University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

Streaming Video

Some Additional Streaming Databases

For the full list of our video databases, click here.
  • Ambrose Video
    Ambrose Video provides streaming educational content in a variety of disciplines. The University of Miami currently has access to over 30 videos in the BBC Shakespeare Play collection and the entire Long Search series, a discussion of the basic beliefs of the world's major religions.
  • Dance Online: Dance in Video
    Includes over 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st Century dance, including performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
  • Digital Theatre + Plus
    Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for English and the Performing Arts, providing  students with access to 600+ theatre productions and educational resources. Digital Theatre+ collaborates with renowned theatre companies, actors and creatives to capture live performances in stunning quality and bring you insights from behind the scenes.
  • Latin America in Video
    Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more. It brings a comprehensive, exclusive and unique perspective on the region to any library.
  • National Theatre Collection 1 and 2
    Now complete and consisting of 30 videos, National Theatre Collection 1 pulls from 10 years of NT Live broadcasts as well as high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT's Archive to make this rich body of work available to the widest possible audience. National Theatre Collection 2 has added a further 20 videos.

Primary Streaming Databases

  • Academic Video Online
    AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
    Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Feature Films for Education
    Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
  • Kanopy
    Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
  • Swank Digital Campus
    Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

    284-6028

Course Reserves

Do you want to include any films in your course? Just send a list of your desired films to our Course Reserves service: richter.reserves@miami.edu

Please include your class number and section as well as the title, date, and director or principal actor for each film.

Don't worry if you can't find a particular title or don't have time to search in all these databases! If you know the films you want, just tell us what you need and we'll take it from there.

We do not guarantee success but we'll do our best!

Additional Resources

IMDB - The Internet Movie Database
An extensive encyclopedia of movies, documentaries, and TV shows with full details about cast and crews.

JustWatch
An online TV guide that indexes the currently available streaming sources for movies, documentaries, and TV shows. Indexes free sources, personal subscription services, public library systems, and pay-per-view services.