PaperChem, Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), and Chimica)
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Web of Science
Published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- (includes: Thomson Reuters Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), which includes the ISI Proceedings that indexes the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines including engineering. Its collection is broad but not deep)
Patents and Trademarks
Aggregators
Lens
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. Our patent searching capability allows use of advanced boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options to find the most relevant and important patent. Our analysis functions and faceted exploration tools allow drilling down and discovery of new insights, and sharing or embedding these in any website.
PatentScope
With PATENTSCOPE, provided by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), you can search 72 million patent documents including 3.5 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Google Patent Search
Google Patents' search function is hampered by scanning errors, but if you know what you're looking for it has the best patent display available.
United States
US Patent and Trademark Office
The office's official website is awkward and confusing, but it's the only place to go to find pending patents or to file for a patent yourself.
Free Patents Online
This website offers an easy interface and powerful search of the US Patent and Trademark Office's database. They also offer patents in pdf format if you create an account.
International
European Patent Office
Simple searches on bibliographic data in patent documents. The default printing option is page by page only - but they are free. To print an entire patent, follow these instructions: Search for a patent. Click on a title; when the page loads, click on the original document tab. When this page displays, the printer icon is grayed out. Click on Save Full Document at the top of the page. Read the screen and enter the letters shown. The entire document loads now as a pdf and all the pages can be printed.
Lens
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. Our patent searching capability allows use of advanced boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options to find the most relevant and important patent. Our analysis functions and faceted exploration tools allow drilling down and discovery of new insights, and sharing or embedding these in any website.
PatentScope
With PATENTSCOPE, provided by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), you can search 72 million patent documents including 3.5 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Google Patent Search
Google Patents' search function is hampered by scanning errors, but if you know what you're looking for it has the best patent display available.
United States
US Patent and Trademark Office
The office's official website is awkward and confusing, but it's the only place to go to find pending patents or to file for a patent yourself.
Free Patents Online
This website offers an easy interface and powerful search of the US Patent and Trademark Office's database. They also offer patents in pdf format if you create an account.
International
European Patent Office
Simple searches on bibliographic data in patent documents. The default printing option is page by page only - but they are free. To print an entire patent, follow these instructions: Search for a patent. Click on a title; when the page loads, click on the original document tab. When this page displays, the printer icon is grayed out. Click on Save Full Document at the top of the page. Read the screen and enter the letters shown. The entire document loads now as a pdf and all the pages can be printed.
Subject Specialist
Other Research Guides
More Learning Resources
LinkedIn Learning - Info Lit
LinkedIn Learning (which bought Lynda.com) is a great resource for tutorials on popular software and coding languages. It also has some "soft skills" videos on topics like business management and communication.
A Librarian