Communication subjectId: 10586

• UM School of Communication Website
• American Communication Association
• Associated Press

Welcome to the Communication subject guide. This guide is designed to get you started on your research by providing links to the basic databases and websites used in all the different field of communication.  If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me using the info in the box to your right.

Quick start

Are you looking for journal articles? Use Communication and Mass Media Complete.

If you're looking for books or DVDs, use uSearch.

If these don't meet your needs, click on the tab above which best describes your area of research to see additional resources.

• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
  Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Feature Films for Education
  Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
• Swank Digital Campus
  Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association

Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010

APA style guide to electronic references

Call Number: PN171.F56 A63 2007

Style manual for communication studies - John Bourhis, Carey Adams, Scott Titsworth.

Call Number: P96.A68 S89 2006 (Richter Reference)

• UM Libraries Website

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
  Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Feature Films for Education
  Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
• Swank Digital Campus
  Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

• CINAHL Plus
• Embase
• National Center for Health Statistics
• PsycINFO
• MEDLINE (EBSCO)

• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Access World News
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
• ComAbstracts
  ComAbstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles in communication studies and related areas (rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, new media technologies, and speech).
• ComIndex
  ComIndex indexes the contents of major communication journals.
• Communication Abstracts
  Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information for communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books covering not only communication literature, but also other disciplines that are relevant to communication researchers.
• EconLit
  EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a source for references to economic literature dating back to 1969. EconLit provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
  This service indexes and abstracts literature worldwide on linguistics and language behavior for researchers and practitioners in psychology, communication, education, language studies and related areas.
• PAIS International
  PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
• ProQuest Research Library
  ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
• PsycINFO
  Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
• Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

• ABI/INFORM Collection
  ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
• Business Insights: Global
  A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.

• Argumentation and advocacy: the journal of the American Forensic Association
• Executive speeches
• Quarterly journal of speech education: the official organ of the National Association of Teachers of Speech
• Quarterly journal of public speaking
• Quarterly journal of speech
• Today's speech
• Vital speeches of the day.

• CIA World Factbook
• CQ Researcher Plus Archive
• Political Risk Yearbook
• ProQuest Congressional
• U.S. Documents Masterfile
• SYBWorld
• United Nations Treaty Collection
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
• Digital National Security Archive

• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• ComAbstracts
  ComAbstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles in communication studies and related areas (rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, new media technologies, and speech).
• ComIndex
  ComIndex indexes the contents of major communication journals.
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
• Communication Abstracts
  Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information for communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books covering not only communication literature, but also other disciplines that are relevant to communication researchers.
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• PsycINFO
  Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
• S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence)
  S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

• CQ Global Researcher
• PAIS International

• freedomhouse.org: Freedom of the Press
  Freedom House is a clear voice for democracy and freedom around the world. Prominent Americans concerned with the mounting threats to peace and democracy founded freedom House in 1941. Freedom House has been a vigorous proponent of democratic values and a
• CPJ Press Freedom Online
  The Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1981. This organization promotes press freedom worldwide by defending the rights of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal.

• Access World News
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
• Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
  This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
• Nuevo Herald (1976 - Current)
  Spanish language newspaper published daily by the Miami Herald, Miami, Florida. Includes a Cuban section, news of interest to many Latin groups in the Miami area, as well as international, national, and regional news, cultural information, and services.
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• Miami Herald (1911-Current)
  Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
• News Abstracts
  News Abstracts indexes and abstracts significant items in more than 50 national and regional newspapers, including the New York Times, USA Today, the Boston Globe, the San Francisco Chronicle, and the Wall Street Journal.
• New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
  Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.
• Wall Street Journal via ProQuest (1889-2000)
  Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 2000.

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Feature Films for Education
  Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
• Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
  Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Ambrose Video
  Ambrose Video provides streaming educational content in a variety of disciplines. The University of Miami currently has access to over 30 videos in the BBC Shakespeare Play collection and the entire Long Search series, a discussion of the basic beliefs of the world's major religions.
• American Film Institute Catalog
  AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1892-1973 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
• FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
  With over 13150 video clips and 5000-plus full-length videos, this collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
• IMDB
  An extensive database of movies and television with plot summaries and detailed lists of the people involved.
• JustWatch
  This system tracks which films are currently streaming on public and home systems as well as their availability for rent and purchase.
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Latin America in Video
  Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more. It brings a comprehensive, exclusive and unique perspective on the region to any library.
• Swank Digital Campus
  Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Business Source Premier
  Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
• Film & Television Literature Index
  Bibliographic database that provides indexing for more than 600 publications. Film & Television Literature Index is an index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
• Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995.
• Nexis Uni
• Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
  Readers Guide indexes articles from 240 of the most popular general-interest and news magazines published in the United States and Canada. Selective full-text coverage begins in January 1994 for most titles.Journals include: Architectural Digests, People Weekly, National Geographic, Psychology Today, Ebony, and Fortune.
• Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
  Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes articles in over 250 leading popular magazines published between 1963 to 1982. Includes over 2.5 million references. Entries link to page images from original Readers Guide volumes, allowing users access to see and see also references and the complete hierarchy of subject headings and subheadings.
• S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence)
  S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.

• Big Cartoon Database

• African American Newspapers Accessible Archive: The 19th Century
  African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides first-hand reports of the cultural life and history of African-Americans in the United States.
• Pennsylvania Gazette
• New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
• Wall Street Journal via ProQuest (1889-2000)
  Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 2000.

• Nuevo Herald (1976 - Current)
  Spanish language newspaper published daily by the Miami Herald, Miami, Florida. Includes a Cuban section, news of interest to many Latin groups in the Miami area, as well as international, national, and regional news, cultural information, and services.
• Ethnic NewsWatch
  Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
• LADB (Latin America Digital Beat)
  LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish;  --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• Miami Herald (1911-Current)
  Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
• NBC Learn Higher Ed
  A collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images that can be used for research, projects, and in classroom and online teaching.
• News Abstracts
  News Abstracts indexes and abstracts significant items in more than 50 national and regional newspapers, including the New York Times, USA Today, the Boston Globe, the San Francisco Chronicle, and the Wall Street Journal.
• NewsBank Full Text Newspapers
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
• Regional Business News
  Regional Business News is a collection of more than 50 full text newswires that have world-wide coverage. Coverage generally begins in the early to mid-1990s.

• CQ Voting & Elections Collection
  Research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
• iPOLL
  iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
• MRI Simmons
  MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
• Polling The Nations
  The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion.
• SRDS
  Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.