University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

AAS 150: Introduction to Africana Studies

General Databases

ProQuest Research Library
Has in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles from 1971 forward.

JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. 
 
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
 
Sociological Abstracts
Contains indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.
 
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. 

America: History and Life
It includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.

Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.

WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
 
Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal)
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
 
Anthropology Plus
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Index from 1957 to present and Anthropological Literature from the late C19th. 

Readex AllSearch Primary Soruces
A streamlined platform for searching across Readex collections including America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, and government documents. 

Specialized Databases

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections

African American Studies Center
With more than 20,000 articles by the top scholars in the field, the Oxford African American Studies Center is a wide-ranging collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
 
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. 

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Contains over 2,000 autobiographical narratives from former slaves in 17 states as part of the Federal Writer's Project (FWP) which was conducted under the auspices of the Work Projects Administration (WPA) and sponsored by the Library of Congress. Fully searchable by name, state, county, and age, the collection, and its index.
 
Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies.
 
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth-century black history.

Finding Databases

Journals

Journal of Black Studies. Beverly Hills, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1970.
Fire: The Multimedia Journal of Black Studies. Washington, DC]: Association for the Study of African American Life and History, 2012.
Journal of African Cultural Studies, 2020. Abingdon, Oxfordshire, U.K.: Carfax, 1998.
The University of the Witwatersrand. Department of Bantu Studies. African Studies. London: Carfax, 1942.
African Historical Studies. Brookline, Mass.: African Studies Center of Boston University, 1968.

 

Historical and Contemporary Newspapers

African American Newspapers, Series 1
Provides online access to approximately 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. It features papers from more than 35 states including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Provides first-hand reports of the cultural life and history of African-Americans in the United States.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American, The (1893-1988)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, and El Pais.

Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues.

Subject Specialist

Select Print Books

Select Graphic Novels

Select Print Books

Tomich, Dale W. Atlantic Transformations: Empire, Politics, and Slavery During the Nineteenth Century. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2020.

Bankie, B. F., K. J. Mchombu, and All African Students' Conference. Pan-Africanism/African Nationalism: Strengthening the Unity of Africa and Its Diaspora. First World Africa Press edition. Trenton, NJ: Red Sea Press, 2008.

Kirschke, Amy Helene. Women Artists of the Harlem Renaissance. Jackson [Mississippi]: University Press of Mississippi, 2014.

Gitlin, Marty. Black Lives Matter. First edition. New York, NY: Greenhaven Publishing, 2019.

Sinitiere, Phillip Luke. Citizen of the World: the Late Career and Legacy of W.E.B. Du Bois. Evanston, Illinois: Northwestern University Press, 2019.

Ellis, Catherine, and Stephen Smith. Say It Plain: A Century of Great African American Speeches. New York: New Press, 2005.


 

Select Ebook Titles

Gillman, Susan Kay, and Alys Eve Weinbaum. Next to the Color Line Gender, Sexuality, and W.E.B. Du Bois. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2007.

Huggins, Nathan Irvin. Harlem Renaissance. Updated ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.

Lamore, Eric D. Teaching Olaudah Equiano's Narrative: Pedagogical Strategies and New Perspectives. First edition. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 2012.

Isfahani-Hammond, Alexandra. The Masters and the Slaves Plantation Relations and Mestizaje in American Imaginaries. 1st ed. New York, N.Y.: Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.

Abegunrin, Olayiwola, Sabella Ogbobode Abidde, and Ebooks Corporation. Pan-Africanism in Modern Times: Challenges, Concerns, and Constraints. Lanham: Lexington Books, 2016.

Wintz, Cary D., and Paul Finkelman. Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance. New York, New York; London, [England]: Routledge, 2004.


 

Select Ebook Titles

Select Ebook Titles