Africana Studies subjectId: 8513

The Africana Studies collection focuses on continental Africa and the experiences of people of African descent in the Black Atlantic societies of North America, the Caribbean and Latin America. Resources to support this highly interdisciplinary endeavor can be found throughout the Libraries. Due to Africana Studies' interdisciplinary nature the collection supports a number of programs where the literature and scholarship of Africana Studies are relevant areas of interest such as Anthropology, Sociology, English, History, French, Latin American Studies, and Caribbean Studies. Researchers in Africana Studies will find themselves using resources from different collections throughout the Libraries.

The Purpose of this collection is to support undergraduate instructional needs and the research requirements of the faculty in the Africana Studies Program and the Center for Global Black Studies at the University of Miami. The primary emphasis is on the study of the African diaspora with a focus on the continent of Africa, the Caribbean, Latin America, and North America.

For informaton on the 60th Anniversary of the August 1963, March On Washigton, visit the Racial Justice Resources Library and the Truth Marches On Library Guides.

• Library Homepage
• Databases (A-Z List)
• Ask a Librarian
• Richter Library Hours
• Library Catalog
• All Africana Studies Databases

• Collaborative Archive from the African Diaspora (Finding Aids)
• African Studies Association
• UM Africana Studies Program
• UM Center for Global Black Studies

Begin your research by:

1. Identifying keywords in your research question or thesis statement.

2. List those keywords and find synonyms for them.

3. Find umbrella terms: for War Diamonds, an umbrella (or broader) term is Conflict Diamonds.

4. When you have a complex research question, make sure to combine your keywords to maximize results. Also, search both in singular and plural forms of the keywords.

5. Make sure to identify keywords in other languages as well. If you are doing research about Haiti, think of Creole and/or French words that apply.

• Advanced Library Catalog Search
  Use this link to perform more complex searches, including multiple keywords and subjects, language and type of material (book, DVD, etc).
• WorldCat Online Catalog
  The world's largest 'library' catalog. WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 40 million bibliographic items representing the merged library records of Richter Library & hundreds of other member libraries worldwide.
• Library Catalog

• America: History and Life
• American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
• American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
• Anthropology Plus
• AnthroSource
• Black Studies Center
• Documenting the American South
• History Resource Center: United States
• Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
• Making of America Journals (Michigan)
• Oxford African American Studies Center
• ProQuest Civil War Era
• Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

• African American Newspapers - Accessible Archives
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American, The (1893-1988)
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)

• Saint Domingue Etat Civil
• Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

• Ethnic NewsWatch
  Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
• Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
  A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
• NewsBank Full Text Newspapers
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• Access World News
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

• Pennsylvania Gazette - Accessible Archives
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American, The (1893-1988)
• New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Wall Street Journal via ProQuest (1889-2000)

• American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
  Commonly known as the WPA Slave Narratives, American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography provides an authentic portrait of life, culture and survival for African Americans during the periods of slavery, Reconstruction and Depression-era America. Over 2,000 autobiographical narratives from former slaves in 17 states are included as part of this Federal Writer's Project (FWP) which was conducted under the auspices of the Work Projects Administration (WPA) and sponsored by the Library of Congress. Fully searchable by name, state, county and age, the collection and its index are enhanced through the offering of public discussion forums, links to virtual syllabi, teaching resources, and curriculum guides, plus a variety of related Web resources.
• ProQuest Civil War Era
  Complete runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Set of primary sources, with documents original articles and page images from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War.
• Documenting the American South
  A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
• Emancipation: the Caribbean Experience
  The University of Miami History 300 (Caribbean History) of Fall 2001 and their Professor (Edward Baptist) created this resource along with the assistance of the University of Miami Libraries Archives and Special Collections and Digital Initiative departments and the History Department. Through this site one will find information about the slave plantation colonies of the Caribbean basin between the 1790s and the 1880s.
• Slave Resistance: a Caribbean Study
  The University of Miami History 300 (Caribbean History) of Spring 2000 and their Professor (Edward Baptist) created this resource along with the assistance of the University of Miami Libraries Archives and Special Collections and Digital Initiatives departments and members of the History department. Through this site one will find short essays, maps, and statements that try to address the different aspects of slavery.
• Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
  The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.